1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thermal compound?? built in PSU??

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by anxietyjnky, Jan 7, 2011.

1. anxietyjnky New Member

Thanks Received:
    I have read that I need it for assembling a computer system, but I cannot find info anywhere that says what it is used for except for "heat transference" whatever that means.

Yes, I am a first time builder and truely a noob.

Can anyone explain to me how its used and on what??
    Or send a link I can follow and read up on it?

I want to do this right the first time and seriously cant afford to fry any components.

I am building a simple computer for email, web browsing, watching movies and other videos and playing my mmorpg on the lowest settings.

So far my build looks like this:

HD- Seagate Barracuda 7200
    Processor- AMD Athlon II X2 250 Regor 3.0GHz
    MB- BIOSTAR A770E3 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    in a
    Antec New Solution VSK2450 Black ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 450W Power Supply

I just read that you should never use a built in PSU, but this isn't a generic one. I thought Antec was a reliable name. Is this a mistake as well?
    :confused:

I know how cheap this sounds, but I am on a shoestring budget, and just need something that runs. But is upgradable as money reappears in a fun funds.

Any help would be very much appreciated.Thanks.
  2. theonedub

theonedub habe fidem

Thanks Received:
    Thermal compound goes between the CPU and the Heatsink/Fan combo you put on top of it to keep it cool.

If your system is only what you listed, the included PSU will be fine. Even with a low power GPU added like a GTS 450 or AMD equivalent the PSU will power the system fine.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. micropage7

micropage7

Thanks Received: