1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

?

Is the UK the most damn fine & dandy place to live?

  1. Yes without a doubt

    14.3%
  2. Yes but only with a cup of Earl Grey

    14.3%
  3. Would be better with a half decent government

    46.4%
  4. No it's crap!

    25.0%
  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    yeah bud. Im still nooby lol. I was real into it about 4-5 years ago then i just stopped playing when the friend i used to pal up with moved overseas.

    Ive only just started playing again and im adjusting to it slowly
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,673 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,998
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Nothing quite like stretching those hex core mucles and 680 SLI abs on a graphically intensive game like league. Turn VSync off, what ridiculous FPS are you gettin'?
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    Its an ongoing joke with me and a few others thats been going on since i was 18. I have the most powerful hardware out of ALL of our group. but what do i do? I play guildwars..

    With everything turned up i think i get at least 200fps though I could easily reach 800fps in guildwars 1 i think, though there are a lot more polygons and stuff in that game.
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,673 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,998
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Guild Wars 1 is still my favourite MMO I think... Too much time spent in that
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    I havent played it for a long time, Theres not that much to do in it. Once you've had your fill of exploring and pve the only thing thats left is to go RA or JQ, maybe some GvG or HA if you got the time and the people. the game is pretty much dead now sadly or that seemed to be the case when i last logged on (which was last year some time)
  6. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,673 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,998
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I haven't touched it in about 2 or 3 years. Played GW2 with some friends but got bored real fast. Just been dropping time in Path of Exile a lot lately, and playing newly released singleplayer timewasters like Strider, Thief, Starpoint Gemini II, etc Star Citizen dogfighting module should come out soon and take my attention, but I have a feeling Star Citizen is going to be a crapshoot when it comes together. Elite: Dangerous looks more like Freelancer, which is the exact game I want to play. Sadly I backed the other game.
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2014
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    too bad Titanfall didnt live up to the hype eh.

    I dont play much these days, only really been logging into LoL and occasionally some BF4. I guess im gonna drop some time into supreme commander 1 now but only on single player for the time being.
  8. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,307 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    Playing DoTa 2 personally.... Gaming has taking a hit recently...
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    Well, its not so much gaming taking a hit but there hasnt been that many great games that are just screaming to be played. Lets face it. BF4 is still bugged, People hate origin, GRID 2 turned out to be pants - nobody plays it anymore. Guildwars 2 might be decent but i hate it. Not a fan of titanfall - If the price drops however then im willing to pick it up, otherwise no. Darksouls II is supposed to be good but Im not really into the whole 3rd person style games. and its not out for the PC yet.

    I used to enjoy TF2 but i dont play it because Im elitist and I dont want to play with people who DIDNT PAY for the game. plus hats mean absolutely nothing to me so there goes the whole reason behind the need to play that game.
  10. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,673 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,998
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    When they added hats I stopped playing. Me and my friends used to play it daily for hours, one of them even has every achievement in game. The hats were crossing the line, so we quit. As for games, they all suck. I feel I missed out on the Dark Souls bandwagon, so I'm gonna try to get into the 2nd one and complete that.
  11. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,307 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    really hope they release that new tom clancy game on PC looks fracking great
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    Just a thought,

    If NCsoft actually made GW1 F2P and add a monetary transaction system to the game. Add some sort of 'limitation of F2P accounts - Maybe make it so there are places they cant go or weapons/armours they cant purchase from NPCs or other players, they could potentially bring the game back to life. Obviously GW2 will still be their main focus but i know a hell of a lot of people that quit GW2 to go back to GW1 or other games.


    Right now, GW1 is more or less on autopilot - the same events every year. No skill balancing maybe the occasional bug/exploit fix but thats about it. the devs dont touch the game.

    I know GW1 and its expansions can be found for dirty cheap. but its because people still have to pay for the game that throws up a barrier. I am 100% certain that if they made it F2P that servers would be busy again.
  13. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,307 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    never really played GW at all... not much of a MMORPG person
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    well the game is F2P - no sub based but i mean make it completely free, because right now you need to buy the damn game first before you can play it
  15. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,123 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I used to play GW1 which i loved so much before GW2 got released. I stopped years ago and decided to try play game again but soon as i logged on i noticed all my items are gone.
    Pretty much my GW1 account got hacked so i decided i'm not going play it again now,then got GW2 and i absolutely loved it,then got point i'm on my own playing it after my friends stopped,got bit boring =/
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    My Gw account got hacked too. Support wouldn't give me a hand restoring my account so i ebay'd some ectos and restored it myself
  17. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,123 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Lol i couldn't do that i had nothing. I had a near perfect Long Sword which took me ages to find the skin i wanted,since there was lot of other swords named same but looked different.
    Which was this one:
    [​IMG]

    Anyways just wondering i have 2x2GB Corsair Vengeance ram kit which has these heatsink:
    [​IMG]
    If i as install different set of 2x2GB Corsair Vengeance with different heatsink would it cause any like compatibility issues or lose dual channel?
    I'd assume it be fine because they all run the same CAS latency and voltage.
    I am looking into upgrading my current system soon and want run 8GB ram.
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    the total value of my account ran into billions.... 8 characters with at least 3 elite armour sets each, and god knows how many rare weapons like chaos axes, celestial compasses, storm bows - the list goes on....

