1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Unofficial guide for overclocking the AMD64 line.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by JC316, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. boecke

    boecke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wowch, that's nice.
    I can recall overclocking my San Diego 3700+ to around 2.8ghz at stock cooling without any uppage in the voltage or tweaking the memory. I never left it at those speeds because I thought i'd do quite a bit of damage.

    Thanks for the suggestion by the way mate :)
     
  2. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906

    No, it wont do any damage. So long as you don't go over 50*C, you wont hurt anything. Heat is really the only factor in damaging a CPU, so long at it stays low, you will be fine.
     
  3. boecke

    boecke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The only problem now is that I can only really get it to around 2.4ghz
    I've dumbed down my HTT Link to around 600mhz, got my CPU Frequency to 230mhz.
    Turned up my CPU Voltage to 1.50v and turned down my RAM to 166mhz.

    Is there a detailed guide to Overclocking the AMD64 Range?
    If i am able to get the CPU to around 2.6ghz i'll be happy :)

    Cheers buddy
     
  4. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    The Arctic Freezer pro 64 is what i use there a bit bulky but do the job great i could go even higher on my oc if i really wanted as top temp under full load is only 42c @ 3ghz seems as The Arctic Freezer pro 64 pushes air streaght out the back fans ive made my side fan suck air in so it feeds The Arctic Freezer pro 64 cool air all the time as well as the front fan which mainly cools my hard drive pushing hot air out the back is a great design to manage system air flow alot better i think.
     
  5. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Get a better cooler and try same config as mine m8 u might be able to get 3ghz with the right cooler
     
  6. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Currently running a 3000+ at 2.6Ghz with a 325Mhz FSB. Taken me many days and many CMOS clears but it's nice and stable, and sits at around 46'C under load and 32'C idle with an Arctic Freezer 64 Pro.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2007
  7. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Thats a pretty sweet OC on that 3000+. I never could get mine to go over 2.4GHZ.
     
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Me neither until I dropped the multiplier from 9 to 8 which allowed me to increase the FSB by a lot. It's currently very stable and I could push it farther no doubt about that, but happy with it as it is.
     
  9. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    no, the san diego is a newer core than the early fx's i think the early fx used a 130nm core, and didnt have sse3

    the 3700+ on 754 used the clawhammer that was in the fx's, but without dual channel memory
     
  10. boecke

    boecke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmmm, fair enough :) Glad to hear it, heh.
     
  11. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    I don't see HTT speed and I cannot lower the RAM speed? :banghead:
     
  12. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906

    HTT could also be called Hyper Transport. The ram speed should be under dram options and it's usually set to "auto".
     
  13. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2007
  14. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Updated for AM2, DDR2, and X2 users.
     
  15. FujiwaraTakumi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Question:

    I have a 3000+ 130nm socket 754 core on an Asus K8N mobo. I was reading this guide over since I'm considering OCing. But when I went browsing through my bios, it already had an option that would allow me to OC between 1-12%, 12% landing me around 2.4ghz. If I choose to use my bios' OC option, do I still need to play with the RAM's speed as well?
     
  16. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    The BIOS SHOULD automaticly do that for you, I know my Tforce 550 will. Shouldn't 12% put you around 2240MHZ? Either way the bios almost certainly will downclock your ram.
     
  17. FujiwaraTakumi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Whoops. It is 2.24ghz. Would that extra 240mhz give me a noticeable performance increase? Also, I changed my RAM voltage from 2.5V to 2.7V as was suggested in the manufacturer's forum. That shouldn't affect anything right?
     
  18. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Yeah, that should give you a decent boost. What kind of RAM is it? It should be able to take 2.7 just fine, my corsair XMS DDR400 ran 2.8 default.
     
  19. FujiwaraTakumi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    2x 512MB Corsair Value DDR400 CAS 2.5
     
  20. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    It will take 2.7 fine.
     
  21. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    I can now oc to 3gz from the bios after updating to latest bios thanks for your help guys:toast:
     
  22. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906

    Hey, thats great! Now run some benchies and see what that thing can do.
     
  23. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Mines running at DDR427 with 2.8v. It'll take 2.7v easy.
     
  24. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Added a BIOS pic for reference.
     
  25. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    3dmark 05 score 10746
    3dmark 06 score 4881

    look on next page i just beat these scores!!
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page