1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thinking of new memory, have a few choices in mind...

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by happita, Apr 8, 2008.

?

Which 2x1GB 1066 kit should be my new ram?

  1. Patriot Extreme Performance

    2 vote(s)
    15.4%
  2. Patriot Viper

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Transcend AxeRam

    11 vote(s)
    84.6%
  1. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,421 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
  2. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    My 1200 aXeram was great. The Patriots are pretty cheap though. Vipers look sweet. Go with the vipers.
     
  3. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,421 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    The vipers based on looks? :laugh:
     
  4. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Basically yeah.:p Plus I've heard good things about Patriot.
     
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i've got patriots, they are awesome.
    vipers have better cooling them extreme performance ones and i think they might feature better chips too, as i've heard that patriot split the ram so that extreme performance is elpidia now and vipers are all micron d9, not sure, but thats what i think it is.

    i'd say either the viper 1200's or the axeman 1200
     
  6. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Is this going to be a Stewie only thread? :D



    edit:pancho ruined that. lol
     
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    oh and i dont think extreme performance goes up to 1200 whereas vipers do so it might suggest different performance.
     
  8. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,421 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Hmmm, if someone can confirm that those Vipers are D9's, I think I might just go for them.
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Transcend aXeRam is getting great reviews and clock really high so I would pick those up :)
     
  10. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    I personally would get the Patriot DDR2 800mhz 4-4-4-12 2T or anyother kind of brand that does it, and OC it up to 1066mhz speeds if possible.

    i went out to frys saw they had 2x1GB Patriots going for $44 w/o MIR just picked em up(2 sets for 4GB) and gave em a whirl and was amazed the 780i Allowed me to OC the ram to 900mhz then i trimmed the timings to 4-3-3-5 2T all this was done at stock volts of 2.2! and ocing the ram i was able to DDR2 1000mhz 4-4-4-12 2T 2.2v(stock volts) mind you it all doing this in a 4GB config!

    the 1066 ram if you ask me is a rip off, your standard DDR2 800mhz 4-4-4-12 timing ram can most certainly pull of 1066mhz 5-5-5-15 all those companies are doing is charging you to OC your ram!
     
  11. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    so would I.... axes are great OCers...
     
  12. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,421 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
  13. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    axe ram
     
  14. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i'd go for patriot, i have the pc9200 2gig kit that goes to 1300 on stock volts 5,5,5,12
     
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,995 (6.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,536
    Just FYI you did check the voltages required to get that speed?...2.45V altho he even went as far as to boot at 670MHz at 2.54V:eek: to those stix. AMAZING!
     
  16. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Wile e had his aXeram at 1400 2.32v.
     
  17. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,421 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    AxeRam wins by a landslide. Just ordered em on the egg, I'm excited :D
     
  18. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago

    What speed? They've been out of the 1200 for awhile.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page