1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thinking of going Crossfire

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ShadowFold, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I bought a ASUS P5Q-PRO which has two PCI-E 2.0 slots. I have a HD 4850 coming in RMA and I should get around 200$ from some stuff I just sold. With that 200$ I was thinking of grabbing another HD 4850 and two Zalman VF900's. On the eXtreme PSU Calculator, with 2 4850's I would only pull 384w and I have a Seasonic built 500w psu so I should be ok there I guess.
     
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Is that 384w + the rest of your stuff and all at 100% load?
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    yes
     
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Well then you should be ok.
     
  5. Gallatin Guest

    i have a intel crossfired system i have only good things to say. do it.
     
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i think your p5q , have pci-e 4x in second slot , better if you change your mobo or change you card , you can try 4870x2
     
  7. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    No. It's P45. It's 2 8x slots when in CFX.
     
  8. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    ok, right but there is also first p5 have x4 , but about you psu you need new one
     
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    The P35 is 16x/4x. The P45 is 8x/8x.
     
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Plus 8x/8x on pci-e 2.0 is as fast as 16x/16x on pci-e 1.0/1.
     
  11. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    CrossFire, DO IT. Not only for performance increase, but bigger e-peen. :p
     
  12. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Ministry of Public Misinformation alert.
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    No its actually true. 8x = half of 16x and PCI-E 2.0 = twice the bandwidth of PCI-E 1.1a. So a 8x 2.0 slot = 16x 1.1a performance.
     
  14. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Check that please.
     
  15. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Not all game take advantage of Crossfire. And a lot of game that work with it do not gain that much from it.

    Some do well of course but i you compare the price/performance ratio with a 2nd card.. It's not really that great.
     
  16. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Why is that? Perhaps you should post some actual numbers/tests to back up the claim?
     
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    ok my friend , so the 600w is good , but 700w for sure if you want overclock too, and make sure it is good brand like crossair
     
  18. Gallatin Guest

    :wtf: crosshair? that is a mobo. corsair? that is most like it. unless i missed something.

    no offence.
     
  19. mat9v New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Going by the power use as stated by the producent this is at least:
    - 65W for CPU, more for overclocking to 3.6Ghz (maybe 80-90W)
    - 40W for motherboard
    - 20W for memory
    - 10W for HDD
    - lets say 30W for various other stuff (usb and so on)
    - 2x110W for 4850 and if overclocked add another 2x30W
    445W total - now to be on the safe side add to that 30% to let your PSU room to breath and not keep it on max and you arrive at 600W PSU. Of course good 500W will work but I would sleep better with option numbet 2 (my rig work 24/7 so good PSU is a must). I have 750W Corsair PSU but then I have much more overclock applied and 4870 in CF.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2008
  20. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    I think he meant corsair :p unless crosshair is an up and coming brand of some sort o.0
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page