1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thinking about upgrading to a 3850 or 8800GS but has a 300w PSU.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by DeadlyNinja, May 6, 2008.

  1. DeadlyNinja New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm not very good with PSU and reading the stuff on the power supply so I have no clue if my PSU can handle either of those 2 cards. Anyway, since I have no clue what to look for, I'm going to type out what's on the sticker of the PSU so that someone with more knowledge can tell me if it's enough, or should I upgrade my PSU as well.

    Brand Hipro (it's a pre-built HP m7664x)

    DC Output: +5v=/25A, +3.3v=/18A, +5VSB=/2A, +12V=/19A, -12V=/0.8A

    +5V and 3.3v Shall Not Exceed 175W

    +5V and +12V Shall Not Exceed 268W

    Max Power Output 300W

    So, should I upgrade my PSU for one of those cards, or am I safe? If not, any good recommendations for the PSU? I want to save money on the electric bill too.

    Oh, and which is better, 3850 or 8800GS? I know the 9800GSO is the same thing, but seems like people want to get rid of their 8800GSes and have dropped the price to 99 bucks.
     
  2. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    No don't. A 300W makes the upgrade a waste sincce the 12V+ the amperage sucks.
     
  3. sorehammer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    59 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    you will need more power dude get a decent 500w that should see you fine.
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Get a 400w psu and a HD 3850. Or get a 8600GT so you dont have to upgrade your psu.
     
  5. DeadlyNinja New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well, I saw some specs on the cards and both require only a 400W PSU, so that should be enough for me. I'm not a hardcore modder/upgrader for my rig. I just need a little extra graphical power and I'm all set.

    I've been hearing rumblings about a 3830 from AMD, but haven't heard a thing about it since March. I figured I might as well go for a 256 bit bus (yeah, I know the 8800GS uses 196 bit) to future proof my video a bit.
     
  6. sorehammer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    59 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    don't forget the rest of the system needs power too
    cd
    dvd
    harddrive
    fans
    motherboard
    memory
    etc
    etc
    etc
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  8. DeadlyNinja New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Which kind of PSU saves power? I see certain PSU have this x% effective next to it. I have to pay for the electric bill so I would enjoy something that'll save me a few bucks in more ways than one.

    I hope I can learn a bit about PSU from this as well. Might as well learn to understand instead of asking for help whenever I'm in a jam.
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    80%+ ones do save a bit. I would recommend getting Active PFC tho, it pretty much takes the power to where its supost to be faster and makes stuff more stable(At least thats what ive been told)
     
  10. DeadlyNinja New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    BTW, what should I look for when I read the specifications on newegg? How can I tell the PSU's good enough? Or do I simply need to know that it provides the 400W that I need?
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Look at the PSU guide we have Right Here to see if the brand is good. Then look if it has a good enough Efficiency, 75%+ is good. Active PFC is not needed but it really helps, and I recommend it. Then look at the +12v rail and see if its high enough for your setup. Two 18a rails or a single 22a rail or higher would be good.
     
  12. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Basically you should look for a brand name when buying a psu corsair, coolermaster, antec etc etc. Check reviews to see if that specific psu has any problems or advantages. I learned this the hard way and bought a cheap 700 watt psu for £40 and my pc crashed every hour or so. I bought a coolermaster realpower 700 watt and everything runs without a hitch but is overkill for your needs. I think someone who is more experienced than me could suggest a good psu.
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Whats your budget?
     
  14. DeadlyNinja New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I kinda wanna keep the budget to around 140 bucks or less. Working a lousy part time job so can't spend too much money with the way gas prices are these days.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2008
  15. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    for both the psu and the gpu?
     
  16. DeadlyNinja New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes, for both PSU and GPU combined.

    Is this one good?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817101035

    I like the price, obviously, and the wattage seems to be good enough. I haven't gotten a good grasp of the 12v rail thing though. I'm not sure what I'm suppose to be looking at. There are 2 12V numbers for all the output specs I've seen.
     
  17. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Bad link it won't let me view anything try again.
     
  18. DeadlyNinja New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Oops, I fixed the link now.
     
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    E-power is a pretty good brand but that doesnt have that many amps or 80% eff.
     
  20. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    I've read about ePower PSU's in the PSU guide and is not that good. Get something from thermaltake, corsair or seasonic (my favorite).
     
  21. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Really :eek: I was assuming it was equal to my gts. I'd say he should get maybe a 400 -450 coolermaster or corsair.
     
  22. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    The amps is fine. The 3850 only sucks 15-20A I think.
     
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea but I would get a little more to be on the safe side tho. idk you think 15a + 14a would be enough?
     
  24. DeadlyNinja New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Oh yeah, I forgot to ask, what suppose to be better for the efficiency rating? Higher percentage is good, or is lower percentage good?
     
  25. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    DeadlyNinja says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page