1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thermal paste

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by prescient, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. SpeedsticK

    SpeedsticK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    112 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
    Will this be good, because that would save me a ton of money lol. I just don't want it turning into a 'glue' and never coming off of my processor.

    Also the Shin Etsu is very good, i didn't know Intel used it as a stock thermal paste for their dual cores back in 2005, Corsair uses Shin Etsu thermal paste on their Corsair H50, and it's pretty good.
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
    prescient says thanks.
  2. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    i changed the voltage manually to 1.3 at 4Ghz while its 1.175 at 3.8

    http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/intel_e8500/16.htm

    quote :

    All of the tests were on a stock Intel heatsink and never got above 70 degrees Celsius
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I think at the very least, he had a really cool running chip and he switch out the thermal paste.
    prescient says thanks.
  4. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    well at least your right . it wasnt the case with me at all i went to 95c
  5. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    i cleaned up the stock heat sink and there was loads of dust in it , i moved to vcore 1.3
    tested with 15 min full load with real temp load test and everything is fine here : 76c max

    [​IMG]

    http://img01.imagecanon.com/img.php?view=9f71832e899ec97fd2da06a687ce10e0

    with normal benchmark 3dmark11 max temp 67c

    [​IMG]


    http://img01.imagecanon.com/img.php?view=ab2b113be8cf96979314d603ce3cbf83

    so you underestimated that stock heat-sink ?
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,825 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,933
    Yes, I've switched to using Artic Alumina entirely now that I've run out of MX2. It is really good paste, and doesn't turn to cement after a few months of use.

    Ah, sorry, I missed that. None the less, he just said he was using a stock Intel heatsink, not the stock Intel heatsink.

    Thre is a big difference between the older style stock Intel heatsinks with the copper core and taller design and the shitty low profile all aluminum things they include with the processors today. I would say it is possible to hit 4GHz+ with a 45nm Core 2 Duo using a stock heatsink from a Pentium D. Because the stock heatsink from the Pentium D was a beast.:laugh:

    Lets see some OCCT Linpack tests and then we'll see how temps are. But that looks good.
    prescient says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    STOOOPPPP Don't do it!!! You Stock CPU Cooler won't be enough...... Try looking at something like the Cooler Master Hyper 212+ at very least. That is a CPU cooler on the cheaper end but it is one of the best ones.
    If you want better and a little more expensive a Zerotherm ZT-10D would do the trick too. Also of course you got your normals of Prolimatech Megahalems or Thermalright True 120's.
    As far as the thermal paster don't worry about. It can handle temps way higher then you CPU can put out!!!
    If you are looking for a good Thermal paste I would look for maybe The Artic cooling MX2/MX3 maybe the Gelid GC-Extreme (What I use found it to work best for me) or just good old Artic silver 5 (which is not as good... but it was one time the best)

    Maybe also do a little more research on overclocking too. :) Just for safety sake it sounds like your possible first time.
    prescient says thanks.
  8. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    i dont want to use cpu burn s/w . i think benchmarks and real temp are enough at this time .
    if i had crashes i will come back here and ask for help . ok ?
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,307 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    temps are alright, as long as it wont hit 80c over like 3-6 hours you will be fine ;)
    prescient says thanks.
  10. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    after 40 on real temp ut wont pass 76c so its not gonna go higher .
    but if i crash because of other settings u will ask here . i dont think it will be
    vcore issue right ? maybe ram voltage or something ,
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,825 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,933
    I wouldn't bank on that. It isn't a good idea to not load the CPU to the max and make sure the heatsink can handle the load. If you are going to be running these settings 24/7 then you want to make sure the heatsink can handle it. Otherwise the CPU could overheat.
    prescient says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    but in that screen i opened 4 load tester screens and ran it for 15 min like you see and
    the load was 100% so ? ill make another real temp 1 hour test . but not burn tests
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    FYI tjmax for e8400 is 95c, not 100c. :)
    prescient says thanks.
  14. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    but i have 8500 and my tjmax is 100c i dont get ure point
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    e8500 is 95c as well. My point is, you need to change it in RealTemp or just add 5c to your current temperatures.

    As a past e8400, e8500 and e8600 owner I would not recommend using the cooler you are using for the clocks you are trying to achieve. You are just degrading your CPU.
    prescient says thanks.
  16. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    used to be 95C and they put it to 100C after
    prescient says thanks.
  17. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    so i went to 97 c yesterday , that means i passed tjmax??? what then? the thermal might be waned off? , what about max temp in bios ?
    should that work also?

    am under 75c with stock fan i know its not recommended but its working so...
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,825 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,933
    Yes, but my point is that you need a burn test to make sure 1.) that your overclock is actually stable and 2.) that your heatsink can actually handle the heat in a high stress situation.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    ...you may be slowly damaging your CPU. Maybe. It's your hardware, have fun with it and do as you please. ;)
  20. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    ok its an old boot anyway , am getting a new upgrade next summer .

    all i want is to be stable at my current settings ,if i crashed and it wasnt a heat issue i would
    appreciate further help from you guys ,thanks
  21. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    btw isnt real temp made by this web ? why dont u guys update the tjmax to 95c ??
    so that your software would not damage any hardware , right ?
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    One individual makes RealTemp. There is a RealTemp section where this question would be more appropriate. Besides, you have the option to change it yourself. Also, wrong. The software doesn't damage the hardware, the end-user does.
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    ;)
  24. prescient

    prescient

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    273 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    star citizen
    yes i will post there , but what if the user truted the tjmax of the s/w ? and didnt ask at
    the forum? i did that and am not such a newbie .
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    I may have been wrong and it's a 5c difference. Doesn't matter. I would be more concerned about using a stock-ish cooler at the frequencies you are running. Either way it's your hardware, I don't care.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page