1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TIM pads

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by imperialreign, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Have run into a bit of a conundrum . . . I need to re-apply some AS5 to my GPUs, as they've been starting to overheat recently, but the problem I know I'll face is in dealing with the TIM pads on the VRMs and DRAM modules. These cards have already been apart once before, and a good portion of the TIM pads were already falling apart . . . enough so that I had a hard time "packing" it back together and "re-activating" it with some isopro . . .

    I've found a couple of sites where I can get ahold of sheets of TIM pad material, and cut to fit . . . but, for starters, I'd have to wait for these retailers to get a new shipment of stock - not to mention the price is a little ridiculous for what they are, and I really have no idea what kind of TIM padding it is, either . . .


    So, brings me to my question - anyone have any known good "alternatives" for replacing TIM pads? Any other easily accessible material that performs equally or on par? Any "creative" solutions?
     
  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Location:
    Kansas
    Non conductive TIM, like MX2? Your GPU will like it too since they're known to provide better results than AS5.
     
  3. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    I thought about using a more "paste-like" TIM substance . . . but not sure how well that would pan out on PCB chips.
     
  4. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
  5. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I havent head of any as good as the pads, I have used copper shims but it was a large pain measuring thicknesses..(basically copper flashing from home depot)

    I would never try to bridge the gap with TIMs(not what Tims were designed to do) and if you are using AS5 (I like MX2 a lot better) be REALLY careful not to let it get on any metal traces (shorts)

    I have some of that and its close the thickness of a thin piece of paper, he would have to stack a bunch of piece to fill the gap.
     
  6. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Oh whoops, didn't realize he needed to fill in gaps. I thought it was just sticking it back on.

    Try some MX-3? It's fairly thick and the temps are a taaad better than MX-2. It'd def be less of a mess than AS5.
     
  7. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    I kinda leary about using any paste ontop of the VRMs and DRAM modules - as mk pointed out, there's usually a pretty thick gap between the cooler and the chip . . . much more of a gap than most paste can manage - besides, I'd be worried about any paste "migration" towards the legs of the chip as well.


    I'll keep the copper flashing idea in mind, mk - if nothing else, I work in a shop, so cutting pieces to adequate dimensions shouldn't be a problem . . . then I'd simply stack them and either solder or braze them together . . . but, it sounds like a PITA.


    I think I'll let this thread marinate for a day or two, see what other ideas crop up - it's still looking like I'm going to have to go ahead and simply order some TIM pad sheets . . .
     
  8. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Location:
    Kansas
  9. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I dont think they like ebay links here..

    (I was thinking that was a killer deal till I saw its just a 1" square piece)lol

    and imperialreign there are many different thicknesses of copper flashing, I went to a local metal store and got several different thicknesses (gave them to me for free as scraps).. The trick is precisely measuring the gap between the surfaces (I used a bit of playdough to get close)
     
  10. TotalChaos

    TotalChaos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    737 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    MKmods says thanks.
  11. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    sikusi thermal tape and a piece of copper or aluminum thick enough to bridge the gap
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page