1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,143 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    There is that stupid spell checker again.
    Anyway the Galaxy SII has a mini USB jack that works as native USB so you can plug in like an external hard drive and it works fine ect but the main attraction is that there is a cable for that phone that is mini USB to HDMI since its also a HDMI enabled jack. There is a Motorola phone that has a mini HDMI jack already on it too.
     
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    Do they do such a thing for this wildfire with terrible autocorrect? I would love to contact my phone to my TVs.w
    Edit: it's not even funny it's just refusing to let me type words n:banghead:ow
     
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,611 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,756
    Theres not that many reviews for that particular laptop. however. whatever info i did mange to pick up says that the ProBook 4320s came with Integrated Intel graphics, not AMD/ATi. so someone is wrong there.... no where have i seen that mentions it comes with AMD graphics except on saveonlaptops
     
  4. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,143 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I dont think it does HDMI at all the Wildfire or the Wildfire S.
     
  5. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    intrestingly I was in the Capone warehouse last week and one of my friends said my old wildfire looked nicer then the wildfire s, when I asked why he said my phone looked more modern, strange how the older phone looks nicer then the newer one
     
  6. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,143 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    The Wildfire S has a slightly faster cpu but yeah its not as nice looking, funny thing is they have the same GPU.
     
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    At the end of the day, the new one is worse, 30mhz isn't worth sacrificing the optical trackpad, looks, and overall design of the original

    Does anyone know how dangerous it is to root your phone, I've hears the wildfire has a lot of overclocking headroom, but at the same time I like my warranty
     
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,143 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Not really that dangerous, just dont go to like 700mhz as the cpu may degrade and get too hot. It also decreases battery time but if your phones not nifty you can clock it a little.

    Wildfire - Qualcomm MSM7225 528 MHz - 240 × 320 res
    Wildfire S - Qualcomm MSM7227 600 MHz - 320 × 480 res
     
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    So how likely am I to kill it whilst rooting it?
     
  10. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,143 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Not very just make sure its fully charged. Its just flashing the device right? so its probably as dangerous as a motherboard bios update which isnt very dangerous if done right.
    EDIT: Not sure if Rooting is legal so better to keep quiet on it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2011
  11. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    I think I may have to think about it, problem is I still have 11months on my contract if something goes wrong

    New heatsink arrives tomorrow I wonder what temps I'll get, I've been told (online reviews) it runs at around 16c above room temp at full load on a Phenom ii so I should be running around 40c tops
     
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,143 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    What heatsink is it? i know its a xiggy but which model?
     
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    S983 its one of those amazing price to performance ratios, cheapish but really good performance compared to other things on the market.
     
  14. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,143 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Similar to the S1283 in thermal performance but smaller. I only paid £15 for my cooler but its a few years old now. Im interested in these all in one water solutions only thing is for a cheaper price i can just get a decent air cooler because the AMDs phenom IIs don't get that hot around 30s 40s is fine.
     
  15. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    I've heard a lot of high end air coolers actually perform better, still if someone sold one at around the £30 mark that was as good as the corsair ones I O'Higgins consider getting one.

    Edit: do you every get the feeling your phone is deliberately trying to irritate you, since when has anyone ever used the work O'Higgins in the middle of a sentence, and why put it in autocorrect?
     
  16. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,143 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    lol your phone makes me laugh but i would be cracking it off the wall right now if my spell checker was like that
     
  17. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    For some reason my phone needs to be turned off and on again every few day or else the spell checker goes mental, problem is I don't want to do it at the moment as that would mean I'd have to stop listening to music

    It's mainly due to the lag meaning don't pick up lon typing mistakes until I'm a few words away, ghastly why I'm thinking of overclocking the phone to reduce the input lag
     
  18. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,267 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    What phone are you using cheesy??
    I am abit annoyed now that i can't really do my workouts atm because my wrist hurts. -_-'
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,611 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,756
    serves you right for beating yourself off more then 60times a day
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  20. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    Wildfire, it's a really good phone but it has 2 errors

    1:Internet browser occasionally crashes, although all my friends get that on their phones so it looks to be an android problem google refuses to fix

    2:If you leave it running for more then 3 days it goes all laggy making it really hard to type

    Apart from that it's a great phone with a great selection of apps
     
  21. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,267 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Serves you right being the lazy chinese man you are.

    @cheesy
    The wildfire is not bad phone,i was thinking of getting it but i heard its not that much of a big difference to the Hero in terms of performance.
     
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    :shadedshu

    In terms of performance, it's not very fast at all, but it's enough, don't expect to play HD video, but that doesn't matter as it doesn't have a HD screen so...
     
  23. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Got the same phone, try deleting longe messages, I got rid of one 400+ messages long the other day as it was running like a bag of poo and instantly it was much nicer, same symptoms as you with the spell checker. Alternatively get a better messaging app from Android Market Place
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2011
  24. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    UK
    i've already replaced the entire keyboard, and yes, turning it off and on again fixed my keyboard problem, not that that matters now

    TOO SLOW, AAHHHHHH :banghead:

    EDIT:mad:Freedom -->http://www.dabs.com/products/dell-i...rce=td&utm_medium=affiliates&utm_content=TB00
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2011
  25. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Who said anything about keyboard lol, I said storing long (200+) text conversations slows it down when typing, this could be your issue, I don't really like deleting my text conversations though for no reason as it's not as if I go reading back through them anyway lol and this does help, also try opera mini it's a lot faster and has a lot more functionality than the inbuilt one.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page