1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

thinking of getting a tri-core

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by exodusprime1337, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    the newer mobo bios's don't work with my memory and i'm not willing to purchase new memory because this stuff hits 1280 at 5,5,5,10, 2t at 2.325v. so i want to keep it and just upgrade the proccy. because i can't use the newest bios the quadcore phenom's dont' work to well, *i did try with my g/f's quads) so i was considering getting the x3 8750 black edition. it's currently sitting at 134 or so on the egg and i like the performance most or getting. I just want to throw something in there to get me through a few more months before deneb's come out and the new nforce boards with acc?? any thoughts guys??
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,908 (11.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,195
    if your board cant take quads, what makes you think tri cores (quads with a damaged/disabled core) are going to behave any differently?
     
  3. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    because the bios i use now was designed to support the tri's and the b2 stuff before the 9850be and 9950 be, it takes the 9600's and stuff, just not the quad's i want. and like i said i just want to get somethign to tide me over a few more months, my 5000be even overclocked seems to be limiting my gaming these days.
     
  4. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    I don't think a tricore will give much of a boost and it probably will not overclock as well as yours...so you do the math.
     
  5. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    clock for clock the tricore seems to be a bit faster then my 5000be, and i'm following the oc'ing and most are getting to 3-3.4 which is simaler to my clocks. i just want something a bit faster. that's all.
     
  6. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    when you get that tri core, can you post some benchmark.

    because i want to recomend it to my friend and how it perform vs core 2 duo in the price/performance area.
     
  7. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    You will most definitely degrade your performance. It is not that much efficient compared to your current CPU so you will most definitely degrade your performance. It is not that much efficient compared MHz to MHz from you processor, software does not support 3 core and you will never going to hit 3.5 GHz on that 3 core.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page