1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thuban coming @95w

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Inioch, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    Phenom II X6 "Thuban" is coming in a 95w version. News here (PC Watch, Google Translate).

    Added benefits seem to be bigger tolerance to heat and lower voltages. Comparison here (AMD).

    Old vs. New
    Column 1
    0 Voltages 1.125-1.40V 1.075-1.375
    1 Max Temps (C) 62 71
    2 Wattage 125 W 95 W


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Source
     
    [Ion], Chicken Patty and CounterZeus say thanks.
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    This has been known since release day Asus has 95 Watt Phenom x6 listed on original BIOS
     
  3. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    I didn't know that :eek: And at least they are now spotted in the wild.
     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nice... I would love to rock and roll with a 6 core thuban in my 95w board :rockout:

    what I can't understand though is how the 125w thuban is 62c but the 95w thuban is 71c?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,893 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,297
    I would love an unlocked lower power Thuban. I can wait. :)
     
  6. twilyth Guest

    Fuck me.

    I'm sitting in my "office" area with 2 high speed fans going - one on a shelf near the ceiling blowing warm air into the hallway, and one in the hallway blowing less warm air into my room.

    It's still fuckin' 81F in this mutha.

    And that is just from 2 phenoms - 1090t and 9750. Last night I couldn't get the temp under 83F.

    I hate to put in a window a/c but i'm running out of options.
     
  7. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    What kinda cooling you got on those chips and what are you doing with them?
     
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    LOL, I remember the SOCKET A Barton days :D

    Atleast its better than my 450w (during gaming) consuming beast :D
     
  9. twilyth Guest

    The 9750 I did right, more or less, with Ceramique paste and a Zalman 9300 (I think). I don't think it's oc'd. if it is, not by a lot.

    With the1090 I got lazy and used the tape and stock hs. But it looks like it is begging to be oc'd and very forgiving of mistakes. The board (MSI 790Fx-GD70) is also very nice to work with. Right now it is at 3600mhz. Memory had to be over volted to get it to run at 1600.

    So if I go with the window a/c unit, then i'll probably dig out one of my xigmatek's and use that.
     
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I know those old Phenom I generated some mad heat with even the slightest OC and stock coolers work, but just enough to get by. If you are folding or crunching on those, I can see why your room is so hot.
     
  11. twilyth Guest

    Oh. Yeah.

    Forgot to mention that I guess. :shadedshu :laugh:

    I worked on the United Devices projects before they folded and the moved to WCG.

    It's like running Prime95 24/7 so it is sorta my own fault. :rolleyes:
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,280
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Firstly, this temp is not actual die temp, but CASE TEMP.

    Secondly, the 95w chips are lower-leakage parts, hence can handle higher temps before leakage affects stability.

    Also, keep in mind as well, that that wattage number refers not to power consumption under normal clocks, but Turbo clocks, so for this cpu to run 2.8ghz will not be 95w(although it may be very close).
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page