1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,943 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    depends if the seller was smart and wrote 'fishtank' on the customs declaration form...

    Customs dont always open stuff up to check whats inside (IMO its more of a random thing)
     
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    WAHEY!

    Fingers are crossed for you.
     
  3. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Even if you do you've still saved yourself several hundred :laugh:
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,943 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    To or To Not to upgrade my Scythe AP-15's to AP-29's - Swapped out all my 140mm Yate Loons for faster 140mm Silverstone Air Penetrators the other the day. I also fitted a NZXT Sentry MIX fan controller to keep the noise down when im sleeping (when i do have to leave the machine running overnight)

    If not the fans then i'll most probably look at getting a new keyboard as some buttons wont respond unless push them all the way down like when you are typing on TPU or an email.
     
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    @ NdMk2o1o: Any joy on your monitor yet?
     
  6. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    The AP-15's are much quieter so if you're leaving it on overnight, I wouldn't think it would be worth it

    I'm thinking about buying a laptop, most probably this one --> Asus X53E Laptop - Laptops | Ebuyer.com

    But If anyone has any recommendations for a £300-£400 laptop or any reasons i shouldn't buy this one I'd appreciate them a lot :)
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,943 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    got a fan controller so it doesnt really matter if they are 'louder' I never really intend to run them at full bore. but yeah its probably a waste of money seeing as this setup barely goes over 60'c even after 12hrs of prime. Its just that when its warm in my room but not enough to have the aircon on, Liquid temps can go as far as 37'c. CPU temps are still well within safety limits though.

    I just want to be prepared for the heatwave thats gonna hit us.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    I am fine with that line of laptops, my ancient X50 is an ancestor of that :D

    Friend's X52 is also working more or less perfectly, except his ethernet port is somehow not working.

    What other makes of laptops are you open to? Dell does occasional deals which can beat that one.

    http://www.saveonlaptops.co.uk/Lenovo_Edge_E525_1158893.html if you are willing to trade cpu power for more graphics and less battery. I wouldn't but you might.

    http://www.saveonlaptops.co.uk/HP_Pavilion_G6-1204sa_1119470.html I wouldn't buy HP, but you might.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Since the Laptop's mainly for work I don't think it's a good idea to trade graphics for CPU and battery, As much as I would like a decent amount of graphics, the Sandy Bridge Core I5's come close to my Phenom II quad core in performance, where the A4 and A6 are closer to my Athlon X2

    As Far as laptop makes go, I am OK with anything except Fujitsu
     
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    In which case there is probably not much else you can do, that laptop (processor wise) is pretty decent bang for buck. HD3000 is not too shabby either, its just a tad weaker than my 4570 and I can game quite a bit. Not the most recent games, but good for the slightly older ones.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,848 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,629
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Can the Mailman have honoury membership for 24 hours..... seems he is bored and needs some culture in his life??? :D
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,899 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,307
    Don't blight your people with his presence. :slap:
     
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    Don't you have the USS Star Ship Penis to pilot?
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,899 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,307
    Yeah, and I just blew up Uranus.
     
    Millennium and Bo$$ say thanks.
  15. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,321 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    yes themailman, needs all the culture he can get
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    Pew, pew!
     
  17. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    The laptop I mentioned previously arrived on Monday, everything is brilliant except it refuses to make the restore disks, what can be done about this?

    Since it has the windows 7 serial number/product key on a sticker on the bottom would it be possible to just use an ordinary install disk in the event i needed to reinstall windows?
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2012
  18. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You'd need an OEM copy of Windows 7 not retail. You should have received a product recovery disc with the computer, what brand of notebook is it?

    If all else fails, create a WIM image or use a program like Acronis to create one and restore that if your install borks.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  19. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    No disks with the computer, it had a built in program that launched on first run that was supposed to make the backup disks, however it crashed on the third disk and now it doesn't work

    Laptop is an ASUS

    I went on the Acronis website and it appears to cost nearly £30, seeing as the hard drive on this is a western digital could i use this version of acronis -->http://support.wdc.com/product/downloaddetail.asp?swid=119&wdc_lang=en
     
  20. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,321 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    indeed you could XD

    try and order the disks from Asus, it might make it better as you wont have all the bloatware everytime you re-install
     
  21. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    WOAH!

    NdMk2o1o has been banned, does anyone know if this is permanent or just temporary?

    He'll be duly missed.

    :(
     
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,943 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    IMO its probably just a short holiday...people have disagreements online all the time. I dont think he deserves a perma ban
     
  23. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    What did he do? Best have gone out in style.

    I didn't even get banned for posting a gay nude scene with erocker in it... lol.
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,943 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    He argued with bumblebee about about TN panels vs IPS panels and he got a little mad shall we say.
     
  25. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Banned for that.. lal.

    Must be TPUs time of the month.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page