1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

?

Is an independant Scotland going to be bad for the remainder of the Un-United Kingdom?

Poll closed Saturday at 6:55 PM.
  1. Yes without a doubt it would have serious social/economic repercussions

    37.5%
  2. Yes but only a marginal effect

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No not at all but would prefer we remain intact anyway

    25.0%
  4. No not at all, they can do whatever they want, we will be better off without them

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Does anyone outside of Scotland really care anyway?

    37.5%
  1. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I didn't know WEI measures the performance of a non-boot disk, trying now.
     
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Nope, no difference, I'm still a lowly 5.9'er :p Must only do the boot disk.
     
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    It does only bench the system drive.

    Nice speeds, on par with an SSD, shame you couldn't (or wouldn't want to) use it as a boot drive because of the high chance of failure, all you need is another 4 for redundancy :p
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  4. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Does anyone know if you was to clone a drive-wether it only clones the used portion?
     
  5. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    plenty of drives that will back up entire partitions, i think i've heard the name acronis being said somewhere
     
    MightyMission says thanks.
  6. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I got a 1TB drive thats 2/3 empty and i would like to only clone the used part,this one gets 5.9 in WEI but it shows up some dodgy sectors in some test program thats name i have forgotten..
     
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I've got backups of backups of backups lol me no need redundancy so using this RAID array as a boot drive would actually be a good idea for me. Why hasn't this been fixed? :mad:

    That's one of the options you select when going through the process; whether to clone the whole drive or just the selected partition.
     
    MightyMission says thanks.
  8. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    your access time is gonna be something around the 12 minute mark though :cool:
     
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    what programs do you guys use for the hdd clone?
     
  10. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Not tried yet Bo$$ but i will give Acronis a shot when i get another drive with enough space.

    Do any of you guys play DiRT 2?

    I got the game last week and it's been crashing all the way,at a ratio of one win to one crash,its getting very very annoying.I patched it to 1.1 and that done nothing at all to ease the situation.
     
  11. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    dirt 2 has worked fine for me over the last 6 months i've owned it for, i did experience crashing on the first day but with dirt 2 its almost always related to the audio drivers, make sure you've got that special software it comes with set up correctly
     
  12. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Oh the blue river sound,yes i did tinker with it a bit and nothing changed,
    it still crashed randomly so i set it to default and it at least waited for me to come 1st before it crashed at the save screen!

    I wish i would have bought it through steam so then they could deal with the crashes.
     
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    i did buy it through steam, makes it more likely to work but its worse when it goes wrong thank to the number of different programs it uses
     
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    yeah i got GRiD, Dirt 2 and F1 2010, i like mah racing. never had any of them crash for any reasom at all
     
  15. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I'm more a fan of the hardcore GTR2 series. Mind you, it does suck when you are racing for 40mins and then having a crash that ends your race. Used to happen all the time until I used a guide to calibrate the G25 to some car mappings. Shame I don't have the time anymore :(
     
  16. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I never had any probs with games and win 7 until this one,but god knows its persistent!
    Whats the nearest to Gran Turismo for the pc?
    Are GriD and F1 '10 any good?
    I like car racing myself but since gran turismo nothing really even comes close to matching up.
     
  17. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I'd say NFS:Shift is the closest to Gran Turismo in that it has real cars and has good physics. (not as good as GTR2 :p)
     
  18. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Oh really?i gave up on NFS about the time carbon came out,it was very pretty and ran quite well but i couldnt settle with it,maybe too much flash and not enough substance i am not sure.
    Given that there has been several other NFS games since,i assume its got better?

    On a total tangent,i managed to get nivea face wash in my eye today and its been blurry for hours!
    Don't know whats in that stuff but it bloody stings...
    note to self,eye wash for eyes,face wash for..
     
  19. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
    MightyMission says thanks.
  20. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Cheers,i will have a look on steam and see whats what with GTR2 and NFS:shift.
    Maybe that beef was just to create some publicity,as there doesnt seem to be anything more recent on the subject,and that page was '09.
     
  21. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,711 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
    Back in my school days, I came across a gang that was holding up a polish or russian kid a knife point. the foriegn kid didnt have any money to steal to they told him to start dancing or sing them a song.

    so the kid start breaking dancing and doing what can only be described as a Toshiba rap.

    "Big boys big boys, who do you think you are. Youre not as big as TOSHIBA"

    given the fact that he didnt speak much english at all. the gang let him go on his way.


    good times
     
  23. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I lived in ramsgate for a bit (newington estate,pretty grim) and the local lads would have up the foreign exchange students with appalling regularity...

    The same kind of period i got dragged into "the wind tunnel" by a 14 year old girl (i was 10) who i couldn't work out if i fancied her or not,spurred on by my pals-she wanted nawty things with me.

    I went back to ramsgate a couple of years back and the place where i used to live was all barricaded up and the whole area looked pretty bad,i met up with an old pal and reminisced a bit,he told me the girl was pretty hard on brown and bones now...made me feel terrible!

    I have never felt so good as when i reached back home to deptford,equally as grim but not filled with so many sad memories.

    just saying :)

    On a much more positive note: DiRT2 seems to be fine now i have reset the bios to default,dropping the overclock thats been in place for months and not affected anything else?!?
    At least its working fully now !
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2011
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,711 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
    so....did you fancy her or not?
     
  25. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    +1
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page