1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Witcher 2 Assassins of Kings Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by AsRock, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,848 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,661
    Location:
    US
    Yes of course silly me that's why the timer is there lol... So are you supposed to guess when battle is going happen because last time i was attacked was just walking though a door.

    Well stopped playing it for now if they cannot give me the gore that Left4lol said they would have in it..

    And wtf is it with the body's disappearing so fricking fast seen them stay on longer on a console game.
    Last edited: May 19, 2011
  2. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    I know right? i was getting 17fps now 45+fps
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,923 (7.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,502
    45 FPS with a 580?!? OUCH!
  4. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Took me about 45 minutes to download this from Steam and the first thing I noticed was I couldn't remap my key commands to the arrow keys and num pad. Usually when a game doesn't allow this I never play it again but I read a post on another forum that claims a hot fix is on the way to fix this issue shortly. I played a little bit with WASD last night but it was brutal. I hate WASD.

    Visually the game is quite nice considering its DX9. It's clear this game was truly designed for the console and not the PC. I'm tempted to try out a controller with the game. Might actually be easier to play since I hate WASD. I may try some software to remap keys too.

    Voice acting and character design are both fantastic and I bet this is going to be a wonderful story.

    I haven't used fraps yet to see what fps I'm getting but I'm playing on the ultra setting @ 1920x1080 and so far its been very smooth. No lag so far.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,923 (7.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,502
    Sweet and you are only running one 6950?
  6. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Technically I'm running a 6970 (my 6950 is flashed with a 6970 bios) but yes just one.
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,848 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,661
    Location:
    US
    Yes, i was nearly there feeling your pain with the keys... And i can near max it out just cannot have the light numbers a max.

    So your able to have it on ultra with that CPU ?.. If so thats kinda cool as i kinda says my CPU is lacking for the GPU.

    This is how i have mine and it runs smooth.

    Attached Files:

  8. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    You know; when I load up any game I always max everything out. I expect to be able to do that on current gen games but sometimes I have to lower a feature or two.

    In this game I haven't had to lower anything. I set it to Ultra and I even have uber sampling enabled and it runs great. I did shut off motion blur though because I don't like it. Kinda makes me sick.
    AsRock says thanks.
  9. Csokis

    Csokis

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    154 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    2# The Witcher 2 – How to Customize Controls, Remap Keys, Key Bindings
    http://segmentnext.com/2011/05/18/the-witcher-2-crashes-fps-fix-sli-fix-ati-graphics-nvidia-performance-no-sound-errors-and-fixes/

    ;)
    WhiteNoise says thanks.
  10. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I can't check that link because my work blocks it but if its how to change the ini files then thats what I was doing last night. I tried everything and in the end I was able to assign the up/down arrow keys in the launcher but once in the game they wouldn't work.

    maybe your link will show me something I have not tried. Thanks Csokis. I look forward to checking it out tonight.
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,848 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,661
    Location:
    US
    Sweet, i guess my CPU is holding my v card back a little. Sadly it don't justify a upgrade yet but does tell me that my v card will give some more performance when i decide to which is still a year or more away still.

    Yes that blur is annoying thanks for reminding me about that lol
    Last edited: May 18, 2011
  12. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,651 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hey dude please correct me if I'm wrong but I get the impression from this post that perhaps you might hate WASD?

    P.S. You're nuts.
  13. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    :wtf: are you left handed
  14. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    There always has to be a hater or two. :laugh:

    I understand fully that many people consider WASD to be far superior to the arrow keys. I won't even argue that it is not superior.

    All I can say is I have been using the arrow keys for as long as I have been playing PC games and I absolutely love using the arrow keys along with the keys stationed around the arrow keys. To date I have played every PC game this way with no issues at all. Works for me.
    Now I have tried using WASD on accasion just for shits and giggles and I just hated it. It's not for me and every PC game I own allows me to change my KB commands to anything I want. Many actually have the WASD and arrow keys mapped for movement for me.

    True PC titles should always give us the option to change things around. IMO. Thats the beauty of PC gaming.
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,651 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
    Can't argue with that. And I wouldn't call myself a "hater" more like a "can't understander". ;)

    WASD is used by 99.9% of PC gamers for a reason, is all. Well, generally, as to be perfectly honest I have smaller hands and find WSQE preferable for comfort. I just can't imagine using arrow keys any more than I can imaging playing an FPS with a console controller. But if it works for you, then so be it.
  16. cyriene

    cyriene New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Miami
    Got my deluxe edition today from amazon. Can't wait to load it up and play around!
  17. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,681 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I've only played about an hour of this game, but man o man am I happy with my purchase. Running on Ultra with Ubersampling disabled, LOD Distance on Normal (for now), 1920x1080 and I see generally around 40-50FPS, with lows in the 30's and peaks to 60 (vsync is enabled atm). This is with a stock clocked HD5870, needless to say, the game looks amazing, plays smooth and is a hoot thus far. No issues, crashes, and once I disabled Ubersampling on the Ultra setting, my performance went from the teens and twenties to generally 40-50FPS which I can totally live with...running 11.4 drivers, I've yet to try 11.5's with the hotfix...may not worry about it since things are running so well. Also got it from GoG.com, been a flawless experience thus far!
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    I have no idea what I'm doing in this game. I guess I really should read the manual.
    KieranD and TRIPTEX_CAN say thanks.
  19. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Im in the same boat. I usually dont play RPGs but I figured this game would be fun and it is.

    Really happy I bough the retail box copy in case I decide to sell the game. The retail bundle makes the purchase feel valuable and makes other publishers look bad for selling 6h games with black and white booklets.
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,891 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    can anyone confirm if theres any DX11 and Tesselation??
  21. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    The game is pure DX9 and it runs like a bitch.
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,891 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    i doubt it. it definitely looks at least DX10
  23. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    That wasn't assumption. EVGA Precison shown that.
  24. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,681 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    +1 MSI Afterburner OSD shows DX9 as well.
  25. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,891 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    thats weird. because with all the options you can change in the configuration tool it seems like thats to much for DX9

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page