1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thermal paste

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by prescient, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    195 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    hi i want to test my cpu at 4Ghz but am afraid of damaging my thermal paste on the
    stock fan . dose thermal paste gets worn off because of heat ? even if it was a test ?
  2. dchrsf

    dchrsf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    80 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Palm Harbor, FL
    It wont get worn off, it will conduct heat all the way up to the melting point, which I'm sure for a material ment to transfer heat, is VERY high!.

    I wouldn't worry abut it melting off!

    Now a stock HSF + the 4ghz is where u need to rethink things ( of coarse depending on the temps your getting)
    prescient says thanks.
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    i think CPU will shut off before it starts to even slightly damage the thermal paste
    prescient says thanks.
  4. BondExtreme

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    588 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Baha. An E8500 at 4 with stock? No no no no..
    prescient says thanks.
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    come on. let em dream. no pun intended
  6. BondExtreme

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    588 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    And that dream may turn into a nightmare :laugh:
  7. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    PLEASE buy a cheaper cooler at least, a Hyper 212+ + extra fan and some OCZ Freeze or MX-2
    prescient says thanks.
  8. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    Even a test run at 4Ghz would not damage the thermal paste, like DDD said the cpu will shut down before damage occurs.

    You should know that the stock cooler comes with the worst thermal paste manufactured. I would strongly suggest ordering some MX-2 and an inexpensive heatsink(like the CM 212+~$25).

    Also make sure your case's airflow is decent, add an additional fan if you need.
    prescient says thanks.
  9. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    195 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yes i know what you all mean i only want to test the settings without doing cpu burn tests
    i did some testing with real temp load test and hit 95c but did not passed that temp like some
    here expected .

    thanks but btw dont be so sure about your negative opinions about the stock cooler look what
    i am doing with with my 3.8 oc


    [​IMG]

    but apparently 4 ghz is different story but this guy did it somehow


    http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/intel_e8500/16.htm
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    When I try to check the pic I get an "image not found" error. That 95c is getting dangerously close to TJmax. I'm not surprised that you can boot into windows and run some simple tests with the stock cooler. Thing is, you will not be able to test for anything close to real stability unless you get a decent cooler. Then it should be a breeze since an e8500 does 4.0 easily.
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
    prescient says thanks.
  11. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    It's all about how much voltage you push through your chip for the overclock. I knew alot of 775 chips could do an easy mild overclock(3.8GHz in your case) but to reach even 200Mhz more required significant voltage increases which simply are not worthwhile.

    Your running a 45nm dual core rated at 65W TDP, think about an i7 900 series running quad cores at 125W TDP. Dont be pretensious and say "Stock is good, here's one example."
    prescient says thanks.
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,410 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,975
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    [​IMG]
    prescient says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    195 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i have matrix cooler titanium

    [​IMG]

    there it is but with blue cover is it any good?

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    thats about as good as a stock aluminium cooler, yeah. :D
    But these Guys tell you, you need a cooler like this:
    [​IMG]
    in order for the 4 Ghz to be stable on your processor ;)
  15. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    195 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i see , i just recall that this matrix fan is twice rpm as my stock fan
  16. SpeedsticK

    SpeedsticK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    112 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
    Well, Titanium isn't that special, my fathers a machinist, and he works with it a lot, he says the one thing special about it is that its pretty much strong as steel, but lighter, like aluminum.

    And titanium doesn't transfer heat as well as other metals like copper or aluminum.

    I'd say get the ZALMAN CNPS9500 (may be a bit more expensive) or the CM Hyper 212+

    And get some new thermal paste, stock thermal paste isn't too good, (my last stock thermal paste on a Dual Core turned into what felt like cement/glue and ruined the processor)

    Get Antec Silver 5 or Arctic Cooling MX-2, both are very good.
  17. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    both are from arctic cooling, MX2 and AS5 ;)
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    IMO AS5 sucks... sucks big sweaty balls

    MX-2 or MX-3 or OCZ Freeze
  19. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    195 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    the hardware shop is more than 50 miles away from my home out side the city . i dont have a car and he wont come here just to install an aftermarket cooler . lets say i need to carry my sumo case 18+ kilos get a cab . pay the cab more than 50$ . i dont even know if they have a decent cooler. so you see i am quite stuck with the stock cooler . is the matrix better ?
  20. SpeedsticK

    SpeedsticK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    112 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
    Woops meant Antec Silver Formula 5
  21. SpeedsticK

    SpeedsticK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    112 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
    Order it online, and just wait to do it,
    Its better to wait than risk rushing it and breaking something.
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,646 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    No they aren't. Arctic Silver 5 is made by Arctic Silver Inc. and MX-2 is made by Arctic Cooling Incorporated. Two difference companies.

    And as for the stock Intel paste, it is actually very good. It is actually Shin-Etsu, IIRC.

    You don't need some expensive thermal paste, people over-estimate how much of a difference it makes. You can buy a gigantic $8 tube of Arctic Alumina, and it performs within 1° of MX2.

    No, the Matix cooler is worse, don't waste your time.

    If you can do 4GHz and keep Prime95/OCCT/Linpack load temps under 80°C, then do it. However, if you can't keep load temps below that then just settle for a lower clock speed until you get a better cooler. There isn't a whole lot of good testing a 4GHz config if you can't stress test it for stability anyway.
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    hey, youre right! my error, thanks for adding knowledge to my repository, and correcting me.
    i never knew they were actually 2 different companies :)
  24. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    195 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i dont have a credit card plus were i live there is no online market .
    its ok 3.8 will do
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,646 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    After reading the thread a little more, it sounds like you are leaving the voltage to auto, is that correct? I only say that because you are running at decent temps at 3.8GHz in your screen shot, and then you say it jumps up to 90°C at 4.0GHz, that sounds like the motherboard is giving the processor way too much voltage. Like I said, you might be able to get 4.0GHz on the stock cooler with acceptable temps, you just are going to have to adjust the voltage manually.

    And the guy a Overclockersclub in the review that you linked to was not using the stock cooler, he didn't even recieve a stock cooler with the chip, so he had to be using something aftermarket even though he never mentions it.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page