1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

?

Is an independant Scotland going to be bad for the remainder of the Un-United Kingdom?

This poll will close on Sep 20, 2014 at 6:55 PM.
  1. Yes without a doubt it would have serious social/economic repercussions

    42.9%
  2. Yes but only a marginal effect

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No not at all but would prefer we remain intact anyway

    28.6%
  4. No not at all, they can do whatever they want, we will be better off without them

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Does anyone outside of Scotland really care anyway?

    28.6%
  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    i get 50, and why would anyone need 140?, at that point i would just put v-sync on and then the rig would stay silent whilst i was gaming
     
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    It came with his shiny new toys.
     
  3. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    3d surround would cut that down to something sensible.
    though it would take some huge high def screens@highest res.
    eye candy ftw!
     
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,677 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    I said *over* 140 :p and 140fps+ means i get to see more shit on my screen before anyone else does. that means i aquire targets faster and kill faster. unless everyone is running without V-sync
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,677 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    yeah, like that 1/1000th of a second you save is going to make a noticeable difference, you'd be better off running eyefinity so you could use your peripheral vision
     
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Or get a Killer NIC. :p
     
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    :laugh:

    all the people who don't understand they are cutting about 4ms of something that has between 40ms-200ms from the network alone
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,677 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    youre just jealous!!
     
  11. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    not really, i've stopped caring as much about gaming, i'm about films and anime now, thats why i keep saying you should of spent the money on a Dolby DTS Master HD receiver + Speakers and Blu-Ray drive, and a plasma would of been nice but that would of sent the budget sky-high

    EDIT: AND MUSIC, but all that needs is some decent headphones
     
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,677 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    ive already spent more then £1000 to get this machine so that would depend.
     
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,677 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    a side from the bigger screen and better sound system. the money would be wasted. I dont watch TV let alone many dvds or blue ray movies. what makes you think i would sit down and watch B.R just because i have a 50" plasma and a booming soundsystem doesnt mean fuck all to me. Id most likely hook the sound system up to my pc and listen to music while i game on the big 50" plasma. and if i had a 50" plasma, Id need some serious muscle to run it
     
  15. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    why the serious muscle its still only 1080p?

    and are you seriously telling me you don't want to watch your anime in surround sound with HD?
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,677 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    I already do on a 23" 1080p screen and Logitech z5500's
     
  17. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    A: only 23", also have you tried gaming on a plasma, only reason i use my Xbox is that i can play on the sofa 2-3m away, for some reason playing just feels so much better when you don't have your face pressed up against your PC monitor

    B: No HD audio
     
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,677 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    Yep.

    Doesnt my STX class as HD??? Im gonna get some Onkyo's next anyway. if not a new screen
     
  19. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    the Logitech's don't support HD, last time i checked they just downscaled it down to normal 48khz 16bit at their end, not that it actually makes to much difference (to tell you the truth i use headphone for movies* so i can have an actual volume level and i've never noticed the difference at all)

    *sub shakes the house like there's some sort of earthquake as we've got it next to a wall, and that might upset the neighbours so i use my headphones for most purposes
     
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,677 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    Nor does the STX for that matter. If i got a HD sound system id need to hook the sound system up to the 6970 which does (i think) and i still prefer the sound of my STX anyhoo.
     
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    i've just reached the point now where spending money on Proccesor and graphics card seems pointless, theirs been no innovation in gaming at all in the last few years, besides Batman (and the new tomb-raider looks good

    --> [​IMG]

    EDIT: in other news the tomb-raider website just let me in, when i told it my date of birth was the 9th of october 1066 (date of the battle of hastings) and it let me in, so somewhere on their server it says they've just got a visit from a 950 year old :laugh:
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,677 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    all updates are done!! shutting shop and heading off home. Good bye my sweet 24mb download rate :(
     
  23. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    whats with your download speed?

    EDIT: Its friday, and that means i'm thinking of changing my Avatar

    can't decide between this -> [​IMG]

    and this -------------------> [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,677 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    I dont have a 24Mb connection at home. All i have this this shitty ass mobile broadband, which gives me hardly 1Mb download rate on most days despite advertising speeds of 7.2Mbps.

    Im also trying out their new 4G dongle and it only connects to 4G when it feels like it and even when it does 4G is shit slow. i cant even turn a motherf*cking page! so i gotta disconnect and reconnect again so it goes back to 3G.

    Reason why i dont have proper internet..... Family politics thats all im gonna say. And the best 'free wi-fi' *nudge nudge wink wink* around these parts are pretty poor despite me having a 10dB antenna. no good for gaming.

    My ping however is still fine for BC2. my ping is like 120ish. used to be a lot worse - around the 200-300+ mark but ive taped the dongle down to a cooking pot of some sorts and its really boosted my signal. I can get 80ping in speedtest and not 200 something like usual.

    I would return this 4G dongle but it works a lot better then my previous one.
     
  25. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    i was stuck on 3 for 3 years i could not game for shit on it, download speeds were like 40kb/s and pings were 180-300.... i hated it
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page