    I bought a stack of 250 ectos, i think they sold for 8k each at the time and that still wasnt enough. I needed 1 & 1/2 stack of Z-keys which sell for 7.5-7.7k each before my account was almost 1:1 restored. However there were some weapons and other items I could never recover. I could buy the weapons again but it would be hard finding one with the same stats, So i restored my account the best i could.


    Before i sold my soul to the devil and bought stuff from gold sellers potentially breaking the games ToS I wrote NCsoft support an angry email of utmost disappointment.

    Here I am, a huge fan of the game who has dedicated 7 years painstakingly building his account, The PRIDE and JOY of the years of hard work grinding away at the game and you insult me by treating me like its all my fault my account got hacked and whats even more insulting is that RUNESCAPE a free game restores hacked accounts for its users.

    Not only have you destroyed whatever love left i have for the game by denying any help in getting back into the game you also made sure I will never purchase another Anet/NCsoft title.

    I have never used my account for any activity that would be in breach of the ToS but I dont take kindly to being treated as the perpetrator after i have lost so many years of progress.

    ========


    NCsoft didnt have any feelings either way so i told them to go fuck themselves and to shove GW2 up their ass

    then i went to buy ectos.... But for 8 months i was totally livid and totally bitter about GW1 and being let down by support. It got to a point where id randomly start pointing at people on the street and shouting "unforgivable!". Id wake up at night in a cold sweat thinking the hacker would come back and take what little is left of my account...

    I never touched the game for 8 months while i was being bitter about it. and i kept bringing the topic up every time i went out to meet friends and they all thought i was crazy.


    Its like waking up to find your warcraft account deleted...


    Well, Needless to say i bought GW2 anyway. I still didnt want to spend much time in it because even on day 1 accounts were getting hacked and cleaned out.

    It will always be one of them stigma's with me when purchasing an Anet/NCsoft product. I will always fear my account getting hacked, cleaned out and support not lifting a finger to do anything about it.
  19. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,123 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Well it's good thing getting gold in GW2 is slightly easier than GW1. Getting decent armour aswell but the choice of design for armour is a joke compared to GW1. I too had like 3 15k Armour set when i played GW1 all gone and all weapons,dye,materials and other items gone. Emailed them and got crap reply too so i gave up on GW1.
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    Just buy ectos from gold sellers lol. It breaches GWs ToS but when you lose the will to play because support wont do anything about it then that goes against your reason for buying the game. An eye for an eye
  21. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,123 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Well too late for to start playing again, i got other games to play atm like Dark Souls 2,Fifa 14 and Gundam Extreme Vs Full Boost too play atm.
    I am looking into upgrading my late next month hopefully,will there be anything better than this for the money:
    http://www.scan.co.uk/savedbasket/396749de6ccf4a4e93ded2b7f273fd83
    Bare in mind i am only getting 4GB kit because it should be compatible with my current ram kit,giving me 8GB ram in total.
    Would love to go intel route again but being a student just can't justify spending more than 300 to get decent i5 upgrade when i could get a AMD 6 core for 200-250pound with new PSU aswell.
    I also only use my computer to game occasionally since i play console more now due to my friendship group lol, and finally use it to do uni work and soon job to be either C programming,java programming and web developing etc.
  22. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,307 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    why don't you drop the AMD setup and buy a used i7 for your system? you've pretty much got everything else set
  23. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,123 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Probably sound stupid or arrogant but i would prefer get brand new for CPU, because i wouldn't know how extensive the previous owner has used the CPU,whether its been overclocked or been stressed 24/7 since day 1.
    Also is it even possible get a i7 with motherboard, 4gb ram kit and power supply for 250pound? I know intel holds their value really well in market,which is why i honestly don't believe i could get combo for less than 250.
    I would buy hard drives used or graphics card since i tend to upgrade those lot more frequently than i do with CPU.
  24. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,307 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/1512...ff11=ICEP3.0.0&ff12=67&ff13=80&ff14=95&ff19=0
    £100?
  25. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yes, as Bo$$ says, I think you could if you shop around, when I sell my CPU, Motherboard and Ram (although just an 8GB kit) I would not expect more than around 200 for it which would leave a punter 50 quid to get a reasonable PSU.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page