1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Unofficial guide for overclocking the AMD64 line.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by JC316, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,144 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,592
    With stock voltage?!
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    on both cpu and chipset

    though the 3000+ was on a 6x multi :D 6x300=1.8ghz :ohwell:
  3. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    Just jumped in.Since this is the OC thread I'll post my two stable OCs in the sole intention that it would help someone out there.
    939 AMD Athlon64 3200+ Venice 1.4V,2X512MiB Kingston Value RAM DDR400 3-3-3-8 1T,MSI K8N Diamond Plus,all stock cooling
    10x266=2660,1/2 Divider,HT @ 3X
    10x250=2500,1/1 Divider, HT @ 4x(my fav)
  4. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Got my 3800+ Venice to 2.7 GHz.
    10 x 270
    1.44 vcore
    4x HTT
    245 MHz on DDR 400
    I was very impressed with this chip. Even before this OC and my Zalman I was able to get it to 2.6 GHz on the stock cooler, although it was done by raising the FSB a mere 17 MHz.
    JC316 says thanks.
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    We need more of these results so people don't have to keep on guessing whether the OC will work or not.
    JC316 says thanks.
  6. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902

    That is an excellent idea, both of you. I will make a thread on it.
  7. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    A64 3000 @ 2.6Ghz
    325 x 8
    1.5v vcore
    3x HTT
    DDR running at DDR440.


    A64 X2 4200 @ 2.8Ghz
    280 x 10
    1.4v vcore
    3x HTT
    DDR running at DDR466
  8. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    How about for DDR533?
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    anyone? ^^
  11. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    How about what for DDR533 hat?
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    the speed you're supposed to drop it to
  13. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
    DDR2 400 is what you drop it to.
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    My board does it automatically. It sure is a gem... I basically got DDR433 instead of DDR533.
    Actual speed is 216 from 260... not that such a small decreace matters with memory... it's well worth it for over 200MHz on the CPU :toast:
  15. BTK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  16. AnUnknownSource New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  17. bassmasta Guest

    athlon 5600

    3.14 ghz, 1.48 vcore, runs for near two-hundred hours on orthos stable.
  18. SimRacer1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I know there hasnt been any activity in this thread for about 2 weeks, but I thought it would be best to post here. I have never overclocked before and am going to be recieving an MSI k8n neo2 platinum to go along with my AMD 64 fx-57 and 2 gigs of ocz dual channel memory ddr400 pc3200. Its supposed to be pretty good memory though as it is the EL Platinum edition Rev.2 w/ramsink with timings of 2-3-2-5. With the combination of parts I have whats the best way to start, I really dont wanna fry any of my equipment and am not looking to get crazy overclock, 3.1 would be perfect on air, but I would settle for 3 i guess, if its 2.9 ghz then i might as well leave it at stock (2.8).
  19. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Essentially, if you follow the guide here, it will get you what you need.

    Drop the ram down to 166MHZ, then up the FSB a bit, see if it will post. I highly doubt you will fry the system.
  20. frankenchrist

    frankenchrist New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    249 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Washington
    I agree with JC but a better than stock cooling kit makes a huge difference in overclock capability and for the socket 939 relatively cheap.
    JC316 says thanks.
  21. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,688 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    730
    Location:
    Washington, US
    If you're buying that new, return it and get a current core Athlon X2 AM2 (at least). That processor is a bit on the old side if you ask me.

    My Sempron can overclock 400MHz. Try looking higher. Just follow JC316's advice. Drop the memory to 166FSB (DDR 333) (5/6 divider) and start pushing your FSB up 2-5 FSB at a time. When you can't boot into Windows (or can't boot at all), go down 5-10 FSB and start doing stress tests and benchmarks. I'd definitely look in to aftermarket cooling. Overclocking makes your processor run very hot. This does two things. One, it limits your overclock. And Two, it decreases the life of your processor. $40 is worth the extra performance (not to forget to keep your processor from turning into a crispy paperweight).

    There's always more you can do to tweak some extra FSB out, but just take it one step at a time.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  22. frankenchrist

    frankenchrist New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    249 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Washington
    AMD processors are also power hungry and will heat up as you bump your V-core.
    Always watch your temps and never bump it up over 1 setting at a time.
    I am running a chip that is designed to run at 1.35 at 1.5 but that is pushing it even under liquid. there is a point where bumping the V-core even if it is staying cool will no longer be useful and shorten the life of your processor due to leakage. Thus using Orthos, super PI, Prime, Sciencemark and Memtest can ensure stability in your system. BSOD=Bad and can lead to data loss including the need to do a full format on occasion. *Thus losing everything you have ever saved*
  23. SimRacer1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks, ill start right when i get my system and let you guys know, I cant belive i got so many responses in jus a few hours thanks. The reason for the fx-57 is because it has been sitting in my closet since summer06 (never had a motherboard to go with it). Bumping the ddr to only 333 instead of 400, isnt that slowing my ram down at the expense of upping my cpu?
  24. patton45

    patton45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    171 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    so i noticed on the thread it says for 754 socket mobo the ht should never go above 800 now i have one comp on an dfi lanparty ut 250 gb with a 3200+@2.7ghz ram at 400 and ht at 975 with no volt bumb and ive been runin that computer 24/7 for about 3 years and i have never experienced any problems am i just lucky or with the right 754 mobo is the higher ht speeds ok
  25. frankenchrist

    frankenchrist New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    249 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Washington
    Not at all because as you increase your FSB it will raise your HTT. You never want to raise your HTT above 1000 so you drop your RAM multiplier to compensate for increased FSB.

    Get CPUZ to watch your clock speeds and your HTT.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page