1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

?

Is an independant Scotland going to be bad for the remainder of the Un-United Kingdom?

Poll closed Sep 20, 2014.
  1. Yes without a doubt it would have serious social/economic repercussions

    37.5%
  2. Yes but only a marginal effect

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No not at all but would prefer we remain intact anyway

    25.0%
  4. No not at all, they can do whatever they want, we will be better off without them

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Does anyone outside of Scotland really care anyway?

    37.5%
  1. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    ok bud
     
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,669 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,505
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Sales/negotiation either by PM or in the F/S/T thread please.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    guys i have a major problem, i have solid reason to believe my CPU is crapping out, It is unstable in 1hr of linpack OCCT at any voltage i set. Even at stock longest it has gone is 1hr 45 mins, anyone know where i can get one? or should i fuck it and upgrade the remainder of the PC?

    Tomorrow i will Double check that it is really the CPU that is borked
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    which one?
     
  5. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    Q9450 is hassling me, I have a spare Q6600 somewhere but it will only be tomorrow that i can test it properly
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    Even ebay isnt turning up many hits for that particular processor. everything is international sellers only.
    (searching Q9550 pulled up quite a lot more hits though)

    I say try your luck in the trade section. maybe someone from the U.S might have one for cheap.
     
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Here's my opionion on onlive after use (my routers playing up at the moment so i have only about 3.5meg internet)

    i played a few games i own on varius systems, Hawx 2 looks like the xbox version but with resolution swapped for special effects

    Dirt 2 , looks much worse then it does on my PC, but much better then it does on a Intel HD powered laptop

    therefore, i think this could be good in laptops which don't have a decent graphics card, or more importantly, netbooks!

    think about it, it would preserve battery life because for the laptop it's like internet browsing, but, it would give you much better graphics then normal and you wouldn't notice the low res because you would be using a 10" screen

    i can also see this becoming good if they work on their compression technology a bit more, because i know i can stream better quality video from youtube then that
     
    Millennium says thanks.
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    Been playing Team Fortess 2 for a change rather than Starcarft 2. Easy to learn, hard to master.
     
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Tf2 is fun, though like CSS there is a lot of leet players that are really good at it.
     
  10. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    just seen a few minutes of Xfactor, someone needs to tell them it's not pokemon, and they are not going to win just by putting their hat on backwards

    reminds me of why i don't watch it
     
  11. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Xfactor uk sucks because their is no Simon cowell going your singing sucks donkey balls.
     
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    not upgrade?? i think importing from US will be expensive

    When will bulldozer hit?
     
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    October, either the 10th or 12th, can't quite remember which
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    really its upto you how much you want to spend on a upgrading or replacing that CPU.

    there are quite a few auctions for Q9550s going that are upto around £40-50'ish right now. that are ending within 8hrs or so. you might get lucky going after one of them.

    Or

    you can grab a Q9450 from a selling in Hong Kong for around £130 If you really want a Q9450.

    If you got the money for a full on upgrade then just upgrade already looking at some of BD bench results in todays newsfeed, a 2500k is still an excellent buy if you plan to overclock it.

    with the amount of 'fixing' and inconsistant testing methods and results. I think AMD know that BD still doesnt toe the line with SB so they bench it against random processors just to show its more superior.

    a heavily OC'd 2500k WILL beat an OC'd gulftown in almost every test untill it comes to the heavy multitasking test.

    And so....AMD pitch their BD against a Gulftown when an 2500k is clearly faster.


    thats just my own opinion anyway. AMD's marketing smells of a blantant cover up to the point where it makes my spidey senses tingle every time i look at the results.

    Cool if you still want to go BD though. but i highly recommend waiting until proper reviews surface before parting with any cash.

    Intels 2700k might also push prices down a little
     
  15. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    I feel the same way, i just was thinking in terms of price to performance ratio, even if it is close to SB then it should be a decent choice, any idea when socket 2011 is out??

    gotta wait for my Student loan before i take the plunge anyway. tomorrow will tell me 100% what is up
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    I think 2011 will be out either towards the end of this year or Q1/2 next year
     
  17. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    at approx what speed would i need to run a Q6600 to match a Q9450 at 3.2GHZ (perfomance wise i mean)?
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
  18. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    You would probably need to run it at 355*9 to get it at 3.2ghz.
     
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    i mean perf wise :laugh:
    i can do math too :)
     
  20. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Oh performance lol,you probably see a tiny bit of difference perhaps.
     
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,669 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,505
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    In the Region of 100mhz - 150mhz faster if that makes sense.
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.
  22. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    at 3.6 GHZ now, pc booted at 4ghz but couldn't get into windows, my card is still screwing around. Im thinking the mem is clocked too high for it as it keeps artifacting... stupid pre-overclocked cards....
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    Its rare to find a Q6600 that can do 4Ghz - specially on air,

    as for the 570 - RMA it
     
  24. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    are OCUK difficult to deal with these issues?

    or should i rma through MSI directly?

    or should i underclock and keep it for now?
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    youre gonna have an up hill struggle if you need to RMA through OCuK :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page