1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Think twice about removing IHS on an X2 6000+

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Wile E, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Don't tempt the man!! If he actually tries it and messes up he won't have any more CPUs!!
     
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    But if he successfully then well....
     
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,228 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,706
    what if someone removed an IHS and then decided he wanted to put it back on,what would you use?
     
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I would use black silicon.
     
  5. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Some of that Arctic Silver adhesive maybe?
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I'd just use Super glue to put the IHS back on. Don't forget the TIM on top of the core.
     
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    LOL I don't blame you.

    I don't know if I would try it, unless I have a better one in the mail.

    You should add mine TEC in your sig Wile LOL "Remember when TEC cooling goes bad #2" Where do you think #1 was at....hahaha
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Sig edited. lol
     
  10. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Get another 3800 and try it :p I know I would lol.
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Tell you what, send me an AM2 X2 3800+ or better, and I'll give it a go. :laugh:
     
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Pay half for shipping and you've got a deal :p
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    So uh, how much does it cost to ship a cpu to the states? lol
     
  14. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Probably a lot lol.
     
  15. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    after seeing this I'm definitely not touching my x2, don't want it turning out like that.
     
  16. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Yours is a 939, not am2. Its only the high end am2 chips that are soldered.
     
  17. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    i might be temped after all then, cooler wouldn't need modded, but need to find out how to vmod this board first or theres not much point.
     
  18. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Man... You're a Master of Disaster... :laugh:
     
  19. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Youknow.. most clever people would learn from castrating one CPU :p
     
  20. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I wonder if they did this to the black 5000 Hmmmmm
     
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Why not? I already popped the top on my X2 3800+. :roll:

    Just don't try to pry it, if the ihs doesn't come off nice and easy. The 3800 was easy, once I ran the razor blade all the way around, and was sure I cut the seal all the way thru, the IHS just fell off.
     
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    This is a very good thread on seeing what ones you can, and which ones you shouldnt remove.

    http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/t178897.html



    I took a IHS off of my old 3600 before, and it just took a while because I didn't want a dead chip LOL.
     
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Where's the list of ones that you shouldn't try to remove?
     
  25. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    you have to thru that thread. There is some dead ones in there like yours.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page