1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

"There was a problem with your Steam installation."

Discussion in 'Games' started by Jegergrim, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    I recieve this error when trying to open up steam. It was working perfect untill a few hours ago, and it was fully updated. I tried searching for fixes online, but it seems there are 5 million different fixes, and most of them do not work. Error code from windows:

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: Steam.exe
    Application Version: 1.0.1065.11
    Application Timestamp: 4d9b89de
    Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll
    Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17514
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4ce7ba58
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 00038da9
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1030
    Additional Information 1: 0a9e
    Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    Additional Information 3: 0a9e
    Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

    Has anyone experienced the same problem? I'm feeling the itch, need to kill people in MW3 xD
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    Considering the Steam installer is stable, your system is unstable.

    Please list your system specifications and let us know if you have overclocked anything. It could be many many things.
  3. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    I just ran "SFC /Scannow", and the system file integrity was fine, I have 0 overclocks, and I run Windows 7 64bit Ultimate, 8gb ram, 2500k and radeon 4850.
  4. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Seems like a restart fixes the problem, untill you exit steam again, whereupon the error arises again...
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Have you tried reinstalling steam?

    Backup your installed games, remove steam completely and reinstall it afresh.
    Jegergrim says thanks.
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Exception Code: c0000005 is an access violation. I would do as Black Panther suggests.
    Something is amiss.
    Jegergrim says thanks.
  7. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Reinstalled steam, (cleaned registry prior to), although no difference. When it happens, it needs a PC restart to go away
  8. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Did you delete clientregistry.blob?
    Jegergrim says thanks.
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Maybe try running stream as an administrator when you launch it?
    Jegergrim says thanks.
  10. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yes I did, problem persist...

    Tried, no difference

    I also tried running Memtest for 3 hours (exactly 3 passes), with 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance CL9, just to see if the dll file was being somehow dropped by the ram or so.... No errors found.
  11. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Can you try logging on Steam from another computer?

    That way you can know whether the problem is something on your pc, or whether it's something got to do with your account...
  12. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Both PC's seem to be inflicted with the same problem o_O

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page