1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thermaltake 7" Addon LCD

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Sep 8, 2006.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,948
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2006
  2. shoman24v

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    216 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Pretty sweet, but completely unnecessary!
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,948
    depends .. i would say it qualifies as case modding and all case modding is "useless". yet there are still people that create amazing stuff
     
  4. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Could also be used for a server, a big monitor takes up too much space so some servers don't have one. Though such a screen could be handy when the server doesn't respond to commands via the network.
     
  5. DBH New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    97 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Forget that provided it can be modded this is excellent use for a mini PC. Especially contractors who are always on the move you could put together a small yet powerful box and plonk one of these things in it and there will be no need to lug a monitor about because 7" is sufficient for standard tasks.
     
  6. shoman24v

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    216 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    That is true. But I'm thinking more along the lines of an average conumer!

    :p
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    lol thats pretty cool for almost compltly useless :D you know they sell products esp. for lnetwork pc they look like a laptop (the mousepad and lcd) and a whole shitload of buttons for switching computers
     
  8. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    if i had extra extra cash i'd get it, but it is pretty much a waste
     
  9. -Thrilla- New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    62 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    N.Vancouver, BC, Canada
    How much does it cost and where do I get one.
     
  10. bcurko New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i wanna get one im in here in SYDNEY NSW AUSTRALIA does anyone know where i can get one PLZ tell me i dont have to mod my tt armour black cause i SUCK at modding
     
  11. The Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mansfield, TX
    Where can I buy one of these in the states right now?!!
     
  12. beachbum86

    beachbum86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oh no, last time i listed this a dude showed up at
    Registered just to say great review man ;)
     
  13. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    what.....an amazingly useless accessory. i'll admit though due to its design it would look very cool on my pc :p
     
  14. beachbum86

    beachbum86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oh no, last time i listed this a dude showed up at
    Not useless at all, dont even to bring a monitor with you to a lan to watch pRon on your rig :p
     
  15. Zero2Fear New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey since im gonna buy this thing. How is the resolution adjusted?

    Does it run on the Reso u send by ur vid card? Cause mine sends out a 1280x1024 to my Big LCD screen. How is that regarding the 7" Tt one? Is that adjusted inside the little screen or adjusted by your own reso?

    Thanks in advance, Zero2Fear
     
  16. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    guys this thing is standard single din car stereo dash size... buy a car stereo lcd scrin itl mod into any case just the same. just find one with inputs and features u need in yur price range. some lower end models can be had for like 69.99. AND car stereo stuff is 12 volt just like pc's.
     
  17. Zero2Fear New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    True, this probably is just the same as a car screen, works the same thing, only i dont wanna mod things up to be precise for this, i want it to work 100%. So that why im getting something like this.

    //EDIT:

    And yet another question, what does the LCD screen shows u? The same as on your normal screen or something else? and how is that adjustable?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2007
  18. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    it wont take any more modding to make a car screen work then this.... i would be williing top bet money on it... the bracket they use for this with the bend in tabs is exactly the same as whats used for car stereos. they only thing u would hafta mod would be the power wire harness... and barely even it i bet.
     
  19. Zero2Fear New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I wont take the chance of doing that, i allways break stuff when i do this :p
     
  20. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    i should start buying flip up car screens, building a harnes and trim plate for them then sale them to PC guys....
     
  21. Zero2Fear New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, seriously dude, im not asking this. I appreciate your help with this, but its not getting me any further. Thanks for your reply but.. :)

    The things i want to know:

    - How is the resolution adjusted?

    Does it run on the Reso u send by ur vid card? Cause mine sends out a 1280x1024 to my Big LCD screen. How is that regarding the 7" Tt one? Is that adjusted inside the little screen or adjusted by your own reso?


    - nd yet another question, what does the LCD screen shows u? The same as on your normal screen or something else? and how is that adjustable? Example can i play a game on my big screen and show a movie on my small one?
     
  22. ATIonion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    i would like to see a car stereo motorized lcd screen for $69.....can you post a link to that....

    kenwood has a motorized touchscreen lcd, but it won't interface with your pc, nor will the built in dvd player...so ya, you can get a motorized lcd made for a car (avg $$ is around $600-$1000) but it won't interface at all with your pc...

    this thing is kinda cool....not sure if i could make good use of it, but for less then $300 it could work well in a micro-atx system....or what i am thinken is putting it in my bathroom wall (just a couple of feet in front of the stool) then run it to my HTPC...that would rock...i could post at TPU whilst doing my business:laugh:


    EDIT::can't be for sure, but it looks as if it just plugs into your video card...and you set its res. through your card...
     
  23. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    they run with an s-video input or vga input and basically all video cards today can handle dual displays so you can show it in mirror mode where it shows the same thing on both screens or expanded where it acts like a seperate monitor so yes it would do a game on big monitor and movie on the little one. as long as yur computer can handle pushing that much stuff out... the worst thing is u will hafta run a video cable from the video card back into the case. but u hafta do that with the one in this review too...

    EDIT:

    the touchscreen on it wont work as a mouse no. but it will hook up to a computers video output and display it on the thing... also u r looking in the wrong category of car stuff. u just want a display, not one that has dvd player and audio stuff built into it. they r DIRT CHEEP. i will post one when i get home and aint behind a schools proxy that blox ebay and reseller sites.
     
  24. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    one more thing... look for chinese knock offs of name brand stuff... they r usually more hacker friendly anyways...
     
  25. Zero2Fear New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My vid card has 2 DVI's at the back side, one is going to my big screen and the 2nd one is free. Im probably gonna use that one for the small screen. But how can i find out that it can do that? Or maybe u know it?

    My computer can do such things. Im running on a 3500+ Single core atm and it can do that, im gonna get a E6600 so it probably still can do that :p.

    Hmmz, as told above here it looks like u CAN use the touchscreen as a mouse:S

    Im not looking for just a car screen with a DVD player in it. Im looking for detailled information about this LCD screen ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page