1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    [​IMG]

    Soon as the ram gets in my mates system i will let you know what its like Scam. I was interested in that Frio from Freedom but hmmmn kinda would be scraping money together to get it though.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,974 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    UK
    i ended up unboxing £200000+ of computing equipment today so i'm getting bored of it
     
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Unboxing stuff is different to actually owning £200,000 worth of equipment.
     
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,974 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    UK
    you expect me to have more pc equipment then my house is worth, i mean, i would like 7, 12 core servers with 40+gb of ram and 8tb hard drives but...
     
  5. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    :roll: nice pic Kieran!! Yea I never used the RAM properly, just tested it at 1066 to make sure it can hit spec. Might even be a really well performing set, I dunno.

    Go on then cheesy - I'll bite - what did you unbox? Anything interesting?
     
  6. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    £200,000 on half a new network? Sheeeeeet
     
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Teeth whitening lol :)

    I bet the new network needed a new server and then you have to set that system up to work with all the client computers in the building some software sided stuff, intranet ect. Maybe some new client computers. Loads of planning how to wire up the building, hopefully something like that is just replacing the old cabling so its easier that way, maybe some routers and switches. Setting up the routers and switches and managing the ip addresses (static ip addresses).

    At college i wish i did HND Networking, I did almost a year of Tech Support and then left college.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
  8. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,974 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    UK
    yeah, apparently they wanted specific brands + set ups, and they've asked for some weird things like a 12 core 24 thread server just for file storage :wtf:

    and its half the parts, the rest of the stuff is a few hard drives/switches etc
     
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    12 core 24 thread file server? huh how big is this place?
     
  10. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,974 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    UK
    not too big, its just for admin and sales, we see it as wasted hardware but if people want it, your not going to say no are you :rolleyes:
     
  11. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Id advise the customer you wouldn't personally have one but ultimately its their decision and they are paying lol

    Its like when a Pakistani guy asked my uncle if he could keep the wall bare and "that colour" when he got his wall plastered. My uncle was like personally i wouldn't but its okay to leave it like that if you wish (it was like a salmon colour).
     
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    hahaha i bet they where stumped but felt like idiots afterwords
     
  13. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    work experience sounds pretty good then from what im hearing
     
  14. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,974 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    UK
    yeah, if i can i might work there in the future
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,414 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,631
    wondering if its worth upgrading the old wifi card in my laptop. Probably not...
     
  16. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,974 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    UK
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,414 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,631
    this is sata 1 though so id never get the full speed out of it. plus my old laptop doesnt have AHCI
     
  18. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,974 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    UK
    doesn't matter, it'll still be 3x as fast as a notebook drive and its the seek speed that makes the real difference apparently
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,414 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,631
    hmmmm... I'll have to think about it. I just upgraded to a 250Gb HDD on this thing. the only other thing i was thinking of was getting a Mini PCI-E PATA IDE 8GB SSD and use it for readyboost
     
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,414 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,631
    good find with the Kingston SSD though. I might get it just put a few of the regular games i play on it.
     
  21. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    How much of a difference does readyboost make for older systems, my old system is a 3500+ 939pin.
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,414 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,631
    I think it was more dependant on the amount ram you had. if you had more then 2Gb then it wouldnt make much difference at all.
     
  23. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,974 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    UK
    No it improves the starup on my pc so...
     
  24. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I've been led to believe it works quite well. Tatty recommended it to us a coupla weeks back so I'll be looking for a decent size memory stick soon.
     
  25. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Well it has 4x512mb of DDR but its kinda sluggish at startup. It used to have a x2 4200+ but one of the pins broke this was around about 2 years ago. Someone said to solder it back on but i lost the pin and my soldering skills are non-existent.

    So a 2gb flash drive might speed it up a little? It uses Windows 7 and btw XP aint noticeably faster. Im thinking a nice faster hard drive would speed up load times but hell im not putting my money into it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page