1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,304 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,051
    Location:
    Home
    Windows Vista is not that bad actually, after SP1 and the shittons of patches.
     
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    in that case any idea where the ram usage is coming from?

    quick check see's that the bowsers only using 370MB by itself
     
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,577 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    945
    Location:
    London, UK
    get an 13 inch laptop, they are more portable
     
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    no,i've had to carry a 15.6" laptop about a mile or so down the road so i could get internet access yesterday, i have no problem with 15.6" so long as their not really heavy bricks
     
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,304 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,051
    Location:
    Home
    Tbh I think 13 inch laptops are better than 15.6 in terms of mobility, but not many people pack enough hardware into 13" form, and they are quite expensive in this regard.
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,183 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,274
    Location:
    London, UK
    Its cool. I usually dont know what day it is if i havent been getting enough sleep
     
  7. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,577 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    945
    Location:
    London, UK
    i was just looking that a Mobility 4330 is the same as HD 4570 minus clock speeds, i am pretty excited, how can i overclock a mobility card?
    if i get around 600core im all set :)
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,183 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,274
    Location:
    London, UK
    ATi Tray tools. I managed to overclock my X1600MR before i sold off my old laptop.
     
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    with msi afterburner or riva tuner just like a desktop card i think with ATI's mobile cards

    i just dumped 2GB onto the ram though the 7zip benchmark utility, looks to be OS caching mostly, as the ram usage goes up then stats diving back down when it hits full load

    [​IMG]

    EDIT:improved image

    after running the 3GB 7zip, my ram usage with the exact same programs open is down to 1.75 so it does look to just be the OS
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
  10. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    found out my ram problem, turns out i had a ram disk running
     
  11. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,577 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    945
    Location:
    London, UK
    lol who did that?
     
  12. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    me a very long time ago, and i've never used it
     
  13. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,761 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,148
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    :slap: :laugh:

    Guys need some recommendations on new/old games to play, nothing in my steam account seems to stand out to me lately and I would like to get into something new, that said, never really played through Metro 2033 so that's one option though would like to hear some more. I mainly have FPS but I think I need a change as I am bored of playing all the same shit, like resi evil, silent hill type games too, winning suggestions get cookies :rockout:
     
  14. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    i've been thinking of trying this, imagine how good that artwork will look when you fullscreen it, sort of thing that would make me connect it to my TV

    http://store.steampowered.com/app/107100/
     
  15. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,761 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,148
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Looked at that a bit earlier doesn't really grab me, however Limbo looks hella fun!! would like something to tax my new 570 at the same time :rolleyes:
     
  16. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    who cares about how much it taxes your graphics card, i gave up on realism ages ago, because at the end of the day, a lot of these high profile release seem to put 90% of their time into graphics, and 10% into game play where it should be the other way round, that said, occasionally some come out that fulfill both

    just find something that looks nice and is cheap

    there's a demo of bastion if you want to give it a go anyway
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
  17. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,577 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    945
    Location:
    London, UK
    try out from dust, it is quite good actually...
     
  18. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    UK
    i just tried the bastion demo,i wasn't sure about the game, but if the full game is hyalf as good as the demo it'll be worth the £11, so i'd recommend that to MdMk
     
  19. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I have now switched to Google Chrome,my mozilla was infected with crappy "facemood" search even though i got rid of it 1st time. It came back with trace or anything on my system after updates.
    I have even used search and destroy and malware software to get rid of it. Which i did and its still there.
    Even config firefox to google search,nothing.
    So now i am using chrome,i loved firefox aswell.
    Edit:
    Check out ebuyer bank holiday deal.
    £299 for an Asus AMD platform laptop
    Hitachi Deskstar 1TB £36
    XFX AMD Radeon 6870 £125
    HS1A Corsair Headset £30
    Technology Delivered | Ebuyer.com
     
  20. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,304 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,051
    Location:
    Home
    Corsair HS1A might be worth a look, along with the 6870.
     
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,070 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,924
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,183 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,274
    Location:
    London, UK
  23. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,304 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,051
    Location:
    Home
    More like the guy came over and cried his eyes out, and everyone offered him tea and biscuits, but that is besides the point.
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,183 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,274
    Location:
    London, UK
    Maybe so. but he was given 2 or 3 refurbs that died? then when he asked to be given a new drive it turns out it was a refurb as well.

    you can cry your eyes out but if this is the way Crucial handles its customers then i wont buy from them.
     
  25. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,304 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,051
    Location:
    Home
    Yeah, that was major fail from Crucial. He could have gone for consumer protection or something like that and get them to sort it out for him.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)