1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Thanks for posting this, site seems to be under high demand at the moment but I'll just keep refreshing until I get in there. Arma II for free, sweet!!
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    greenman web server must be having a heart attack with the amount of traffic they are picking up
     
  3. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    just fixed my cable management and cleaned the heat-sinks, now my PC looks really good and runs 5c less
     
  4. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,037 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    does that mean you can only play 'em this weekend ?
    demo code kinda thing.
    I got arma 2 in a steam chgeapy deal and still havent got past training :laugh:
    i thought to get men of war for when my computer is back to normal running cond as opposed to how it is now.
     
  5. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I was gonna get the games but meh can't even be bothered :p It's a Saturday after all!
     
  6. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    The games are free over this weekend and if you get them in time you can keep em forever.

    Arma 2 looks pretty hardcore not sure I have time to learn it!

    PS scam you can always get them tomorrow. It's sunny now isn't it? :)
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,060 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Well i know what region 2 is but what is region B? The blu ray is special edition btw, the dvd is not that much i can tell from just those pages. I bet the blu ray is all remastered and shit too.

    I just discovered it will be like £8 to ship per pc case. Tempted to sell both my cases and get a 600T in white. Yeah i know a few posts back i said i was thinking of it.
     
  9. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    What cases you wanting to sell?
     
  10. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Blu-Rays have different regions to DVD's, i believe there's only 3 vs 5 with DVD's and their done at a software level so many players will play all regions

    Is it worth getting the Blu-Ray?, i do like special editions :)

    i'm just looking at what to get as they've got all their anime on sale http://www.sendit.com/dvd/offers/manga-s-20th-anniversary.list (never say i don't provide you guys with a lot of cheap anime :laugh:)
     
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    gonna nab me an SilverStone Raven RV01!!
     
  12. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    Obviously assuming you have a Blu-Ray player... do you like watching the Blu-Ray over DVD? If not then go for the DVD.

    Personally when it comes to things like special editions, I get them, because I do enjoy watching the extras that you get.
     
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Blu-rays are a weird situation for me, due to the way things have ended up being set up, i can either watch DVD's on a 42" plasma with surround sound, or Blu-rays on a 32" LCD (Which actually takes up a lot of my vision as i sit about 1m away from it) with headphones

    Do you guys think i should start a petition or something to get a Sky movies anime channel

    i like special editions as they look nice normally (i also like to feel i'm supporting the people who made the movie)
     
  14. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    Headphones...

    Hell DVD all the way! You can't watch good films/TV with headphones. It's just not cricket.
     
  15. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Niiiice, but the Raven 2's better :p muuuch bigger though from what I've seen...
    What appeals to you about the Raven 1, just out of interest?
     
  16. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    you'd be surprised, get some good headphones, a decently long cable, and plug it in to the headphone socket , i've re-watched some movies with headphones and you just notice so many things you don't normally (Scott pilgrims a great example, you notice so many background sounds that add to the atmosphere you just don't on a surround system)

    that said i'm being pushed towards DVD as its half the price

    Also i'm a bit of a headphones person, i went to a party a few weeks ago wearing these massive over-ears, and managed to get control of the music (apparently by wearing your own headphones and listening to your own music you get noticed quite a lot) , AC/DC is so much better then that normal pop rubbish they play
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    #1. Looks like a stealth fighter.

    #2. I need an ATX case to work with - it was a squeeze getting these 2 6970's into the Antec 902 and due to the Kuhler 920 sticking out inside the case i cant mount a fan on the side panel so no extra cooling for the graphics card.

    #3. my Antec 902 is about 2-3years old (i think)

    #4. Im used to the side panel being on the left handside and not the right


    ----

    ive still done a fine job getting everything inside. I should take a few pics though. Cable management isnt as clean as it could be though but its the best i could do with such a case
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  18. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    That's a good point - I used to hear things through headphones that I hadn't heard on any other system. Until I got my HarmanKardon HK6100 and Mission speakers - that's when I started hearing all those things on a proper setup.
     
  19. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    the biggest problem is the neighbours, we've got a 1000w Panasonic surround system and we can't turn it up too loud as the sub does frequency's so low you just get this massive rumble in other rooms, and the house is semi-detached so...
     
  20. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I always forget about that one! That was one of my influencing factors on getting the Raven 2 - I made an upside-down case just because I needed the window on the other side!

    The Raven 1 does look nice, it's just it looks taller than it is long. I like the kind of new Alienware-y cases, really long but not too tall. I really like the idea of having the PSU separate from the rest of the system though, like you get with the Raven 1.

    I live in a block of flats with moany neighbours, but I'm the moaniest one and I don't give a f*ck so my music goes LOUD!!!
     
  21. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Freedom - have you tried that shiznit yet?
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    just about to give it a go!
     
  23. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Shweeeet.
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    Unfortunately no can do im afraid. I cant get a good signal. and ive moved the antenna all over the fricking garden and i cant get decent signal anywhere.

    thanks for the thought anyway. and if its alright with you i'll hang on to your details to use it while im having a gin&tonic at wetherspoons!!! rare occasion. but at least i know i can use it while im there.
     
  25. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Yea just makes sure no-one spikes your drink, rapes you and steals my details :laugh:
    Try changing the adapter settings on your wi-fi card, maybe it's stuck on b and needs g or whatever. I used to mess about with mine all the time, changing settings and that to get new networks. Nothing to do with how far away they are, just what settings they're using ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page