1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Three 120 Hz Monitors on a 6950

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by MegaMan, Feb 14, 2012.

  1. MegaMan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  2. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    I see a problem here.
    These adapters feature only single link dvi on the female end. You need dual link for 120Hz if I am not mistaken.

    Also, I'm not sure if this setup is for gaming but you are not going to be able to reach 120FPS @5760x1080 with only one 6950. I doubt even two cards would get you there on the newest games.
     
  3. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,095 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yep, sadly you will have to look for either atleast 1 monitor with displayport(with one other monitor having HDMI v1.4, and the other dual link DVI, as IIRC only one DVI port on the card is Dual Link, the other being Single Link, and thus not fit for 120Hz).

    Your other option is to buy one very expensive displayport -> dual link DVI active adaptor.

    Also, indeed your card wont probably be able to run everything maxxed at 120FPS, but thats not really relevant to the question you had:)
     
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Three 1080P displays on a single 6950 is just not a very good idea from any standpoint.
     
  5. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I just set this upas of last night. 3 LED's on one xfx 6950 2gb. Although, im losing 15-20 fps because of my cpu bottleneck (e6400 dualcore @ 2.933), i get around 20 fps in bf3 (high no eyecandy settings) @ 5760x1080. WHen i drop it down to 4800x900 i see no difference in performance(Again, probably my cpu bottleneck).

    I can say with absolute certainty that 2 6950's will not pass 100fps, even on low settings (maybe close) If you expect to have 110+ fps with eyefinity ultra, you will need 2 7970's probably.
     
  6. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    For Christ's sake dude buy a quad.
     
  7. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    But brehhh, need IB! No point in buying SB and then getting IB a month later when it comes out ;)
     
  8. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well ok then. :)

    I meant if you were staying on 775 for whatever reason.
     
  9. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Can't wait!!! Im noticing the bottleneck HARDCORE right now becuase im in eyefinity.
     
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Indeed.
     
  11. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    It's my understanding that 120hz is only supported over Dual-Link DVI, so even if you try using DisplayPort the drivers won't allow it. This was originally because of bandwidth restrictions. I've even heard in a lot of cases, using any form of converter will make it downscale resolutions or simply not display. Unless things have changed, I'm not sure doing Eyefinity with 120hz is even possible.
     
  12. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    How "flexible" is eyefinity across cards. Could the OP use his existing card to drive the main screen, and use a secondary card to drive the "side-screens" at perhaps a lower resolution. He then gets the "immersion" and also periphery vision, but without the horsepower needed to drive these extra side-monitors at full resolution.

    I have no experience of eyefinity and multimonitor running 3D. (I've used multimonitors for destop for last 10 years, and only "gamed" in the middle monitor). Any thoughts or experience on this issue gratefully taken.
     
  13. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    If what your saying is true, then the only way to truly do 120hz monitor eyefinity is through monitors that have the direct Displayport as an output. Without using an adapter. What your saying is techincally correct however that more of an issue in the past with middle scale adapters. However, you look at a DualLink Active Displayport, someof them require USB Powering, i am faily certain that it supports the bandwidth neccisary for 120hz.

    Then again you could always just go NVIDIA, no adapters required :) Just 2 GPU's. But thats for another discussion ;).

    To run in eyefinity, all monitors must be connected to one GPU. And they all have to run the same resolution (To create that 1 LARGE 5760x1080 or 4800 x 900 resolution). His problem is much more that of using "Active" Adapters. If that were true anyhow, it takes next to nothing from the graphics card to just power a 2nd or 3rd desktop. He wants to run games, aka eyefinity.
     
  14. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,883 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I have an ASUS VG236HE and yes, it requires a dual link DVI cable and connection to do anything over 60Hz. I don't think it's worth getting 3 of them and trying to run them all on one 6950, even if it could. I am perfectly fine with my single one and can entirely focus on all the 120Hz buttery smoothness it provides.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    OP has a 7970 though.

    Edit: Sorry... mixing up threads.. my appologies, he has a 6950. Also, i agree with you, a 6950 wont be able to take advantage of 3 120 hz monitors.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page