1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Three Monitors

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by happy, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    < My specs

    Ok so I just built a gaming rig, and needed some advice. I am going to purchase two more monitors for 3x1 eyefinity. I am planning to get this ASUS VH242H and wanted to know: 1. will there be a lag time because of the two side screen is going to be 5ms whereas the middle screen is 2ms.
    2. Will I get a drop in fps? 3. If I overclock the GPU will it increase the fps and how much will it increase?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Specs? where?

    1- You wont see much of a differences if any between 2 & 5 ms

    2- Yes as you will be running higher resolution

    3- Overclock help but not all that much & it may not be necessary? (specs)
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  3. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Just added.
     
  4. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Ok i see it now

    I thing you got nothing to worry about , it should play fine with 3x24" (mid to high details depending on the games)
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  5. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Unfortunately, the mobo I listed has one pcie slot. So pretty much I either have to buy a 6950 or above or just see if there will be a difference once I get the extra two screens.
     
  6. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    You'll see a significant FPS loss (expect to lose 50% or more depending on the games you play and settings you use). Overclocking can help but can't make up for tripling the resolution. The 6950 will be unable to sustain playable framerates in many games at at 5760x1080.
     
  7. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I have edited my post

    If you consider 60fs+ playable framerates then yes but for me 30fs+ is just fine & beside at that high resolution who needs AA?
    Beside most games at mid level with 4xAA looks as good as the highest level except for lost performance , imo
     
  8. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Yeah, "playable" is a subjective term that I should have clarified. A 6950 can't sustain even 30fps at 5760x1080 in some games, but in others it can. happy, what games do you play?

    There's of course nothing forcing you to run at the full 5760x1080, but gaming on LCDs at non-native resolutions is generally something to avoid where reasonable.
     
  9. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,119 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    have u ever used an eyefinity system before? I find it annoying after awhile. A second screen to help with multitasking is the most I can stand.

    Also your card is not strong enough to run games at good settings at an enjoyable fps. Your basically asking a card to produce 3x the output of what it would with a single monitor. (More or less)
     
  10. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I plan to play MW3, BF3, GTA IV and the new GTA, Sykrim, Bioshock, and many more.:laugh:
     
  11. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I have used eyefinity before but on a different system and only 2x1 setup. I do also find it annoying, but in games it is definitely not annoying.
     
  12. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    So should I get a 6970 to solve the problem?
     
  13. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,607 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    You mean a 7970 and overclocked.
     
  14. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Are you serious? Not even a 6970 or 6990 will solve this problem? I only ask that the 3 screens be playable at 35fps with AA and other features on.
     
  15. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    So i can get playable fps at 30fps with 3 screens with AA and other features on with the 6950.
     
  16. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,607 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Doubtful. It might peak at 35fps, but you will not get an average fps of 35fps at that resolution with 1 card and expect AA. Lets look. I know there are benchmarks like this. HardOCP loves to do multi monitor and extreme res benchmarks.

    Here are reviews on SLI/XFire at your res. There is no way you will be able to run these games except at the lowest settings at that res.

    http://hardocp.com/article/2011/01/11/amd_69706950_cfx_nvidia_580570_sli_review/4

    here is your card at 2560x1600 in single card. Your resolution will exceed this and be even more demanding. Your FPS will tank.

    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011/02/24/amd_radeon_hd_6950_1gb_performance_review/3

    You will also need to OC the hell out of your i5 and RAM.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
    happy says thanks.
  17. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Not even a 6970 will boost it up?
     
  18. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I don't have to stick with ATI, will any other NVIDIA be able to get the 3 screens to playable framerate? Budget for any GPU is 400 US Dollars Max.
     
  19. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,119 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Technically if u only go 1 screen ur budget is even higher :toast:
     
  20. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I see on one of the link the 6950 average fps is around 37 fps for 3 screen. Does the AA make a huge difference?
     
  21. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,607 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Your system is just not going to cut it. No single card is going to run 3 monitors with eyecandy. except for the 7970, 6990, gtx590. The latter of which are already second gen cards, so get the 7970 or wait for kepler, or wait for the 7990.
     
    happy says thanks.
  22. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,607 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    That is xfired 6950's.
     
  23. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    So a 6990 will be able to run 3 screens at at least 38 or maybe higher fps with AA and other feature on?
     
  24. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,607 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
  25. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page