1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,096 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Time to try out Battlefield 3 beta. :D
  2. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    lucky git!
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,023 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,058
    Fixed the problem with the whining 140mm fan at the sidepanel - its all good. dont need a fan controller for that anymore. which is great cuz it means less wiring.

    All it took was a dust filter between the case and the fan
  4. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Since i updated firefox text looks slightly different, :confused: wierd.
  5. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,195 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    London, UK
    I haven't noticed :confused:

    Get your HUMBLE BUNDLE!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Using chrome, FF pissed me off.

    Just got mine, already owed most of them though so just got frozen synapse really.
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,863 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    UK
    firefox user:laugh:

    Probably GPU rendering or something

    stopped using firefox around version 4-5 as bugs starting happening at a rate which makes IE6 look reliable

    ______________________________________________________


    different topic

    does anyone know of any good PCI-E Sound cards around the £30-40 price?
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2011
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    There are more browsers than just Chrome, IE and Firefox for example i have Lunascape installed but i just dont like its interface and design. However annoying Firefox is with it freezing for no reason and having memory leaks i always felt drawn back to it.

    I should keep trying other browsers.

    EDIT: Its not morphological filtering because a while back like months ago i accidentally enabled that in the Catalyst Control Centre and it fucked up everything in firefox because it tried to filter everything because Firefox uses GPU acceleration. Its obviously something they changed in the revision.
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2011
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,863 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    UK
    newest chrome developer build is good at the moment

    can you convert a PCI-E 1x Slot to a PCI slot
  10. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,195 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    London, UK
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I do not like Chrome either and yes technically you can get a converter for PCI EX 1x to make it PCI, apparently its for servers or something fuck if i know.
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  13. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,195 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    London, UK
    >.< this is what dehydration does!
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,863 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    UK
  15. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,195 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    London, UK
    look for a Asus Xonar DX it is a Asus Xonar DS but on a PCI-e BUS
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,863 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    UK
  17. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    That is a PCI EX 1x to PCI converter. Thats what cheesy was asking about so you where right. You can get PCI EX 1x sound cards im pretty sure.
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  18. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,863 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    UK
    overall can i get a decent Sound card and PCI-E for under £40?
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,195 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    London, UK
    No
    unless you want creative...
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,863 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    UK
    :(

    in that case can a GTS 250 do sound output to HDMI?

    EDIT:No, that creative is not even a real xi-fi chip, just a rebrand of the same sort of chips you find on motheboards
  21. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Its pci to pci-e he wanted pci-e to pci


    [​IMG]
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,863 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    UK
  23. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Probably not i just checked a few stores and they only sell the DX for £55 and i dont see any other cards for a 1x slot.

    No i dont think that the GTS 250 does sound output to HDMI i had to use a cable to my motherboard for sound, the ATI cards have built in sound chips for audio through HDMI.

    That picture looks like it goes into a 1x slot and makes it PCI.
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  24. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,195 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes i think it can but you need the pass through cable
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    SPDIF to motherboard or sound card which is not the same as the card being able to do it through itself. Your basically passing through the sound to the onboard sound chip or sound card to do the processing.
    cheesy999 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page