1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thinking About Future Upgrades...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Azn Tr14dZ, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Well, I want to upgrade my computer, but I thought that I'm just going to wait until Windows Vista is becoming more and more required for games, as well as DirectX 10. So I was wondering, if I upgrade my computer around next summer, will I be able to get a Mid-Range System for around $700?

    The parts that I need to upgrade are:
    • Motherboard
    • Processor
    • Memory/RAM
    • Video Card
    • PSU

    I'm keeping the same cooling (assuming my Big Typhoon will still be a decent cooler), same HDD (2x80GB), same DVD Burner, same Case.

    Could a $700 Budget get Mid-Range parts? Including Vista?

    Let's say, $100-$150 for a Motherboard, $150-$200 for a Processor, $100 for 2GB RAM, $200 for Mid-Range GPU, $50-$75 for PSU to handle all, and $111 for Windows Vista. That would be about $711-$836 Total. Would I be able to get a Mid-Range System for all of that?

    I would love to here ideas/inputs of fellow TPU! Members.

    Thanks, -Azn
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2007
  2. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Should be a relativly high end PC for $700-$800.

    Although $111 seems a bit much for vista, but I've not looked at pricing. Educational license for $15 ftw.
     
    Azn Tr14dZ says thanks.
  3. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    yeah, you'll probably have enough money for a good build by then.
     
    Azn Tr14dZ says thanks.
  4. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  5. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    $700-$800 should get a Mid-High end PC today.. next year I would sure hope its the same.. :laugh:
     
  6. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    go $270 for a q6600 quad core cpu

    double your ram to 4gb $200 (2gb is bare minimum necessary to run vista)
     
    Azn Tr14dZ says thanks.
  7. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    If I have the money I'll think about it. Let's say by the time I get the computer, I only have enough money for one or the other, which is better to get, Q6600, or 4GB?
     
  8. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i say the 4gb is required more than a quad core but the reason i say go quad is they are just barely higher than a dual core price.

    my opinion is if you cant do both then go with cheaper gpu so you can do both and then you can upgrade the gpu later on.

    if your psu is 500watts you can keep your old psu for the new build as well and save $.
     
  9. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I was thinking that too, if the new system won't take as much power, I was hoping my 500 Watt PSU would work.

    I would have more money but I need shoes;)
     
  10. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Shoes are only $60-$70 man! :eek:
     
  11. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  12. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    wow.

    I have tennis shoes.

    Dress shoes.


    and I'm set for a few years.


    These 2 pairs match everything I wear, too. :roll:
     
  13. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Back to the computer...what if I stuck to AMD 939? Bad idea...? Saves money...
     
  14. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Won't have new CPU's or memory, as next year you'll probably be drooling over DDR3 mobos :laugh:
     
  15. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    very rarely do computers need over 400watts because its the amps that matter not watts.
    i always like to have more than i need so for me 500watts is the standard psu to use.

    the amps don't get any higher for the most part when you get to 500watts and over so a 1000watt psu gives you the same 18amp power that the 500 will but you spent a whole lot more $ for it and all you really get out of it is a ton more heat from it lol. the difference is a 400-500watt may last you for 5yrs where the 300watt only lasts 4yrs because the 300watt works a little harder to put out the amps, once you get over 400watts this no longer changes because 400watt and over transformers (this is all a psu really is) all put out the amps with very little effort so this really isnt anything to think about when buying one.

    there are some psu that put out more amps than the average psu but this is not governed by the watts they are rated at so look at the amp outputs to guide you if more power is required.
     
  16. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    So, better to move on? Btw, Intel will still be using LGA 775 right?
     
  17. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Who knows. :shadedshu
     
  18. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    The 45nm's are going to be LGA 775

    Is that what you wanted to know ?
     
    Azn Tr14dZ says thanks.
  19. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    So if I can, should I just hold on to my 500 Watt PSU?
     
  20. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I just wanted to know if newer Processors from Intel are going to be LGA 775, so I could still use the same cooler (Big Typhoon) when I upgrade.
     
  21. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Well the peny or what ever there called that are 45nm are going to be LGA 775 which the P35 etc. already support them


    but idk whats going to be out by next summer lol
     
  22. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Neither do I...but I just hope $700-$800 can buy a Mid-High Range System...would have more money, but again, I need shoes!
     
  23. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    idk about those shoes there ugly imo for that much :slap: why not go to footlocker, finishline or get some cheaper ones like -$150 thats the most I spent no way i'll spend 225 :eek: I can get 2 pair for that much

    But the cpus that are going to come out are 775 but I bet for the newer ones your going to need a new mobo like it is now
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2007
  24. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    yes

    and if you had to you could reuse your old gpu till you saved up more $ and get a new gpu next xmas
     
  25. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page