1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thinking about getting rid of my vraps

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Fitseries3, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    so im thinking about getting rid of my 300gb velociraptors and getting 2, 3, or 4 cheaper drives to free up some money for other stuff.

    what should i get?

    i have 2 300gb vraps in raid 0

    i'd like to get similar performance at half the price or less.
     
  2. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    what about Samsung F1s? IIRC the 750/1000gb models are 16mb cache and these are solid performers - I have two myself as they're at quite a competitive price point at least UKside
     
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i dont need the size... just the speed. i dont use more than 30gb's max.

    the cost has to be $180 or less for the new drives
     
  4. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    How about an SSD?
     
  5. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I don't suggest SSD, unless you do RAID 0.

    SSD write speed is suck.
     
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    read you guys please... 2,3,or 4 drives signifies a raid.
     
  7. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Maybe a couple/three 500Gb platter drives? They'd give you some sick read/write speeds, but obviously the access times aren't gonna beat the V'raptors.
     
  8. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    well you can get smaller veloci 74gb like i did, they cost me 140 each. Or you can get 15.5K Cheetahs, your board has 2 SAS ports i believe, those will beat your current drives. Ebay is a great place to get them, last time i looked they had some good deals.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
  10. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i always heard they were good but never tried them myself so idk ifthey really are
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    if anything i'd get 3 wd3200aaks's

    like i said.. i dont need the space at all.

    SAS is a possibility but find me a small pair that doesnt cost 3arms and 5legs.
     
  13. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple

    i heard that too so i bought 2 320gb for RAID 0 for a build i was doing and then ran benchies and the 7200.10 w/ 3.AAC firmware came out on top. Velociraptors obviously crushed them as well. May be they will be better when a new firmware revision comes out.
     
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    thats why i said "comparable" and "2,3, or 4 drives" in raid. :)

    i want something thats comparable to what i have now. not matching performance. if its better thats just a +.
     
  15. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i've had ssds. i really want to go cheap this time. i need the money for something else.
     
  17. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple


    heres an examle of a deal i found on ebay for a 73GB 15.5K, the price is a steal, IMHO, considering they sell for double that amount, but its only 1 drive, you'll have to find another elsewhere. Just posting it as an example why you should look on ebay:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Seagate-Che...4|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318|301:1|293:1|294:50
     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    if i could find a pair of 36/74gb 15k rpm drives i'd do it. they'd have to be under $180 for the pair though
     
  19. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    well, that one is a start, its $90 shipped, if you find another for the same price you'll be all set :D

    Anyway, good luck finding something.
     
  20. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i found a pair of maxtor 36gb 15k's for $100 shipped. is that a deal?
     
  21. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    thats pretty good, i think. I'm not familiar with Maxtor's 15k drives but if they are SAS not SCSI then id say its pretty good. Just google for reviews for that particular drive.

    BTW, that guy has another 73GB Cheetah for the same price, thats 2 for $180, just you like you wanted, may be he'll even combine shipping. I swear, if i had a controller card id pick them up myself.
     
  22. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    but the real question is...

    would they smoke the vraps in raid?
     
  23. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yep, these are real enteprise drives, i think even the maxtors will beat the raptors. I remember reading about the newer 15.6K cheetahs and they outperformed the raptors. Check out reviews for yourself for your own peace of mind.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  24. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    WHA :eek:

    find me more info!

    :D
     
  25. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i'm trying to find something right now just to show you. Also, remember results will depend on the controller, with a dedicated card they will be better than software based RAID from the mobo, i believe your board has a Marvell controller. But still, it will be fast, for an OS drive its perfect. One downside is that they are noisier than the raptors.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page