1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thermal Paste - Q6600 Overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by freebie, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Hi everyone,

    I've read round hundreds of different posts now, and i'm at a loss.

    I have a q6600 which im overclocking. I have a Zalman CNPS 9900 NT cooler.

    I've overclocked so far too 2.8ghz, but im gettings temps of 90/95c degrees under load.

    I think this is too hot! (not sure if i'm right) (but i know that its hot)

    I spread thermal paste on my processor but should i have put a line down the middle or a peas sized blob or have I done it right???

    Help?!?!?!
     
  2. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    a line down the middle is what I did when i had a Q6600

    check your heatsink is actually sitting correctly, sounds like it may not be.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011
    freebie says thanks.
  3. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Cheers for your help, i just had a look at your system specs and saw that you have a H70, i'm thinking of upgrading my Zalman to the new Corsair H60 when it comes out, would you reccommend?
     
  4. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Definately upgrade that Zalman, a Corsair Hx0 would be an excellent upgrade.
     
    freebie says thanks.
  5. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    What stepping is it? IIRC, the B3 stepping ran way hotter than the C1 but the C1 also didnt overclock as well as the B3 either. So it was a lose/lose situation.

    Definately wanna make sure the cooler is sitting on there tight and put a line across like is shown in post 2.
     
    freebie says thanks.
  6. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    That is way to hot. Im not comfortable going much above 70c. You should reseat that cooler , applying a line down the center of TIM.
     
    freebie says thanks.
  7. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    sounds like your heatsink isn't mounted well, those temps are completely abnormal
     
    freebie says thanks.
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    If you spread the TIM before putting on the heatsink, then you likely created a lot of air bubbles when you put the cooler on, which is probably a big part of your problem.

    Clean the old TIM off and just put a half pea sized dot in the middle of the CPU, then apply the heatsink on, the pressure from mounting the heatsink will spread the TIM for you without air bubbles.
     
    freebie says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    Agreed. You do not get temps that hot due to an application of thermal grease. Your cooler isn't mounted properly.
     
    freebie says thanks.
  10. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    +1 to Erocker and ctrain! I'd reseat that cooler first before inspecting the TIM! 90degrees celsius is way up already! Almost near TDP!:eek:
     
    freebie says thanks.
  11. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,246 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,424
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Preferably take the motherboard out of the case (assuming there is no inspection hole behind the right side panel), and check whether you not only see white pins coming through the mounting holes but also some black pin (in between the "legs" of the white pins).
     
    freebie says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    It's screws that come through the back plate?!?!?! :confused::confused::confused:

    Cheers for all your help guys! Have checked cooler is on tight and seems to be, tightened it as much as i could and now im about 5 degrees cooler on 2.8ghz (311 x 9.0) 1.300v.

    Going to see if its any more stable, and then get the h60 when it comes out, that way at least my cooler is future proof, thanks everyone.
     
  13. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,417 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    That Zalman is a grand cooler, I use them.
    I have cnps9900led on my qx9650 and a cnps9900max on my i7-950.
    But, IMO, if you are going to OC then, I would move away from air and go liquid, like others have mentioned.

    I don't see, or I overlooked, what type TIM you are using. Some thermal pastes have a set-up period, so your temps may improve over time.
    Also, take into consideration your ambient temps.
    Make sure you have good air flow in that case and the zalman is exhausting toward a fan that is exhausting out of the case.
    :)
     
    freebie says thanks.
  14. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,246 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,424
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Well, I assumed that your cooler uses the standard LGA775 mounting system with those push pins.
     
    freebie says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Oh I understand what you meant now. Sorry!!
     
  16. Brilford Wimley

    Brilford Wimley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Have you checked to see if your cpu or heatsink needs to be lapped?

    Occasionally there is a manufacturing defect on one or the other causing
    a gap (air space) between the two.

    Here's a short vid. There are lots of them.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_XIYHT03Ie4
     
    freebie says thanks.
  17. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,315 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    G0 is the cooler stepping not C1

    What voltage are you putting through it?

    I use a small centralized blob on mine and it works wonders, never exceeds 55C during anything but linpack
     
    freebie says thanks.
  18. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    a few micro specs of air bubbles wont make such a drastic change in temps. Try adding a filler paper at your back plate to raise it a bit, and compress your heatsink more.
     
    freebie says thanks.
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,315 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    he may be putting too much paste, then not tightening

    but this sounds like he is pumping WAY too much voltage through that poor processor
     
    freebie says thanks.
  20. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    I've got 1.3000v going through it. these are temps without running any stress tests or using pc, switch it on and then let everything load then screenshot.


    [​IMG]

    i've checked my cooler is on tight, i'm going to reseat it when i get chance.
     
  21. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    stupid question - Whats filler paper?
     
  22. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    its like a spacer to add mounting preassure. really anything will work pennies quarters cardboard. something to wedge it more so it makes better contact
     
    freebie says thanks.
  23. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    you didn't do something silly like forget to remove the film before putting the heatsink on did you?
     
    freebie says thanks.
  24. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,417 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Run prime95, realtemp and cpuz.
    Take screen shots and post.

    Plus, after everything loads, does your cpu load ever go lower than the 43% to 55% in that screen shot in post #20?:confused:
    'Cause it looks like your system ain't idle, it is doing something.:ohwell:
     
    freebie says thanks.
  25. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Lol, definitely removed the film!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page