1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thinking of getting this .

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by trickson, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/5...ooling_Block_Socket_775.html?tl=g30c105#blank

    I was thinking of getting this for my system what do you think ?
    Will my PSU handle this ? 700W RocketFish .
    Is this going to sweat all over the mobo ? Is there a way to prevent this ?
    Is it going to take the temps down ? I hit a high of 74c running OCCTPT3.10 line pack ( With current system settings !

    What is your take on it ? Price is not the issue here just want your opinion on the things I listed thank you ...
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  2. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Interesting, wonder how well that TEC cools over normal WC. Can't be of any help though, I'm not really sure how much power a TEC pulls. But I would think it shouldn't have a problem, your not running dual videocards, you should be fine. But I could be wrong.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Cool thank you ..
     
  4. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    " If you increase your voltage too much, particularly with "hot" processors like the X6800 or the QX6700 you risk overshooting the TEC limit and getting worse temps than you would with straight water." -from the manual...

    ALSO - Requires: 1000+ Watt PSU or 320+ Watt Auxiliary PSU, so I would say that no, your 700W rocketfish will not be happy with that on the 12V line. What is you amperage rating - that thing can (and will) suck down 24A of power.

    So erm... its not worth it... What block are you currently using? - there are other ways to optimize an LC loop.
     
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I have a back up 500 w PSU so I guess I can put that in . I have a Dteck fusion 2 but it has been dented on the bottom and I want to get a new one .
    I have a Q9650 so I really doubt I will over shoot it like the Q6XX would they are 65nm were as mine is a 45nm .
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  6. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Post a pic of your setup - maybe we can drop your temps for free.
     
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Look at it there is a link in my sig . But I doubt you can get it lower with fans and the such as I have every fan in the world on this thing LOL !
     
  8. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    OK see it now... but anyways here are some ways to drop temps:

    1: Have you lapped the processor? No point in getting TEC if you haven't - this is an easy and free 5C drop.

    2: Airflow is good - but how hot is the air hitting the rad? If its at the back then you're "cooling" your setup with hot air from the case...

    3. Touch the rad - is it hot when you run OCCT? if not then you may have a flowrate issue.

    ARE THERE DUST FILTERS ON YOUR RAD!?!?! take those off asap :toast:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    NO I will not take the dust collectors off this home is very dusty and it help's cut down on all the dust that collects on the RAD . If I didn't have them this thing would need to be cleaned every week as it is I can go 1-2 months with out a good rad cleaning .
    My CPU is lapped yes .
    I don't fell any thing getting too warm as for flow rate it should be more than fine .
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  10. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  12. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Not if you go the TEC route... You need to do all that stuff or your system

    [​IMG]
     
  13. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    I think its an awesome waterblock bro, waterblock and an active cooling directly on the heatsource:cool: I say if money is not a problem you should get it, dont worry about the 24 A rating, it can only reach 24 amp if supply it 15.2 volts;), A TT drive bay PSU should handle that, if you feel like you`re PSU cant handle
     
  14. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You need a separate PSU to control the pelt. It is NOT worth it. I think you might start a fire without doing more research. Ask Wile_E about it if you're still into this idea.

    I take it nobody in this thread has done Pelt cooling before...
     
  15. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Have a ultra chilltech CPU cooler and it was fine it never went below room temps . I would like more information on just how to do this yes .
    phanbuey That is kind of an old setup and I do not know if all that is really necessary on the newer setups . But again I am looking at it and find this very interesting indeed .
    I want to get really low temps and this is the only viable way to do so I think .
     
  16. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    correct me if im wrong but take a look at the supply connector on the main picture, I think they design it to run on a +5V power, so if that`s the case, no need to insulate something since it cannot reach -temperatures, I think you`re PSU can handle it, it only serve as a form of mini heat pump to accelerate the heat transfer from the CPU surface to the rushing water, very cool Idea with a price



    yes im wrong:banghead: im looking at the female connector and the red wire, its a 12 V supply
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  17. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    I personally tried it bro, but with a +12 volt supply, it can function on a 5 volt but not really that fast to cool with a +12 volt supply, so I think their design is built without a temp controller, cause its only a back-up mini heatpump:)
     
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I am not sure the spec say this .
    U Max: 15.2 VDC
    I Max: 24 A
    DT Max: > 67°C
    Q Max: 226.1 W
    R: 0.48 Ω
    Dimensions: 50 x 50 x 3.1 mm
    (L x W x H)
    Requires: 1000+ Watt PSU or 320+ Watt Auxiliary PSU
    The PSU I have may not be enough that is fine I have a second PSU no problem there .
    But what about the rest ? I mean it don't look like it will cause all that much condensation at all .
     
  19. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    So you had one ? Did you have any problems with condensation ? and how well did it cool your CPU ?
     
  20. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You should still insulate the CPU area. I just want you, sir, to know that pelt cooling dumps a HUGE heat load into your water loop and you need a water cooling setup that would go above and beyond your normal heat load in dissapation. Aside from the power issues... the Pelt (if overloaded) on the hot side will become an insulator and your chip will burn up if the pelt has too much heat that can't be taken away on the hot side.

    My bit about the separate PSU... you don't really NEED it but it's a personal preference. You have to be ready at all times when you're running the pelt to unplug everything to prevent a fire or melting. It's become pretty common knowledge that pelts are not the best way to cool something actively. They require a lot of power, and it's hard to keep your system from overloading a pelt over a long period of load. Bottom line, they are not for 24/7 use.
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  21. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well my computer is never on 24/7 any way .

    So take a look if you will at my water cooling setup ( Link in sig ) and please tell me if you think this will be enough to keep it cool if you would please .
     
  22. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    What kind of funky Custom WC loop are you using that lets your CPU get to 74C under OCCT?
     
  23. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    It is not the CPU per-say it is the CPU CORE that gets this hot . the CPU never gets above 40c .
     
  24. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    on a P4 2 GHZ set-up on idle it can drop the temps to 5 C on my thermocouple sensor, on load it hovers between 15- 22 C still enough for the moisture in the air to condensate on the sides of it though,
     
    trickson says thanks.
  25. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    So just how did you keep the condensation for being a big problem ?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page