1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Theoretical - Is 1500W enough for this?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by entropy13, May 27, 2011.

  1. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,892 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    cpu, Intel Xeon X5690 Westmere-EP 3.46GHz LGA 1366 x2 - 157500php
    mobo, EVGA Classified SR-2 270-WS-W555-A2 LGA 1366
    vga, EVGA GeForce GTX 580 FTW Hydro Copper 2 1536MB 384-bit GDDR5 x3
    ram, Kingston HyperX T1 Black Series 24GB (6 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    ssd, OCZ Colossus 2 Series OCZSSD3-2CLS960G 3.5" 960GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) x2
    hdd, Western Digital Caviar Green WD30EZRSDTL-4PK 3TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" x2
    odd, ASUS Black Blu-ray Burner SATA BW-12B1LT LightScribe Support
    wcs, Swiftech Apogee XT (Rev 2) High Performance CPU Waterblock - Sockets 775/1156/1366 x2
    wcs, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 360 Radiator (Black)
    wcs, Silverstone Air Penetrator AP121-RL 120mm Fan - Red LED (for radiator) x3
    wcs, FrozenQ PC Mods Liquid Fusion V Series "2nd Generation" Reservoir 400mm - UV Cathode - UV Blue Helix
    wcs, Innovatek Eheim HPPS i High Power 12V Water Pump (501280)
    wcs, Bitspower HDD Acrylic Liquid Cooling Block - Black (BP-HDS350AC-BK) x2
    wcs, Bitspower Galaxy Freezer DIMM6 RAM Liquid Cooling Block - Ice Red
    wcs, extra fittings/barbs
    wcs, extra tubing
    wcs, coolant
    wcs, other accessories
    atx, Lian Li PC-V2120 Black

    Can a single SILVERSTONE ST1500 1500W PSU handle that? Or would it need help from another PSU?
  2. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,536 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    It has 4 connectors for GPU's so why not, the rest is not such a Watt problem as it runs on other rails anyway ? And yeah 1500W is enough to heat my boiler.
    PS. Why the hell did you pick WD greens ?!
  3. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Asus' PSU calc recommends 1450w minimum just for the board, CPUs, and GPUs. I don't know how accurate that is, but considering the power needed for everything else, I'm guessing 1500w will either be pushing it or just enough.

    Just for my own curiosity I'm going to compare with other calcs that I just found on google.
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,958
    Location:
    Home
    GTX580 eats at most a bit over 300w each, so that is 900w for graphics. The i7 will take 150w with slight OC, so that is another 300w. Add various bits for 300w, I say 1500w will be just fine. That is, all the 1500w at 12v rail and the split between rails are "nice".
  5. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, I just tried Cooler Master's PSU calc and it came up with about 1150w for main components. I had a feeling the Asus one was exaggerating a bit.

    I'm thinking 1500w will be enough to give you some wiggle room.
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,958
    Location:
    Home
    Don't bother with all the calculator, just pull the data off Wiz's charts and the TDP of the chips.
    theJesus says thanks.
  7. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks, didn't think of that.
  8. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    742 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Maxishine on youtube runs 3xgtx580 hydro copper 2 with sr-2 full load arond 1300 watt , he has the same psu and it works fine, also cpu's @4.4ghz and gpu @ 850 core
  9. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Well then its settled, it will work just fine :D ( i want to know how many watts is coming out of the wall under full load. )
  10. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,307 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    543
    Location:
    AZ
    storage obviously, the ssd would run the primary, the 4x 3TB greens would simply be storage.


    in the end that rig is a fantasy. Obviously without any real game taxing enough now or in the near furture there's no reason to drop 11 grand on a rig to play the same crappy games at the same crappy resolution as his current rig (note the lack of 2560x1600 monitor or three)
  11. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe it's for folding? Or maybe it's for somebody else? Or maybe he plans on getting a new monitor? Or maybe he just wants a bigger e-peen?
  12. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,307 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    543
    Location:
    AZ
    or maybe he wishes he could afford bigger epeen. there's a reaosn I have two 480's instead of two 580's It's the same reason I don't have a 240GB ssd as a primary instead of my raptor and why I don't have a 2560x1600 monitor yet. I could wish for all the epeen int he world, it doesn't mean my wallet will allow for it.
  13. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    I kinda assumed there was intent to purchase all of this for one reason or another since it's all planned out nicely.

    Considering the wishlist in his sig, I'm guessing it's not for him. ie: A client wants the very best etc.
  14. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,892 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    Well if you're the most well-known boxer in history and have boatloads of money, why not? ;)


    To put this in perspective: This "rig" is a bit "cheaper" than one of the Hermes bags he gave her mother. :laugh:


    It was all theoretical, someone asked what you can buy with 1 million Phil. pesos Manny Pacquiao (may or may not have) given to him. At least we're now assured it would work. :roll:
    theJesus says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page