1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thinking about going to water cooling. What is a good kit?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by JC316, May 30, 2007.

  1. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I am thinking about going to water cooling for my CPU. I would like suggestions for a good kit in the sub $200 range.

    My temps right now are 34*C Idle and 47*C load, so it would have to cool better than that.
  2. trip l g

    trip l g New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The Thermaltake symphony mini droped my cpu idle temp 25 deg!
    It's silent and works like a champ. My intel C2D E6700 rated 2.66Ghz when oc'd to 3.3 Ghz ran over 60* idle, now at 3.5Ghz runs 40* load. It was a little over $200 but i can push push push and everything runs super stable w/ no problems. :)
  3. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    stay away form the TT big water 745, had lots of bad luck........thats all i can say!

    good luck btw
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  5. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Symphony mini isn't exactly mini though, takes up a lot of space. Plus it does make a buzzing sound from the pump. Having the cooling external isn't ideal when moving the computer around either.
  6. Oliver New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    196 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Paris
    How High

    Hi,

    How high have you gone........stable? I hit a wall on air with my e6700 and pc6400c4 Corsair at

    410-420 fsb *9 or 370*10 where evrything just becomes unglued:banghead: and am thinking about running water or phase..........and what volts are u running???
  7. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
  8. Oliver New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    196 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Paris
  9. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
  10. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    I would suggest building your own kit by piecing it together.

    Buy the best that you can at that time.... even if you cant build the whole kit at first, just save more money and later get another quality part

    Although with 200 bucks you should be able to get pretty close.

    I have found that most "all in one" kits lack something here or there.

    You can build your own and avoid all that
  11. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    i only got that cause it's my first time with water cooling and i ready reviews and i said it was easy to set up and the price was not bad either:D
  12. Oliver New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    196 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Paris
    Nice looks

    Looks really nice...........have fun with it.
  13. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    If it is your first time going water... using a prebuilt setup is not a horrible idea.

    At least at that point you will get the idea of what happens and what needs to be done first hand.

    THe only problem is.... you will want to upgrade and build you own after a short while (IMO) and you will just end up spending more money.
  14. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    well isnt that what this forum is here for to make us want the best system then we go out and try to buy it lol:roll:. i think by the time i get bored of it i will build 1 with all induvidual parts:rockout:
  15. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309

    Very true! lol

    Good luck either way.

    :toast:
  16. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Ive got the XSPC kit Garb :toast:

    Its reliable as hell and works a treat, I aint had 1 leak ever and it takes very little maintenance! The 10/8mm compression fittings are the best and I find skinnier tubing is easier to manipulate :)
    Garb3 says thanks.
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    On the other hand, if you go with something like the Swiftech kit I mentioned, you can upgrade as you go. I already added a chipset block (but had to take it out because it doesn't fit with the new gfx card), and I will be getting a 3x120 rad and maze5 for my 2900 in the coming weeks. With the kit and chipset block, my total came to $180. I couldn't piece together anything cheaper, that had equivalent performance, for that price.

    The swiftech blocks surprised me with their performance. Great bang for the buck. Once I get the new rad and maze5, I plan on lapping everything, and popping the IHS off my chip. I can't wait to see the results.
  18. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    mini hijack sorry:eek:
    do u think if i get a vga water block for my x1950pro it will help me oc more out of my core cause it wont go any higher than 621 at the min like:eek:
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I wouldn't recommend it on a single 120mm crossflow rad. It will likely be beyond the system's thermal capacity. It may make it so you have to downclock your cpu.
  20. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    so if i get a 360x120 or 140x120 rad i will be better off
  21. JousteR

    JousteR

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    168 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I got this one from my local shop/store,It has a super finish all in aluminium(solid)It's got 2
    120mm fans inset behind a mesh intake and quick relese pipe fasteners for if it needs to be moved/Drained.
    Right now cpu sat at 31c after a couple of hours gaming
    And gpu at 32c..

    Highly recomended by me but might not be every mans/womans taste.

    http://www.thermaltake.com/product/Liguid/DIY/cl-w0042/cl-w0042.asp
  22. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    thats sweet :D might get that once i get a bit more experience with what i'm gettin. hope i can get it in black tho cause it might look a tad out of place with me black case:)
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Most definitely. That's actually my plan when I get my gfx block.
    Garb3 says thanks.
  24. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    as i said like i wont be gettin one for a while like but ithink that i will got for a 360x120 cuase once i start adding things i wont stop lol
  25. D_o_S

    D_o_S Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Methinks:

    Swiftech Apogee GT
    Laing DDC+
    Swiftech MCR 220
    GPU block if you want...
    Tubing, barbs, etc...

    That should be ~$200

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page