1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,045 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    unfortunately between seeing it and waiting confirmation from the clued up bods here,i missed the boat..
    it was £47 posted anyway so the initial price wasnt so appealing on closer look..
    i grabbed some 2x2 ocz special ops 1600 CL 8-8-8-24 (1.55v-1.65v)
    for nearly half that so i hope it performs alright..just need a mobo to fit it to now :D
     
  2. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    You guys all seem to be sticking to 4gb. Did I jump the gun getting 8gb? Memory prices have about halved since then too. Damnit!
     
  3. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,045 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    i used to use 8gb but it hurt my OC's so i sold 4 and the only time i really noticed it using that much memory was in cubase and gta4 as it swapped between the maps..
    i might have shot myself in the foot,as ocz are out of the ram market now,i could well be fecked for RMA in case something goes wrong..
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,074 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    Neverwinter nights deluxe edition for £2.99 ( ◕ ‿‿ ◕ )
     
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,212 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Home
    I wasted countless hours on that game :S
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,074 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    Only issue id probably have with it is the dated graphics. Im not saying that old games are shit. but. a bit of eye candy goes a long way...

    Unless your EPIC GAMES. then its all about eye candy and shit game play
     
  7. Spectrum

    Spectrum New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    473 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    [​IMG]



    sorry i thought this was great. :D
     
  8. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,945 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    UK
  9. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I went for 8GB, since someone offered me 8GB Geil Ultra 2133MHz C9 for £65 I had to snatch it up :D I don't think you jumped the gun, although it depends how long ago you bought it.

    When you upgrade to AM3/DDR3, all those problems wil be pretty much solved unless you're benching. 8GB runs at 1600MHz in my rig with no worries, and 1600's a fine speed..
     
    MightyMission says thanks.
  10. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,045 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    i am looking forward to having a new board to abuse!
    I looked into the am3+ mobo's and the 990 chipset is just a rebadged 890 so i can save money by just getting an 890,though differences between 890 and 790 are negligible too,so i got plenty of choices,even more if i can keep money hidden from the mrs :laugh:
     
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,074 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    Just buy her a new pair of shoes or a gucci handbag and that should keep her distracted long enough for you to sneak the goods into the house.
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,941 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Ihavent got around to installing that Crucial Micron D9 kit I bought really cheaply, had a whole week of 5.30am starts so been knackered, although they will go in tomorrow for sure, so watch out for results...... if they are good I think an 8gig kit would cost about 65 quid but if they perform as I hope that will be peanuts.
     
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,945 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    UK
    Too late for me, bought a stick of 4gb vengeance blue yesterday
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,074 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    Can you squint at where you got them from? No of course you won't, you dont want anyone to spend their hard earned until you can verify performance :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2011
  15. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,945 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    UK
    yes please do, if their around £30 for 4gb i might cancel my order and take it elseware
     
  16. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I'm lucky the other half's a heavy smoker - I can just dangle 20 snout from the ceiling while I get my PC lurv on
     
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,074 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    I smell abuse of power :laugh::laugh:
     
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,941 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Here you go, most of the reviews are from 2010 and non seem to be overclockers, they do get different batches in because the stock number is higher than it was last week, with crucial, they always use Micron chops for this ram but it's not always good D9 stuff.......

    Crucial 2GB DDR3 1333MHz/PC3-10600 Memory CL9 1.5V...
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  19. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,045 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    lol,maybe i should dangle a h&m storecard form the ceiling whilst sneaking in the backdoor *ahem* with my pleasure parcels...oh god how wrong does that sound...

    Tatty,are they not binned then?from the research i done this week cl9 1333 is the lowest you can get isnt it?clearly i am missing the bigger picture
    "I can get a mild overclock on it but over 1500MHz things start to get unstable on my system"
    reasonable overclock i guess?
     
  20. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,945 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    UK
    no you can get cas 9 1066 on older DDR3 laptops
     
  21. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    ASUS P5K3 takes DDR3 (LGA775 DDR2/3 hybrid mobo), and the fastest speed it can run at is 1066 so I'd guess 1066 is the slowest.
     
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,945 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    UK
  23. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,045 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    oh right,thanks for wising me up guys!
    Isnt lower cas preferable on AMD systems?
    I might have it wrong but i was led to beleive for Intel its higher frequencies and AMD its lower latencies?
     
  24. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Well I've learnt something new today :nutkick:

    You have it correct :pimp:
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  25. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,945 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    UK
    yeah, AMD stops improving after ~1600 so its best to aim for cas speeds
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page