1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Time for a new computer

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Gobbas, Jan 8, 2014.

1. Gobbas

Thanks Received:
    Hi,
    I am about to invest in a new computer since my current one has seen better days. I have never built one frpm scratch before, but I have changed out most components in my computers over the years. The parts I have selected are already stretching my budget, but any ideas are welcomed. Gaming is what I intend to use it for, but I neither have the desire or need for everything to be cutting-edge. I also have no intention of ever overclocking. I have bought components where this is possible to often in the past, but without ever utilizing that feature.

MSI B85M-E45, Socket-1150
    Crucial DDR3 BallistiX Sport 1600MHz 8GB
    Intel Core i5-4440
    Corsair CX 500M, 500W PSU
    Fractal Design Define R4
    WD Desktop Green 1TB SATA

MSI GeForce GTX 760 Hawk 2GB or Sapphire Radeon R9 270X 2GB

R9 270x is cheaper which I do like, and the performance difference does not seem to be too big.
    I opted out of an SSD for budget reasons because it is easy to just stick one in later on

Is there some sort of conflict with any of the parts I have chosen? Any tips on changes?
    Also, since I can't find anything in the specs: Can the motherboard use the front panel audio ports of the chassi?

Thank you.

Last edited: Jan 8, 2014
  2. happita

happita

Thanks Received:
    The 760 Hawk is certainly faster than the R9 270X, however, you can always save money on overclocking the 270X to match the performance of a 760. Overclocking isn't as hard/harmful as you might think. I was skeptical at first also, but a little willingness and knowledge goes a long way. But if you don't want to learn anything and just go with what you feel is faster, then the 760 beats that 270X definitely, albeit at a $60 higher price (going on Newegg prices).