1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Time for a new HDD?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by repman244, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    So yesterday windows started to give warnings about a HDD failing. So I fire up HDTune, and check the SMART readings:

    [​IMG]

    The disk is a Samsung SpinPoint F3 (1TB), there are also 265 write errors.

    Despite all the errors the disk is running fine, everything on it still opens fine, other SMART data is fine as well. Is it possible the error values are false?
    I got my data backed-up so I was thinking if I should just continue to run it or should I start looking for a replacement drive?
     
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,421 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    repman244 says thanks.
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,473 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,615
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Download Hiren's Boot CD, and run HDAT, it will check and repair all bad sectors on a HDD, but be prepared for it to take a while. Spinpoint F3's are good drives, if HDAT and Seatools will run and possibly fix em, give it a go.
     
    repman244 says thanks.
  4. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Connection is ok, device manager is ok. Tried the cable yesterday but the read error count still went up.

    I'll give seatools a try.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Seatools (last time I used it) only lets you know if the drive is failing and if it is valid for warranty.

    Also if you have not try another sata port.
    But I do feel this drive has bit the dust and to get what important data you can off it while you can.

    Best of luck.
     
    repman244 says thanks.
  6. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    I'm still running the error scan from HDTune (it's currently around 1/3 of the drive and no errors so far).
    I forgot to mention that I tried running it from my SAS controller (with a different cable), I checked the error count before using it on my controller and after...it went up. The drive is currently connected on my motherboard SATA.

    To me it seems the drive doesn't have any bad sectors since no files sustained any damage, but I got no ideas what could be causing this...maybe the read/write heads are defective?
     
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Didn't read all of your first post, I see you have a Samsung drive.
    Not sure if Seatools supports other drives besides Seagate drives.

    This is not a HDD error I am familiar with.
    Usually relocated sector and Ultra DMA CRC error count are the most common ones I come across.

    I would also be under the impression there is an issue with the heads of the hard drive.

    Can be certain what caused the HDD to start failing.
    I am most inclined to believe it is a hardware defect.
     
    repman244 says thanks.
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,497 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,197
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That's not too bad for raw read error rate. If the drive really is starting to fail that number would start flying up. I have drive at work with numbers in the 100,000 and higher for raw read error rates and not all of them are duds. Just keep a backup of your stuff and keep an eye on SMART.
     
    repman244 says thanks.
  9. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    I think you didn't look at the correct values ;) Error count is at 33279.
    The value -1- has something to do with those threshold limits.

    EDIT: yes my seagate drive has like 300k of read errors, however in that case it is a "false" reading, since it relies on it's internal ECC...and the ECC value is identical to that of the read errors.
     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,497 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,197
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I edited my post while you were writing...

     
    repman244 says thanks.
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,421 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Seatools for for DOS will, also, attempt to repair the drive, however, it will not detect external drives, so the op may need to try it in MB's port and test if he wants the test for RMA use.

    Seatools is suppose to support Samsung drives now.
     
  12. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,176 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Those read and write errors usually arise from faulty SATA power or signal cables. But you said you ruled out them. So it might also be the chipset(South Bridge) since it controls the accessing of the HDD and hence the HDD thinks that read and write errors are occurring. Also check the PCB of the Hard Disk for any damage. I think the disk is ok I mean mechanical part. The electronic part is at fault.

    Also Seatools works on all brands of drives. And Seatools can't fix any errors except "Current Pending Sector Count". If that count is constant for a certain period, they are just logical bad sectors(due to a random error, the disk thought them as bad) and marked them. Any error for the second time will mark it reallocated.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2013
  13. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    SB is ruled out as well since I tried it from my SAS controller with same results. PCB doesn't have any damage.


    Anyway, I finished checking the disk for bad sectors...came out clean. However I found something interesting, I ran the HDTune benchmark just for fun...the sequential read came out as it should but the access time is horrible.

    [​IMG]

    Looking at those access times being all over the place I assume it's the R/W head being faulty (or the controller has hard time controlling it as it should - it's inaccurate hence it's giving read errors).
     
  14. Geekoid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    77 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    UK
    ... because the Spinpoint F3 drives are now made my Seagate (and personally I stay away from them now).

    Still, always good to make sure you have a backup of essential data!
     
  15. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,176 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I suggest you take a backup of all the data and RMA the drive.
    Or if you wanna DIY, get a similar PCB and check results. :)
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,864 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    this thread made me use HD Tune to check the health of my hard drives too - one of my hard drives is throwing up warnings but ive run a full scan with windows and clicked on scan & attempt recovery of bad sectors and the full scan came up clean. nothing was wrong with the drive.
     
  17. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Yeah sometimes it's false reading - but only if performance is as it should be.
    The Windows warnings and weird performance (~25ms) means I'll be getting a new HDD to play with :laugh:
     
  18. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Sure gives you an excuse to spend some cash on your PC and get a much bigger, faster hard drive :)
     
    repman244 says thanks.
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,864 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Im thinking about this too... literally 2 of the drives i currently running are rather noisy and one has developed a nasty vibration that resonates with the case - a really low pulsating humming sound which comes and goes randomly.

    apart from the hard drive i use to store all my games on the others dont need to be that high performance so ive been looking at some 2 or 3TB WD green series drives but Im hearing some rather worrying talk about parking.

    However Hitachi are offering 2-3year warranties with their hard drives. which is great but the only issue with that is I havent seen that many reviews when it comes to their drives and i dont want to buy one and lose all my data a week after purchase
     
  20. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Just a small warning about Hitachi if you don't know yet...Hitachi's storage division was bought by WD, but it's 3,5' disks are now under Toshiba (DT01ACA100 1TB, DT01ACA200 2TB etc. are all Hitachi's drives under Toshiba's name).

    I've been looking at the Seagate 7200.14 2TB (ST2000DM001), good price, great performance but not the best warranty tho.
     
  21. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    My WD Green 2TB which I have had for a couple of years I think, has not given me any issues so far.
    My WD Green is a Sata 2 version of the WD20EARS.
    So not sure if the head park issue maybe related to the Sata 3 version.
    I think there is a difference in platter count as well between the two as well.
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,864 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    when it comes to seagate - I worry about the overall reliability. too many times have i head drives arriving DOA or developing the click of death immediately or not long after installation
     
  23. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    656 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Seagate has renamed their HDD series, and I find it a little bit hard at first to understand what they mean, BUT they have an offering that is hard to pass by. Their Hybrid drive: Desktop SSHD, 8GB of flash memoery, 64mb cash and 1 or 2 TB mechanical space (for dekstop this is). It costs very little over a regular mechanical drive, but it offers much better performance. So, I'd say go for Seagate Hybrid drive. They also push the 4096 byte sectors pretty hard, so they act like innovators pretty much. Western Digital hasn't done much in the field, as far as I know. I do use on my laptop a WD scorpio Black and I am more than happy, I have a Seagate on my desktop. It failed after 3 months of use, but after the replacement- it has been working for 4 years with no hick up.
     
    repman244 says thanks.
  24. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Bad luck I guess, mine are still going with no issues - hoping they continue to do so.

    The hybrid is really nice yes, but I won't benefit from it if I use it as a storage drive, I ordered the ST2000DM001.
     
  25. OverClocker12

    OverClocker12 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I never had a hard drive failure yet. Usually the mb or cpu gives out first. At least you got to back your files already.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page