1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    It also unlocks cache
     
  2. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    In ACC there is an option called “Unleashing Mode” which is the unlock mode.
    EDIT: I guess the lack of lack of CPU Northbridge Multiplier on this board could be annoying for FSB oc'ers.

    Well i cant really seem to see what ACC does apart from unlocking.
    Make sure the surge protection is turned on in the bios as its off by default.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  3. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    ok i done the best i could with a stock amd hsf :laugh:
    i got a new waterpump but i am having trouble getting the fittings,either way this is the best i can do right now:
    [​IMG]
    i'l give cas8 a shot ,maybe that will help balance the lack of cpu-nb
     
  4. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    More than that.
     
  5. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    Relax, you wint get much more nb out of a deneb anyway at that ram speed
     
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,578 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    945
    Location:
    London, UK
    how does everyone check stability? 1hr linpack sound good?
     
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    We are all talking about the ASUS M4A79T Deluxe aren't we?

    Bo$$ - I've always used Prime95.
     
  8. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    ASUS M4A79XTD EVO

    HT Link should maybe be 2ghz or even 2.2ghz as i can do that on stock 1.2v
    What sort of volts are your cpu/nb? Mines is 1.375 to get 2600mhz.

    I usually check stability with OCCT but if it doesnt crash after 4 hours of gaming its fine to me, games like Total War and Bad Company 2 kinda stress the cpu for me as if played other games and they where fine as they didnt tax the cpu as much but the other games crashed after a while.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    Don't bother running a stress test at 4ghz on the stock amd cooler, i've tried it, it just thermal throttles down to around 2ghz after a few mins, cools down, back up to 4ghz after a while and repeat
     
  10. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    i want the cpu-nb to balance the cpu and ram speed,thats the whole idea.
    sam,its a m4a79td m evo..
    oh right :banghead: its the micro version..:eek:

    im not overly worried about stress testing it till its back under water.it was more of an excersize in finding what an amd chipset can do-i been told over and over that i should be able to get up to 320 fsb with all phenom II chips,this 945 wouldnt boot much less stabilise at anything past 280 fsb on my nvidia board,and on this board it wont even boot at 276
     
  11. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
  12. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    Most denebs will only do 2600 - 2800 nb, and why would you need that sort of fsb with an unlocked multiplier?
     
  13. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Ah right my mobo is a regular ATX its not micro ATX. I imagine though the bios and specs are similar.
     
  14. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    945's dont have unlocked multi's. They aren't BE's.
     
  15. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    initially the cpu-nb OC was to rid the bottleneck that this chip would give sli gpu's.

    i know this cpu can do 4ghz cpu-nb and 37xx stable(i got screenies of it from my destroyer board)so the idea was to match the increased bandwidth of the ram with the high cpu-nb frequency,
    pushing the bottleneck elsewhere while giving a tidy performance boost all round.

    Wether that works out with ddr3 i dont know as i cant get the cpu-nb that high on this board.

    i dont have an unlocked cpu multi,
    increasing the fsb decreases the latency between the connecting ram and and cpu cache,where upping the cpu multi doesnt..

    yea sorry for the confusion,i was so annoyed at this boards bios layout and quirks i wasnt focusing on small print.
    its none of those sam,i will google it.
    ok clearly i need some racism therapy as they all look the same to me...
    http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...85G+Chipset,+DDR3,+AM3,+mATX+?productId=37391
    its a 785 not a 79
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  16. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Bloody ASUS! Yea just link me to it on the ASUS site.
     
  17. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    I thought the benefits of cpu/nb speeds where not that great after 3ghz most will do fine at 2600 or 2800 but 4ghz on the cpu-nb jesus christ!
    I thought the point in upping the cpu/nb was bandwidth or something for the memory.

    http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/AllProducts/
    Make sure you only have AM3 ticked off, should be able to find it for us in there.
     
  18. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    I'll rephrase that, no deneb will do more then around 2800 NB whilst using ddr3 memory

    This is because they use an almost compleatly different mem controller on ddr3
     
  19. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    How'd you know that cheesy?
     
  20. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Kieran:yes your right but when i was messing with the destroyer,i noticed it would load quicker and seemed mugh more cohesive and well put together the morei upped the cpu-nb frequency,so i kept going :laugh:
    im not really much of a benches fiend,i find it boring but of course if you tell someone you can get your cpu-nb that high without any real effort,they wont beleive you!

    cheesy:you cant say stuff like that without proof,yields vary,some guys get 4ghz on near stock volts,some guys cant get past 3.6,some guys cant get cpu-nb past 2200 without stability issues.
    honestly fella,thats a generalisation and so doesnt really have a place.

    i would bet with you that if i can get the cpu multi more than x10 it would boot and bench.even x12 would prove it.im not showing off or whatever im just convinced that i can squeeze more out of this.
    hence my coming here tonight winging :laugh:
     
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    It's In the memory controller the ddr3 controller in the early (c2?) Revisions of deneb will limit the chip to 2400-2600 the newer (c3?) Revision deneb will do 2600 to 2800 on average amd the x6 processors will do around 3000
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  22. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    4ghz is an epic oc on the cpu/nb!
     
    MightyMission says thanks.
  23. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    On ddr2 you can normally get higher clocks on the nb however as you rightly said there will always be an exception, I was just stating the values most people get to, 4ghz is good In any caseThough
     
  24. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    haha yea it was stable enough to bench but the results were...not epic.37xx was better,but i would have needed 1400mhz ddr2 to be on a 1:1 to really see whats what,so i moved to ddr3.

    i Will achieve!
    stubborn as hell and this board is going soon as poss,to be replaced with smething more abuseable!
    sam you got a ch4 right?
    what cpu-nb multi can you select?

    im searching now for a 5ghz cpu-nb using ddr3,the guy was using dIce tho.
     
  25. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)