1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Think I fried my 2500K :'(

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by NdMk2o1o, Oct 8, 2011.

  1. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    googling the board...brb
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,627 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    TBH I dont overclock ram at all, leave it stock, CPU and vid card are what i focus on.
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    looks like CPU VTT from the bios images i could find. Should be at like 1.08V stock. Only reason i bring it up is because you weren't using the XMP profile where that addition is a hidden feature if you don't closely look at all the voltages;)
     
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Well, I am currently speaking to Intel live chat and arranging an RMA for the proc.
     
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,029 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    how did you manage to get them to take it back?
     
  6. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    just told um it stopped working, he asked how did I know it was the proc and told him I took it to pc world, only a noob would go to pc world so he gave me a service number :toast:
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,029 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    nice :laugh:
     
  8. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Good to hear, new processor with no issues sounds good
     
  9. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    LuLzzz...:roll:
    Ive had to do that...Seriously, when all else fails act as oblivious to the situation as possible...
     
  10. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Playing dumb is usually a good solution. When you know they won't get you what you need/deserve sometimes you just have to pretend to be a dumb consumer.
     
  11. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Think it's degrading faster now, have had to reduce the multi, lower ram to 1066 and up the volts as Youtube is making it BSOD :cry::banghead:
     
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,029 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    can i get my guitar out and start playing 'hail to the chef' yet?
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
  13. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Thank god I have my lappy to fall back on, its not that great but if I plug my monitor mouse and KB into it, it will do for 2 weeks while I sort something out, man I hate when shit goes wrong with my PC :mad:
     
  14. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,779 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Good luck on the new CPU.
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,627 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    Lesson learned huh dude? Lets hope the ram, motherboard, or powersupply are not screwed up aswell
     
  16. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I bought a new board :rolleyes: turns out it wasn't the board, RAM passes memtest and GPU is ok.

    Also got my RMA approved from intel this morning :toast:
     
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,627 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    cool then
     
  18. RJARRRPCGP

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, Vermont
    Yep, unstable chip!

    I heard that the CPU pins are something to suspect with socket 1156 and socket 1155. :mad:

    You may have a fried contact.
     
  19. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    NVM

    OT CPU was delievered today, just need to get home and pop it in :rockout:

    Omg missed my main PC thank god it was a very quick turnaround time, honestly I would recommend sending a CPU back to Intel over the reseller as turnaround from me sending to receiving was one week and that's taking the weekend into consideration also :rockout:
    Have waited nigh on 1.5-2 weeks waiting on an RMA from the likes of ebuyer as they will not send out replacement without testing and from them receiving the defective product to getting round to testing can take 4-5 days alone by experience :pimp:
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,029 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    damn them moderators and their infernal moderatin's! Im sick of these motherf*ckin mods on a motherf**kin plane!!!!

    /truestory

    shall i prepare some eggs and get the bacon ready incase you fry this one sir?
     
    NdMk2o1o and MT Alex say thanks.
  21. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Haha you ass!!

    No frying of this one, am scared to even OC, popped it in, set to stock like I did with the last one and it wouldnt boot and it's booted fine, ran IBT on full mem with no issues. Am going to ease it up to 4ghz+ in windows with gigabyte's new touch bios and see how I go :toast:
     
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    No posts have been deleted. If they were (even if a user deleted their own post), they would show up for me and they aren't.
     
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,029 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    Id say just aim for 4.6 or 4.7Ghz and call it a day.

    you dont need that kinda speed anyway.
     
  24. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Yea, I will edit that post, half of them weren't showing at work, though they are all back now :confused:

    Meh, there the goes the idea of using the Windows touch bios I CBA updating bios and downloading it and faffing in Windows, changed ram to xmp1 (1600 7.8.7) in bios, multi to 42 (to be safe ;) ) and vcore to 1.28 and disabled thermal throttling, left everything else at stock/auto and she booted first time and passed a run of IBT not going higher than 55c on the hottest core :toast:

    Might leave it at this for a while before I find my 24/7
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,029 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    I find IBT isnt great for finding instability. I can put my rig through 50runs of IBT and it wouldnt find a thing.... 2hrs with Prime95 and one core fails.

    I had to re-tweak my OC a bit after that but its all solid now. more then 12hrs stable with prime
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page