1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

theres static when I have my Tritton headset plugged in

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by -1nf1n1ty-, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    There is noticable static when I plug my tritton headset into my Creative X-Fi Xtrememusic sound card, when I plug in my barracudas there is none....anyone have any idea to fix this? is my sound card screwed up? is the headset screwed up? also theres none when I plug my speakers in.
  2. Jacko28 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Do you get it only when your using VoIP? Or is it generally when ever sound comes from them?
  3. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    every sound comes from it playing music loud sounds in games you name it I get it
  4. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    have u tried plugging them into another sound card or another pc to see if the problem is with the headset or the audio card?
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Try blowing the audio hole on your sound card/onboard audio, there might be dust.
  6. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Check the sensitivity on your Mic in the OS to make sure it's not too high.
    Try disconnecting the Mic and see if there's a notable difference.
  7. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    whats the impedance for that mic and the barracudas
  8. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    It may be my sound card cause when I plug this headset to onboard sound it works perfectly just a LOT of bass which is good Imma try blowing air out of it
  9. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,164 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Could just be that your microphone in is setup as a line in which means that it gives feedback to the headphone out.

    If it is white noise then it is most likely a grounding issue or a broken cable insides the headset.
  10. BOG

    BOG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    In windows sound and mic settings, there is a checkbox that says something like block noise from mic, cant remember now the exact term. Anyways, uncheck it.
  11. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    yeah I have the mic box checked and I tried it un checked it didnt make a difference
  12. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Are there no 3D/Surround Technologies enabled on your sound card or Headset via software?
    Reset all things, equaliser, surround, everything to defaults and disable any & all software sound enhancing features you can.
    If that clears it up, you car re-enable them one at a time to isolate the source.
    Did you use them without problem, then this suddenly started, or did it happen from the first time you plugged them in?
  13. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    when I enable x-fi crystalizer you can hear it BIG time when I turn it off
    you cant hear it as much you still can
  14. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    It must be software based then.
    Just do as I said, disable everything, even if it makes it worse for now, the re-enable 1 thing, if it doesn't work, disable it and enable the next thing. It'll help you isolate it.
    Make sure your sound card's drivers & those of the headphones (if any) are current.
  15. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    I will tomorrow and if that doesnt work tritton is offering to RMA my headset
  16. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    UPDATE: well I found out that, static comes out when I have bass or x-fi enabled sound on everything else is fine. Seems like my soundcards bass is dying? probably I think I may need to get another one

    edit: things I did

    took it out blew through holes
    cleaned it
    enabled things one by one

    I am using the sound card atm without the crystallizer on and I gotta tell you guys.....I miss the clarity.. *cry*
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2009
  17. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Ok, so you isolated the problem right?
    Are you talking about missing clarity because "crystallizer" disabled or because of the problem persisting? Just clarifying (excuse the pun), coz it's a bit vague there.
    If you've isolated the problem as being s/ware based, then contact the Creative Support and ask them about whether there's a conflict between your card's s/ware and the Trittons and if so, if they'll fix it.
    If they fix it, no need for RMA!;)
  18. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    yeah I somewhat isolated it I still get static if you listen closely, crystallizer is off dont think I have a warranty for my soundcard anymore
  19. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    bringing up this thread again to ask a quick question..... is onboard sound bad? not compared to a sound card I know its bad vs a sound card but overall is it bad? cause my sound card is basically dead, and I play counter strike where sound is a must
  20. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Onoboard is not terrible, but its nothing compare to any decent sound cards.
    About the X-Fi static issue, its more have to do with creative's crappy drivers.

    If you want to replace the sound card, go get a Asus Xonar.
    At lease that is what I am getting.
  21. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    thats probably true but atm my sound card is dead and Im using onboard
  22. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Do counter strike have EAX or anything like that?
    The only reason to ever get a Creative is for EAX, which no new game I know uses anymore.
  23. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,388 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    wells its up to you the human range in perfect condition is 20 hz to 40khz (i may be wrong) but no one ever hears that much, thats why you always see headphones boasting they can reach them frequencies when they never can, so wat im saying is seeing as everyones hearing is different its up to you. Some people dont mind onboard and whilst it does have its advantages other people can tell the difference and prefer the sound of a dedicated card theres no real right and wrong answer
  24. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    I checked the options and I didnt see anything that said EAX
  25. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The thing about sound quality is not the frequencies it can output, but the sound distortation which is more apparent in onboard audio.

    Then the Xonar is likely the best choice all around.
    There is no point in using Creative.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page