1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Jul 26, 2007.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2007
    hat says thanks.
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Great Review as Always W1zzard.

    Couple of things to like, the bundle of cables provided, ample amps and voltage, great efficacy, modular, finish and look, components inside, large cooling fan.

    dislikes, noise and no throttle control

    I must say I am impressed with Thermaltake through this round. However, the price is well within range of similar offers from PC Power & Cooling and Enermax.
     
  3. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Nice review but it would be cool if this could work with 85%+ efficiency...
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    it says up to 87% so Im assuming its 75 tp 87% effective.
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    a psu efficiency is not the same over all the load .. so manufacturers test at the best possible conditions to get their efficiency rating.

    we always test with the same setup which makes our numbers independent from other ones, but they are of course still comparable within all our units tested
     
  6. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Memory voltages are generated from 3.3v, memory is an important device w1zz. I'm not sure if ddr2 volts are still 3.3v generated but a high fluctuation on my 3.3 leads to instability on my ram.

    I think it is time to get a new system for testing power supplies, something similar to [H]ardocp's setup. Testing every aspect of the psu, under heat and high load, will really give a good review. I know this kind of setup isn't cheap, but you can't say they don't put out a good review.
     
  7. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    General Question regarding Modular PSU:
    Why is the ATX power cable never modular? i.e. you cant unplug it, replace it, etc.
     
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    our current setup is like 5k$ already. the problem with those automated tester reviews are that they have a different load profile than a typical pc. sure you can test up to a gazillion watts. and that helps how? show me a pc that even consumes 500w.

    programmable dc loads for +3.3v, +5v and +12v should cost around $1.5k. not really willing to spend that amount of money for a little improvement
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2007
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    because there are small losses at each connector. since you will never run a psu without atx power or +12v power the cables is fixed on most units now. it also helps you save a few cents for the plug.
     
    ex_reven says thanks.
  10. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    True.
    It makes for a pain in the ass when you need a couple of cm more cable reach though :ohwell:

    Thanks.
     
  11. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    who in god's name needs 1.2kw worth of dc voltage!!!!! haaaahaaaa. Are people crazy, that system you used w1zz with the XTX crossfired cards only used about 460watts...

    I think this whole psu craze is getting a little out of hand...

    That is a tough looking powersupply but I am sure it is just 2 600watt psu's in the one box. Even the sticker on the side has the 4 12v rails seperated into 2 pairs...

    Can you actually build a pc that will ever need that much power, it would cost a fortune to run.. It would be up there with a bloody airconditioner.. :eek:
     
  12. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    I understand the load isn't what a pc would put on a psu but how would you know if your psu can even hold up to its rated output etc. I didn't realize your current setup is around $5K :eek:
     
  13. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,713 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,529
    wow that thing is nuts. when are we going to need this type of power?
     
  14. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    When they come out with HD 4900xt that uses 2x the power of a HD 2900 xt and we run them in crossfire (3 card xfire) with our 8 cores@4 ghz using phase change cooling. Then you have 3 separate water cooling loops for the 4900's and another loop for nb, ram, and w/e else you feel like cooling. Maybe, just maybe you'll be able to max it.
     
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    i think at the moment we are at a point where you can't increase power draw and heat output anymore.. the current trend seems to be increase processing power while keeping or reducing power draw. just like intel c2d or 8800 gtx
     
  16. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,344 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    What's with all the recent reviews ending in 9.1? Sheesh.

    And does this mean this module falls into the tier 2 category with those other bunk PSUs on that compare list?

    Not one Silverstone on there, guess it isn't tier 1.

    I also don't see the part where you prove that the 'combined' 12v actually work. Seems like another gimmick.
     
  17. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,713 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,529
    yea that is what i thought which runs contrary to all this megawatt psu trend. if processors anre getting faster and less power hungry why do we need a 1200 watter?
     
  18. Micma99 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Flimsy fan

    I have one of those after 28 months of near 24/7 on the fan started to rub against the cage rib. TT gladly rma'd it, but sending that heavy weight PSU costs over 40$ postage. In exchange though they sent me a brand new unit in return.

    I also have a pure power 550w with the same fan problem but it was past warranty.

    Why put cheap fans in these expensive PSU's?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page