1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU Zune Social

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by DanishDevil, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Yeah he did, because about a year after he got that tattoo he sold the Zune, and bought an iPod Touch and all of a sudden became and Apple zealot. He claimed that the touch was far superior than anything MS has on the market, and ever will have.

    So he got reamed.
     
  2. department76

    department76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    519 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    U of WY, USA
    hmmm must have been paid off by apple...
     
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I don't doubt it, a guy goes from being an extreme Zune lover, to an extreme iPod lover, what does he expect? We'd all just pat him on the back and go "oh well, lost another"? lol.
     
  4. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,070 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Florida, US
    i want a ZuneHD now!
    if any one wants to donate some money...
     
  5. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,070 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Florida, US
    i love my 30GB zune
     
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Some stuff about the ZuneHD... I don't know... I might need to grab a 80gb if it's going to be down the road for a 64gb drive.. 30 is full to the rim

    64gb needed
     
  7. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Ok Cold, please stop teasing me :p
     
  8. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    No, this No lifer needs to tease!

    :roll:
     
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I agree. Yes they have a few features that the iPod Touch doesn't have, but offering twice the storage capacity would really set the Zune HD apart, at least for a short time before Apple makes one too.

    I hope they don't announce it, and they release one on day 1 anyway, so Apple is flabbergasted and awestruck.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    True, that would be a good way to get at Apple. Even a day before to announce it. That would be a flood for sells just alone... I all ready got one to buy for Dark. Might even do one myself for the 32.. I can all ways just throw what I want on it.. not have everything there! lol
     
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Yeah, I've recently noticed that I'd be happy with 1GB for music if I synced regularly, even though I have lots of gigs of music. For movies and browsing and programs and games and all that, 32GB would get to be a little tight.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, I like to have some anime on mine so I can watch if I felt bored... so I need at lease 10gbs just for that.. and about 5gbs would be enough for me music wise.. Just so much I don't listen to but one artist, and a few extra albums from others..
     
  13. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Well my 30GB is only just over half full. Got some videos, and music, but that's it. My Music takes up less than 3GB space. I only ever use it on shuffle, so if there is music I'm getting bored of, it has to come off the Zune, otherwise it ends up being played again and again.
     
  14. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Cold Storm says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    It looks so awesome. I can't wait to play with a unit in a store before decided if it's worth replacing my Zune80 with it. My only problem is I mostly listen to my Zune while riding my motorcycle so non-physical buttons would be impossible to manipulate through my jacket with gloves on.
     
  16. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    They're going to have a wired remote with physical buttons for it. I remember seeing that somewhere...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    This might be a silly question guys, but considering the original Zune (Zune30) was Toshiba made, and not Microsoft, does it use the same DAC as the later Zunes, or a different one?
     
  18. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    That link I have says that all of the Zune devices up through the Zune HD willl use the same DAC.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Mind giving me that link? :)

    EDIT:

    For any one else interested in the DAC. I found this:

     
  20. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    However, if you read the article, and his previous articles about the Zune, he has no idea about the Zune30. He makes statements such as "zune needs an EQ" where the 30 does have an EQ, it was stripped out of the 80.

    That's why I asked :)
     
  22. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Gotcha. I was trying to help :eek:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    No problem. I did manage to find a name though:

    Seems to be a custom-built DAC from Wolfson in participation with Microsoft. The closest one is the WM8758
     
  24. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Cool! Do the 5th gen. iPods really use the same DAC, or at least a similar one? My girl has a 5th gen iPod and whenever I have a song that she has we ALWAYS use my Zune because it sounds so much better and she agrees. And she can't even tell the difference between regular TV and 720P >.<
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I THINK the 5th Gen uses the WM8758 which is the closest in audio quality. I'm not sure though, I'd have to do a bit more searching.

    EDIT: Yup, WM8758
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)