1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Theoretical question - HDD and SSD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Tintai, Jul 1, 2013.

  1. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    382 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    Hi

    I have a theoretical question. If I unplug HDD when system is running, HDD will be destroyed?
    Also what happens if I unplug SDD when running? It's exactly like USB stick, yes? And what happens if I unplug when formatting? I know that HDD will be destroyed but what about SSD and USB?

    Thanks
    ~Tintai
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,864 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Nothing will happen to the HDD but if you were writing something to it at the time, the data will most likely be corrupted. There is also a small chance you will lose some data also - the same thing applies to an SSD.

    If you unplug when formatting all you have to do is just reformat it again. as the file system is or will be corrupted.

    for USB the results are generally the same no matter if its SSD or HDD
     
    xvi and Tintai say thanks.
  3. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    382 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    Thanks.
    So when I don't write this time and I unplug my disk will not be destroyed?

    But once I was HDD on USB and in accidentally I unpluged when I formatting and I lost all data and I could not repair this.
     
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Well obviously that would happen. And why would yout try to repair it if you accidentally (spelling?) unplugged whatever it was you were formating at the time, as you probably wanted the data removed anyway?

    BTW, "once I was HDD on USB"? :wtf:
     
  5. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    If you were formatting, you were wiping the data out anyway so it makes sense you lost it regardless.
     
    Tintai says thanks.
  6. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    GMT +2
    obviously not native english speeker so as soon as his question is uderstandable there is no reason for gramar harrassment
     
    xvi, trickson, EarthDog and 1 other person say thanks.
  7. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    That is probably what happened. He started the format, then realized he forgot to back something up. He unplugged it to try and get the data off, but the entire file system was already corrupt. I have done this myself.
     
  8. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    382 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    I'm still learning English and sometimes I do mistakes...

    Yea, I lost all data.
    Ok, so thanks for answers.

    @ne6togadno: :toast:

    @TheLaughingMan:
    Yes, I do it. There is no option to fix this?
     
  9. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Actually yes. I used a Bootable CD of Knoppix. There was a program designed to recover data from formatted or partially formatted drives. It works as long as the data has not be over written and you remember the file system format. I used it to move the data I forgot over to an external drive, then continued with my Windows upgrade.
     
  10. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    GMT +2
    there is but not sure if it will work 100%.
    r-studio ntfs 2.0 (unerase program) you will need another disk (other phisical disk) to store data.
    i will try to pm it to you when i go home
     
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,472 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,610
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Install and run Recuva, it will restore anything from a drive that was formatted provided you didnt write anything over the old files allocation area.
     
  12. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    GMT +2
    it isnt possible to send files attached to pms so if you want pm me your mail and i will mail it to you
     
    Tintai says thanks.
  13. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    I didn't understand him (unless he just meant he had a USB drive, in which case it was bad technical terms rather than bad grammar), but yes yes point taken.
     
  14. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    382 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    I tried Recuva but didn't work. I don't see disk in My Computer and storage manager.

    Thanks. I pm you.

    But I think that disk are permanently damaged and there is no chance to restore data.
    And this isn't a priority form me. It's my old disk.
     
  15. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    GMT +2
    attach disk to mobo and see if windows drive manager can find it. if drive manager can see it try quick format but this time dont interrupt it. r-studio can still recover from formated disk because formating just removes file names from file allocation table on the disk. as soon as nothing has been written on the disk file data is still there only file names are missing.
    when you start recover with r-studio it will ask you for filenames. you can either manually add names 1 by 1 or tell him to restore files with numbers (be sure to pick big enough number range) and then to rename them as you like

    ps stop trying to think in polish and then to translate it into english. remember rules for mostly used tenses, prepositions and auxiliary verbs and start thinking in english when you use english. this will improve your both spoken and written english. rest you will need just to learn words.

    @frick
    free your mind and use your imagination ;)
    and no it isnt bad terms. he just missed some auxiliary verbs and adjectives may be some prepositions as well but terms was fine. check it again usb, hdd everything is fine. words between them however...
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2013
    Tintai says thanks.
  16. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    382 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    Ok, I see. I try this. Thank you.

    Nice idea but sometimes it's difficult. I hope that soon my English will be very good ;)
     
  17. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    GMT +2
    yes it is difficult in the begging but more you try easier it will become
     
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,765 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,556
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I can only speak for my x58 system but Using AHCI mode for the SSD allows/requires you to "Safely Remove Hardware" much like a USB, if you do that before unplugging the drive nothing should be lost.............................
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    382 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    Why do you have this in taskbar?
    I have AHCI too and I don't have this. And I don't want. This looks ugly :p

    @ne6togadno:
    Beginnings are always difficult.
     
  20. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    GMT +2
    yes but if you read whole thread you will find that questions arent theoretical at all.
    we found out that unplugging usb hhd while you are formatting it can cause a lot of problems. all of them practical and not even one theoretical. so if you have an idea about magical data recovery tools now is the time to share it with us ;)
    i think r-studio will do the job but man can never know.
     
    Tintai says thanks.
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,765 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,556
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    It's "Hidden", I just un hid it for the example :D
     
    Tintai says thanks.
  22. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I've had HDDs die after losing the power multiple times. It doesn;t happen instantly, but usually adds to the current pending sector count.
     
    Tintai says thanks.
  23. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,176 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Not only the data will be corrupt but the disk may be damaged as well. When Windows is properly shutdown, the HDD head is moved to a safe position which is very near to the default/non working position of the head(near the center). So after plenty of startup and shutdowns, the platter will get scratched. But if the disk is shut off improperly, the head maybe in a random position and when it loses power, the head will return back to the default position that is near the center of the platter. So there is a probability that the USABLE AREA of the platter may get scratched and hence damaged.
    It is because of these properties SMART attributes have the fields like Start/Stop count, Power off retract count etc.
    As for the SSD, nothing will happen.
     
    Tintai says thanks.
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,826 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,088
    you just need to redo or repair the partition table and it will be fine. may need to connect the drive directly to the motherboard.
     
    Tintai says thanks.
  25. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    382 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    I tried this program from ne6togadno but doesn't work.
    I think it is just as itsakjt said.

    Nothing had happened. Old disk and old data.
    Thanks for helping guys :)
     
    itsakjt says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page