1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

?

Is an independant Scotland going to be bad for the remainder of the Un-United Kingdom?

Poll closed Sep 20, 2014.
  1. Yes without a doubt it would have serious social/economic repercussions

    37.5%
  2. Yes but only a marginal effect

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No not at all but would prefer we remain intact anyway

    25.0%
  4. No not at all, they can do whatever they want, we will be better off without them

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Does anyone outside of Scotland really care anyway?

    37.5%
  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    I should of chosen to do my work experience at pc world
     
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I did work experience at a hotel and spent the whole 2 weeks in the gym. Not bad :laugh:
     
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,022 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    some people are really fucking dumb
     
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    I worked with my pa at the bank where he worked :laugh: though after the tour of the place i spent most of my time in the basement helping out the hardware support guys and the people who help set up rooms/systems for Video conferencing.

    I also worked on help desk for a bit. listening into people calling in and the operator telling them to try pressing the power on button on their pc. got sick of that in 30mins then it was back to the basement with the hardware support crew who couldnt always be around to babysit me.

    but it was funky cruising around the big server rooms by myself soaking in the air con with an all access pass to go anywhere in the building except for the executive suite on the top top top floor.

    all in all, it was a very bad place to go for work experience. I didnt do much working at all. mainly sit in a chair and watch how things were done.

    I was more of a hindrance then anything else IMO. these people had serious businesses to attend to and get on with and there i was looking over their shoulder trying to find out what they were doing. and asking a lot of questions. Banks are always fast paced environment even when its not on the stock traders floor. not the best place to go for work experience. the staff there made me feel welcome. but the reality is there was nothing there for me to do a side from sit in the data center where my dads team worked and make tea and coffee for them. I was the extra cog in the well oiled machine that wasnt required.

    I think my dad got me in there hoping it would motivate me somewhat but who cares anyway. that was a long long time ago
     
  6. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I done work experience in maplins lol,not the shops but the office in westcliff,essex...
    boring tedious place to be and i havent been able to work in an office since,unless it was going in to fit a/c or ductwork.
    i think i need to keep moving so an office environment isn't something i can cope with.
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    New parts are almost here!!!!

    I can smell the DPD courier man coming from around the block!!
     
  8. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    haha what ya getting?

    sorry i see your system and the bits listed there,mooaar frames/sec!
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    £855 worth of gear and not even a mobo or cpu in sight :shadedshu:shadedshu I think it cost me around £450ish for my i5, mobo & DDR3 last month. cant quite remember,

    but this shit all adds up. i have officially gone OTT on this build.

    all im missing is a 1TB SSD and LN2 cooling
     
  10. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Couldn't of gone much better, I now have about an hour to waste while xp installs or I find another installation disk
     
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    whats the XP for?
     
  12. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Got to repair some places pc's, dead hd
     
  13. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    you dont need ln2 with intel!
    thats a heavy amount of money to drop on computer gear sir,
    those ocz revodrives look awesome..
    i am just about to move back to london as i cant take the lack of work and of course money here in the countryside,
    i'm soo excited!Life begins again
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    the rest of the UK TPU clubhouse needs to move here. Need moar drinking buddies
     
  15. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    haha
    you dont want a mass exodus of TPU uk crew,we will bring down house prices
    im gonna need to be workin a long time till i can afford a pint at london prices :laugh:
    the flip side of course is that i wont have to mess around with tired old hardware YAY
    i rung up my old boss an hour ago and he was happy that im coming back because i work like a slave :laugh:
    so at least i got something solid to fall back on,the only downside now is the kids schooling :/
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    the more the merrier :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    anyhoo. just finished doing a complete strip down of my comp while im waiting. Thought id break it up early so i can get the new kit in as soon as it arrives

    got a text from scan to expect delivery between 14.30-16.30 :cry::cry: (f**k you DPD!! stop taking your time! delivery drivers dont need tea breaks!

    Need to find the original box for my Corsair HX750 so i can throw it up in the FS section with the rest of the old gear thats going out. so be sure to head by the FS section later on to checkout my warez. got a lot of stuff that needs to go to a good home.

    cant say anymore as tatty will come in and falcon punch me
     
  18. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    i seem to spend my life waiting on couriers lately,but its all sending stuff out :(
    deliveries are soooo much more fun!
    got any ddr1/ddr2 or am3 mobo?
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    I have some DDR2 but unfortunately thats already spoken for. If your not looking for performance DDR2 RAM then Play.com has some suprisingly cheap DDR2 (Kingston, Corsair or Crucial) which are well worth a look if you can stand their snailpace delivery time.


    :Edti:

    Im not sure if they have DDR1. I think they do have some
     
  20. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    tbh it was only to test a dell dimension c521(my boys possible upgrade) and my trusty destroyer.
    i will have a mooch at play now.i looked at geeks.com and ddr2 is cheaper than ddr1 but ddr3 is cheaper than ddr2!shouldn't it follow hierachy? low to high ddr1 < 2< 3...anyways i will have a look about.
    i dont suppose the dell will overclock at all unless i put the cpu in a proper mobo but that may be a good thing!so that one wont need performance ram.
    finding a half height gpu might be an issue though...
     
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    Look for a low profile Radeon 5750 or GTS450
     
  22. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    i was indeed! also the gt430 comes with half height bracket,bearing in mind the dell only has a 1.9x2 athlon,and only a single 4pin atx 12v socket on the mobo-the 430 would seem about right,i think the single pin means a tdp limit of 65,which sees upgrade uptions up to a "e" version of the phenom II quad 2.6..plenty for my intended use for his computer.
     
  23. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    where you moving to?

    Citylink dude just came, my bro's shiny MSI 6870 is here :)
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    I see your 6870 and i raise you 2 6970's!!!






    (when the DPD dude finally gets here......)
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    Come on DPD guy!! move that fat f**king arse!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page