1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Time for a new CPU cooler I think

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by puma99dk|, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    i think it's time to change my Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 out with a Corsair Hydro solution, i am not in to building my own watercooling system (bcs i am not comfortable with watercooling in the first place ^^; ) , but i dunno which to take if i should go H60, H80 or H100.

    i am thinking about that bcs my cpu is hitting 82c under load in Prime95 :(
    and i don't think i need ventilation in my case i got a 140mm and a 120mm in the top of my case and a 120mm in side down at my gfx and a 120mm in rear to take all the hot air out so i think i need another cooler.

    Corsair H60 is around 67euro / 91USD
    Corsair H80 is around 94euro / 128USD
    Corsair H100 is around 103euro / 140USD

    and no i want take the Corsair H70 bcs it costs around 100euro / 137USD so not worth it.

    Yes, i am planning about oc'ing as i am now and maybe higher depends on the voltage on my i5-2500k atm it's running 4785mhz at 1.392 voltage in bios.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    so overall which of the 3 Corsair Hydro's is the best for the price?
     
  2. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    You can check the pricing on these ones:
    Antec Kuhler 620
    Antec Kuhler 920

    If i'm not wrong the 620 competes with the H60 and the 920 with the H80, being the performance 2-3% worse compared to the Corsair's.
    The diference you will see from your current cooler might be a gorgeous 12-15ºC, as you are getting 82ºC ATM :b
    If you can get a good price on these, go ahead! :toast:
     
  3. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    the 620 is around 59euro / 80USD and the 920 is around 93euro / 127USD not much to save that actually matter linoliveira it was a good point but nuth worth saving ^^
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    I don't think a cooler swap is going to bring you more than a couple degrees with Prime95 or IBT involved. If I had to go with one of the three, I would go with the H80. The H100 is nice, but considering the need for room it takes, the single fat rad wasn't that far behind it.

    You could also go real cheap and buy a set of fans for the Noc with better static pressure and more CFM increasing the capability of the cooler you have;)
     
  5. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    i think you have 3 options here:
    1- as sneekypeet said, you can buy some fans and get maybe 7º-10ºC lower temps
    2- go closed loop H2O and get around 12-15ºC lower temps
    3- build custom H2O and get the real OC potential without killing your CPU (wich i believe you are ATM)

    IMHO i think its better to go with option 1 and keep your CPU in the safe zone of the 72ºC if you don't wanna kill that 2500k :(

    EDIT: i found sone crazy fans -> this and this <-
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    custom build h2o, no, not that much in to it >.<

    i got two NF-P12 fans on my cooler atm, i am just thinking didn't i apply enough paste on the cpu, i took a small drip of my big tube and i was like stretching it out so it covered every spot on the cpu's heatsink ^^;
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Isn't near 1.4v kinda high for 32nm? I know you said you are against it but coming from your current Noctua there isn't really anything much better to warrant the price, MAYBE the H100.
     
  8. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    yes, 1.4v is high... i remember reading somewhere that Intel specs for the 32nm were 1.365v max core voltage and 72ºC max temp, beyond that the CPU will start degrading.
    and you are combining heat with high voltage to 24/7, beware.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  9. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    mine is on auto so it does down to 1.068 V and lower when it's not doing anything so it's not 24-7 it runs 1.392 V
     
  10. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    what temps you get while gaming? mid 70's ?
     
  11. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    oh they r lower in BF3 and Driver than Prime95, but i haven't check that much i will do that later when i will start a game again.
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Run hwmonitor to get your Max values easier.
     
  13. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    for Prime95 HWMonitor Pro says the same as my desktop gadget.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    [​IMG]

    That's what you are interested in. Run HWMonitor in the background while you game.
     
  15. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    the temps on Core 1 & 2 os a about 2c cooler in BF3 than Prime95 and Package temp goes down to 79c.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  16. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    you are far higher than the safe zone for temps on games lol

    I did a quick research, and your fans are 54CFM. I don't believe you can get much lower temps with even 90CFM fans... correct me if i'm wrong, but i believe it will drop 3-4ºC max.
    Sorry for my previous statement related to temps, but i thought the Noctua fans on that cooler were lower CFM ones.

    maybe consider a closed loop H2O H80 / H100 if it is in your budget.
     
  17. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    there will go 2month now until i got the money now bcs i bought a used Intel SSD, so i will try playing a little with the voltage to see if i can do this speed around 1.1 or something instead see if that will bring the temps down.
     
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Revert back to stock and see what temps you are getting there before anything.
     
  19. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    You have 3 exhaust and only 1 intake?
    That's a big problem right there.
    Don't you have a front intake fan?
    You need more cool air rammed into the case. That fix, by itself, will cool things down 2-5C at least (maybe more, depending on the fans).
    You need intake fans with a high static pressure rating.
     
  20. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    no i got 140mm & 120mm in top for intake, a 120mm in the side and a 140mm in the front i think it is and a 120mm in the back for out take, so actually 4 for intake and 4 for out take.
     
  21. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    You should definitely lower your OC and voltage a bit. You don't really need any of that OC at all for gaming. It's doing nothing for you really. Maybe if you had a second 570...

    Definitely try reseating the cooler. The H100 would definitely lower your temps if installed properly as intake. It would have its own supply of air from outside the case, and the rest of the fans could be used for cooling the chipset and such.
     
  22. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Positive pressure with fan filters on all the intake fans is also the cleanest way to run a computer dust-wise.

    IMO, you've found a good "benchmarking" overclock. Now, you need to dial down to more reasonable values for a "24/7" overclock, somewhere closer to 100x43 or so. You are not getting additional FPS in games that warrants stressing your CPU this much, whether you have auto-adjusting voltage or not.
     
  23. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    it's only the fan in the side of my case that actually don't have dust filter, i have been too lazy to buy one for it :roll: when we r talking intake, it's standart with the CM690II.


    LordJummy i don't give much for SLi i tried it with two GTX460 in Mafia II at 1080p i actually didn't get much fps more with SLi or one dedicated for PhysX in 1080p with a Q6700, so one GTX 570 is enough for me.


    JrRacinFan here is my temps at 3360mhz, yeah ino it's 60mhz more than stock bcs of the BLCK at 101,8mhz but that shouldn't make much of a different and CPU Voltage in the ECS P67H2-A is set to disabled.

    [​IMG]
    (forgot to reset "Power Limit 1 Value (Watt) and Power Limit 2 Value" in bios >.< )
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ECS/P67H2-A2/images/bios_cpu_tweak.jpg <-- see there of what i mean.

    i use my own silicon thermalpaste, i have been using since C2D/C2Q and i3/i7 processors haven't been much of an temp issue before.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  24. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    what u think of these temps and the voltage of 1.260 V according to CPU-Z? too much or oki?

    [​IMG]

    maybe i can go from in bios if i get CPU Voltage manually, i dunno if i can hit 1.200V or lower at 4ghz, even i kinda want to run 4,5ghz 24-7 yeah ino insane but srsly who ain't that when it comes to 24-7 overclocking? :rolleyes:
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz

    I'm confused. You listed 5 fans, then said you had 4 intake and 4 exhaust.

    Also, look at my specs. I have yet to break 41c at 4.2, with a Noctua NH-D14.
    And at the same time, Intel seems to have perfected the design for a $300 space heater. :respect:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page