1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Time to buy a new video card!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Ravenas, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I'm looking for a new video card for my computer, and I'm wanting to go with ATI. Yes, I know that nvidia cards are doing so well right now, but my x800 xt pe was 10x more dependable than my 8800 ultra ever was (but that may be do to Vista). I'm not wanting to start a fan boy war here, I just what good sound advice on what ATI cards are preforming well right now. Firstly though, I was wondering want your thoughts about this card:

    Diamond VIPER Radeon X1950 PRO PCI Express 256MB GDDR3 Video Card w/Dual DVI & HDTV-Out Retail

    That card was a good price and looked to be like something I would consider. Anyhow, considering my specs, what do you guys recommend and do you like the card above? I'm not wanting to go the very expensive market, just something that can get the job done and give me some good points on 3d mark.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2008
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    what about a hd 3850/70? good price/perfomance,no doubt.The 3850 is twice as fast as a 1950 according to the 3dmark sm2/3 scores.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  3. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Agreed,
    Right now the 3850 is at a sweet price point and is hard to beat as far as the bang for the buck goes.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    With that quad chip and 850 psu,the 1950 would be just wrong.Get a 3850/70.It'll love been i your system.If you can afford it,i would edge towards the 3870 with your 22" monitor.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  5. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102713

    Everything looks good considering the price, although I guess you can't get DX10.1 at that price. :laugh:
     
  6. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    512mb 3850 is the best in that price range and it has double the memmory of that 1950
     
  7. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    There arent any DX10.1 cards out yet.
    If you wait a bit they should be coming out soon.
    As it was stated though, there isnt that much of a performance decrease when you have a DX10 card compared to a DX10.1 card.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Yes there is.....

    3850, and 3870 are both DX10.1 cards........
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  9. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Only thing is, the 512mb 3850 is a OCed edition and at that point it starts getting towards the 3870's price range, which leads to just going ahead and buying the 3870.
     
  10. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Not from what I'm looking at on newegg.com.
     
  11. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    They are fibbing about that because they are.

    both of them 10.1 cards.

    With the new 3dmark 08 they will test for that, and games will start to use it before the end of this year.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Both are the same cards, but the 3870 will use DDR4 which is cooler than DDR3/ Now the performance will be minimal (When OCED) but you will have less heat to deal with.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,574 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,329
    I heart my 3870.


    I just wish the drivers were a bit more mature.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
  16. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    One more question, the last time I used an ATI card it was made by ATI. Now when I look around, I see alot of different brands (Diamond, Gecube, ect..). Can anyone explain to me any differences between the brands, as in technical suppot, warranties, features?
     
  17. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    nvidia wont be happy bunnies if the new futuremark tests for 10.1 and they dont have it..

    nvidia have lots of money.. i would take a bet with u that 10.1 isnt in the new futuremark..

    trog
     
  18. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
  19. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    If you are not very particular about 512MB then this is another cheaper option

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161211

    OR

    I would go with this just for the cooler design.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814241068

    The hot air is exhausted out of ur case. Its very good for all ur components inside and extends the life of everything.

    If I buy any mid to high end I make sure they have such type of cooler, otherwise I change it. I just changed a default crappy 8600GT cooler with a Vantec cooler which exhausts air outside the case.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  20. acperience7

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    259 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    The 3850 does not cost much more, and is a single slot card. Not to mention the lower power consumption.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  21. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I do need the 512mb only because my primary display is a 22" Acer. I want a card I can play 720p-1080p at crossfire + plus OCed with danger den blocks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2008
  22. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    For those things u mentioned I don't think u need a 512MB card. 256 is more than enough. I think 512 will be better when you play at higher resolutions but that too it is very minimal.

    I might be wrong.

    For 1080P playing it should be fine 256 or 512.
     
  23. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Hmm... I was thinking 1080p in a game would take at the least 512 on a 22" monitor.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page