1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,010 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    On ddr2 you can normally get higher clocks on the nb however as you rightly said there will always be an exception, I was just stating the values most people get to, 4ghz is good In any caseThough
     
  2. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    haha yea it was stable enough to bench but the results were...not epic.37xx was better,but i would have needed 1400mhz ddr2 to be on a 1:1 to really see whats what,so i moved to ddr3.

    i Will achieve!
    stubborn as hell and this board is going soon as poss,to be replaced with smething more abuseable!
    sam you got a ch4 right?
    what cpu-nb multi can you select?

    im searching now for a 5ghz cpu-nb using ddr3,the guy was using dIce tho.
     
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,158 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    [​IMG]
     
  4. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Yea the IMC on PhII's is crap. Better on the Thuban but not great.
    yea I got C4F, highest NB I can get is 2800. S'why I'm saving for a 1090t.

    MM, make sure you got C1E and Cool n Quiet turned off and disable ACC. Then set the HT to 2200, NB to 2800, memory speed to 1333, then up the FSB until the memory speed gets to 1600. I'm guessing by the time the FSB gets to 250, the RAM speed will hit 1600 (if it links the FSB:RAM like mine)
    Then set the timings manually before you reboot. I had nothing but problems when getting my RAM and CPU to play nice, and that's how I did it.
    I'm tired so I might have missed a few steps out
     
    MightyMission says thanks.
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,158 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    LOL 5ghz is rediculous. Post in the Phenom II clubhouse id love to see what they all think.
     
  6. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    haha,it was one of the guys from there,he posts in overclock net too.

    i will get on the bios messing again tomorrow sam,im gonna go punch the mrs for spending my upgrade money!
    i really wanted the asrock 890 extreme 4 but she left me 40 short so i had to make do :(
     
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I know that one, mine spunked all her money and some of mine so I'm forced to sell hardware :( right wind up.

    Imma have another look on the nettings see what I can find.

    Make sure you got the latest bios on the board too man.
     
    MightyMission says thanks.
  8. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    i did get the latest bios,that was my first port of call once i saw the mess that was the bios for this board.
    i guess 4ghz on stock air is about the best i can ask for right now.

    no matter,i had a tinker so i've learnt a bit and i could probably squeeze more under the chiller but i cba to insulate a mobo i got to strip again when it sells in a week.
    thanks for the help though
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,693 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,819
    Hey guise.

    Any chance some of you who use different tech forums regularly throw up my 5850 in their FS sale section??? you get a small cut from the sale for your efforts.

    thanks
     
  10. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    no worries squire,i'l do OCN for you if you dont use the place yourself.ship to EU?
     
  11. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,010 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    still haven't sold that thing then?

    Also HP G62's have an amazing speaker system on them, you can tell there's no subwoofer or anything, but at the same time it's got one of those 'almost but not quite surround sound' effects that works really well, and the Altec Lansing speaker aren't half bad for their size, i was really surprised by the quality i got when i unplugged my headphones
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2011
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,693 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,819
    hmmmm UK only i think.... Shipping just kills it for going anywhere else.

    ---

    Ive manged to sell the fans and 1 5850, but everything else is still here.
     
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,693 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,819
    still getting random unexplainable slowdowns on my system. Opened my case up to check the belly of the beast and one heatsink was falling off the ram due to the big 24pin ATX plug thing. so i re-seated the heatsink and put it in the slots where it wasnt in the way.

    Now putting the system through Prime95. so far its 1hr30mins stable. average temp about 65-67'c with this Kuhler fan rpm running at low/medium settings.

    Liquid temp is 35.8c. ambient room temp is around 23.1'c

    Fingers crossed this baby is stable. Never ran prime95 on it before.
     
  14. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Curses crappy DVD drive won't read some DVDs properly.
     
  15. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,010 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    buy a new one, they're like £10

    Can anyone help me improve my desktop, i've began experimenting now i have a windows 7 PC for the week and i've got to this


    [​IMG]

    can anyone think of anything that would make that look better/ be more practical?
     
  16. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    £13 gets you a d/l lightscribe,well worth the money.
    i'd just set landscape themes active and leave it minimal rather than tv test signals,but i quite like a utilitarian desktop..i guess i'm a clean freak :laugh:
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  17. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,010 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    TV test signals?

    my biggest problem is an appropriate desktop wallpaper, i used this one as it's nice to look at, but i don't think it fits with the omnimo very well?
     
  18. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,281 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Home
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  19. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,010 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
  20. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,281 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Home
    4chan scrapers, so naturally it contains some ... mature wallpapers.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,010 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    i noticed...
     
  22. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,281 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Home
    Enjoy wasting your time on those sites :p
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  23. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,010 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    just spotted this http://nik.bot.nu/i540033, bonus points if you know what movie was being filmed without looking it up
     
  24. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,281 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Home
    Scott Pilgrim vs the world or something like that. It has a different style of presentation, which is why I remembered.
     
  25. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,010 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    yes, or in my opinion the best non-anime movie in the world
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page