1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Titanfall Install Will Take Up 48GB On PC

Discussion in 'Games' started by Devon68, Feb 26, 2014.

  1. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    605 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Titanfall is scheduled to release on March 13th.
    Quoting the article:
    ''The PC version will be a 21GB download, but once unpacked is when it becomes a true titan, taking up a sizeable chunk of space with its whopping 48GB install.''

    I found the article on: http://www.game-debate.com/news/?ne...ll Install Will Take Up A Whopping 48GB On PC

    I might have a 1TB drive but to me this is too big to download. Before asking I didn't try the beta, but watching gameplay footage from youtube I'm sure It's a great and fun game to play.
    Still I want to ask (and quote the article again): How big is too big for a game?
     
  2. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,588 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    wow!!!!!

    that is huge for a laggy console port :O
     
    Blue-Knight and Kaynar say thanks.
  3. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,916 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Eff that!!! Steam would murderize that to take a week!!!!
     
  4. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,418 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    AZ
    3TB gaming raid, no worries on space atm.
     
  5. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,013 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    That sounds horrid how can it be so large?

    edit: I am amazed that LoL even takes up 10GB? for a game that is essentially Warcraft 3 with 4 maps. This was when I removed it a few months back. I think it was that much, I don't remember but it was excessive!
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2014
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,769 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,331
    So you want to eat the cookie AND keep it? Fancy shit take up space. Limit the resolution to 800x600 and use ugly ass textures and you can store it on one CD, but the internet would implode from the sound of bitching.
     
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    this isnt really bad. because game size is increasing at the same rate that space is getting cheaper the only thing that isnt keeping up is ISP speed availability per area. in which case man up and go buy a physical copy we all did it in 2007 it wont kill us to much now. Though we might need to find out were we put out dvd drives.

    this is no diffirent then when we all needed to buy $200 WD 320GB blue drives because unreal tournament took up 14gb befor mods
     
    JATownes says thanks.
  8. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    well bf4 uses 34,8 GB with China Rising and Second Assault....
    3 packs more to come
     
  9. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,260 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,739
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hmm.. I'm glad someone brought up BF4 and it's size. Now let's look at TF with it's 6v6 player option with very small maps and no single player.. Yeaaaa, right 48gb I think not.. Anyone can see they are blowing up the file size to stop people from torrents. I have plenty of space for games that actually use it. Please give me a game that backs up the 48gb download, because I don't see it with TF. It was going to be a day one buy for me until they said it would be 6v6. I even liked the Demo, but pretty boring with so few players in a map.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    The complexity of the game has little to do with the amount of space it uses. It is all about how many different textures and how big they are that matters. Compared to the textures, the rest of the game data is tiny.

    A 21GB download isn't really that big. Heck, Batman Arkham Originals + Initiation was over 30GB and it was torrented like crazy.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Titanfall is built on the source engine which is first built on PC
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. DF is BUSY

    DF is BUSY

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    267 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    COD GHOSTS was like 40gb too right?
     
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,738 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    Location:
    IA, USA
    My two biggest games are Max Payne 3 and Battlefield 3. Both are sitting at 34.2 GiB.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,260 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,739
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    True, but I didn't see anything that would justify 48gb's in the demo texture wise.. I referenced BF4 not because of it's complexity, but the amount of objects in the game with different textures. I hope I'm wrong and the game is great, because I'll buy it.. I'm just not going to with 6v6 players. I hope they open it up for pc. Consoles will be limited to 720p until the first patch from what I've read today. I guess we will see. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,365 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,594
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I ran on the 'insane' texture settings. It loaded the textures into the Vram (i think) as Afterburner reported close to 3.9GB of Vram usage. Perhaps over the full map release it simply has a tonne of texture maps to download? It did look quite nice on my system.
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,260 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,739
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea, my GTX680 only has 2gb.. I hope you're right and they have a lot more to add to the game, because I liked it all. I really enjoyed the parker part of it and the jet packs. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,587 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    GTA5 on PC I bet will be either around or bigger
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  18. Blue-Knight

    Blue-Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    332 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    And this will worsen every time they make larger storage devices. Give them 1PB, they will use 1PB... And it continues.

    Could it be smaller? Of course, but they're just lazy and want to use all resources available for no benefits. Not a smart decision.
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    The Beta was only like 12GB though, so either they weren't using the full resolution textures, or they plan to have way more textures in the final game(hopefully this means more map variety).
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    I hope it means more maps personally, if thats it I would be happy
     
  21. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    605 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    marsey99 says thanks.
  22. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,087 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I've heard conflicting reports. After a writer put this on my site I did some fact checking and some outlets say it's actually only a 20GB install which is a little more in line with expectations. But I can't find any official quotes to support either.

    Apparently the confusion is over this guy reporting on what the boxes say it takes, but then someone else rebukes it by saying the boxes were made in error and it's in the 20's
     
  23. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,936 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    so the new one is getting bigger and bigger
     
  24. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,588 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    and that means what exactly given the amount of modification they have done to the engine?

    windows and ios where both born from an ibm os. later modifications mean they are far from the same today so i am unsure of your point?

    i play other games based on source all the time, i played the tf beta and found it was more suited to playing with a pad. playing it with a keyboard and mouse it was very sluggish and unresponsive compared to those other source games. that is before we talk about the horrid hit reg where you could see the impact of 3 or 4 rounds before the hud gave any indication and they would keep moving after taking fire only to drop dead 5 yards down the road whilst you was reloading.

    size wise i was comparing it to other games i have have played which i have considered to be large at that time. bf3, hitman, saints row 4, sleeping dogs have all been 30gb. of those i would say that maybe the bf games have given the largest ingame world space while others have given a much more detailed world on a smaller scale. again from what i have seen of tf and the level of detail in the maps i would have to guess it must be shipping with about 15 or 20 maps. as they are far from from the detailed worlds like sleeping dogs or hit man and an not on the same scale as the bf maps.
     
  25. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,373 (8.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    It means it's not being ported from a console.

    EDIT: I'm not arguing with you, I also have no faith in these developers, and the game will probably run as efficiently on a PC as a cheeseboard. It just won't be a console port.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
    brandonwh64 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page