1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

?

Is the UK the most damn fine & dandy place to live?

  1. Yes without a doubt

    14.8%
  2. Yes but only with a cup of Earl Grey

    14.8%
  3. Would be better with a half decent government

    44.4%
  4. No it's crap!

    25.9%
  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    i've found out that the quite laptop i have is only quite due to the fan settings HP setup, i ran civilization 5 on it for a few hours and put it down on the sofa and it initiated a thermal shutdown, got a big message saying bios has shutdown computer as t=>90 or something like that

    EDIT:GREAT NEWS, i plugged it into the usb where it was stuck on charge mode, unfortunately when my phone charges it gets warm, there's now condensation or something that looks very similar on the touch screen, but more importantly it works!!!
  2. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Well i can see why lol mine a HP laptop too,curses.
    Oh wow lol.
  3. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    AHHHHHH

    Everytime i plug my phone in HTC sync crashes!!!
  4. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,006 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Might not have dried completely inside or the oven killed it. I mean the touch screen.
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,570 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,228
    Time to send it in and have the real experts attempt to bring it back to life.
  6. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,006 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    HTC warranty must be excellent if they will take it back. Just dont let them know it was in an oven lol.
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    no, against my normal status regarding warantys (they're not worth it normally) i got one of those aftermarket warranty on it that t-mobile try to sell you when you buy it

    the touch screen started working on it's own accord when i decided to charge the battery

    i really like this laptop --> http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/4-/21374...rce=0&searchstring=g6-1133sa &urlrefer=search

    really high spec for the price, 3ghz phenom ii x2 works out just under i5 (dual core) speed which is really good for an AMD procesor with a 35w TDP

    4250 graphics aren't amazing but they're better then intel HD and i think the laptop is only 1366 x 768 anyway so it should power through most things, if intel HD can do civ 5 i'm sure this can

    EDIT:Big question, will there be anymore poccesors and graphics cards released for the mobile market this year

    Double Edit: how good is this compared to the 4250 -->http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-HD-6520G.55734.0.html

    Triple edit: apparently it will run BC2, i know the llano a6 isn't as fast as

    http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/toshiba-satellite-l755d-12l-15-6-laptop-red-10732329-pdt.html

    Looks to be much better then my first choice, slower proccesor in single threaded performance but 10x the amount of shaders on the graphics core should make it so much better for gaming, and seeing as i'm actually going to be buying around December and that the price of tech drops, who knows, i may be able to get an a8 by that time
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
  8. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
    that dell is nice, too bad it was so heavy..
    48hour delivery and my envy is STILL not here!
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    Its bank holiday mate, no one works during these times.
  11. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
    i know, it always happens when i order something big :laugh:
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,570 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,228
    Its a sunday...not quite a bank holiday just yet.
  13. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    Whoops, I missed "weekend" :S
  14. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    The dell is, however, large, heavy, and the battery life is half of that the toshiba has (2-3 hours on dell vs 5 1/2 hours on toshiba)

    i do want the specs of the dell, but at the same time i already have a desktop, so i don't exactly want a laptop i can only use around the house

    The toshiba also has ram

    just got to hope that by December/January time i can have a laptop with the performance of the dell at the battery life of the toshiba
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    My laptop also has ram :3
  16. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    but is it 6GB of the stuff (i know 6gb is unnecessary but the dell only has 3 which isn't too much considering i'm using 2.57 Gb just browsing the internet at the moment) overall i want 4GB+ of ram in a laptop, or else i'll end up having to upgrade very quickly
  17. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    I have half as much, but I don't watch that many "videos" to need 2.57Gb worth of ram. You might be suffering from memory leak, take a look at the problem?
  18. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    i have the biggest memory leak in the world, windows vista:laugh:
  19. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    Windows Vista is not that bad actually, after SP1 and the shittons of patches.
  20. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    in that case any idea where the ram usage is coming from?

    quick check see's that the bowsers only using 370MB by itself
  21. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
    get an 13 inch laptop, they are more portable
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    no,i've had to carry a 15.6" laptop about a mile or so down the road so i could get internet access yesterday, i have no problem with 15.6" so long as their not really heavy bricks
  23. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    Tbh I think 13 inch laptops are better than 15.6 in terms of mobility, but not many people pack enough hardware into 13" form, and they are quite expensive in this regard.
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,570 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,228
    Its cool. I usually dont know what day it is if i havent been getting enough sleep
  25. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
    i was just looking that a Mobility 4330 is the same as HD 4570 minus clock speeds, i am pretty excited, how can i overclock a mobility card?
    if i get around 600core im all set :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page