1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Titan Dragonfly 4

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by crazyeyesreaper, Jan 13, 2014.

  1. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    04578
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2014
  2. red_stapler

    red_stapler

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    108 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I'd be curious to see how it does with the fan from the 212evo.
     
  3. marinexu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    there is a small mistake at conclusion page:
    The Scythe Ashura retails for $33.99. instead of Titan Dragonfly 4 retails for $33.99
     
  4. MakeDeluxe

    MakeDeluxe

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    71 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Does the fan do any kind of secondary noises, like clicking? If not, this would be a great cooler for my silent rig :)
     
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    04578
    Thanks typo fixed.

    Fan is silent it pushes a decent amount of air for how thin it is. Being paired with that particular heatsink design allows the fan and unit as a whole to shine. A dense cooling tower would see the fan struggle but with the thin profile it excels.
     
  6. megamanxtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    28 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Do I need to install the backplate?
    Hard to find coolers that you can just put on top, like the standard heatsinks that come with the Intel and AMD processors.
    I don't want to pull out the mobo just to install it. And my tower doesn't have a back rack that lets me open the backside that reveals the rear of the mobo.
     
  7. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    04578
    Yes for most systems you need the backplate only Socket 2011 doesnt require a backplate.
     
  8. megamanxtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    28 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So, any heatsinks that are third-party and don't require backplates applied, like standard AMD or Intel?
    My friend is sending me a spare FX-8150 processor but he gave the heatsink away to another friend. Unless, it's okay to use my FX-4100 heatsink on it.
     
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    04578
    most heatsinks require a backplate some do not but in general most heatsinks today use their own mounting hardware to provide better support and more pressure.

    Some older Xigmatek cooler slike the Dark Knight S1283 etc use the AMD mounting clip system but thats about all that comes to mind.

    CHeapest clip mounted tower cooler i could find http://www.directron.com/hdts1283.html?gsear=1
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2014
    megamanxtreme says thanks.
  10. megamanxtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    28 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thank you.
    I do have a problem with those, Dark Knight and the link don't support AM3+.
    It's not about the price either, it's just the way I am hoping the heatsink can be applied.
    Other than that, I am still wondering if I can just use my FX-4100 heatsink.
    If not, I will just buy an FX-6300, heatsink in the box and all.
     
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    04578
    They do support AM3+

    socket AM2 AM2+ AM3 and AM3+ use the same mounting system.
    790FX Socket AM2+ mobo
    [​IMG]
    Socket AM3+ 990FX
    [​IMG]

    You will notice that while AM3+ is missing the plastic guard that goes all the way around the clip system is still the same.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2014
    megamanxtreme says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page