1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tkpenalty's X1950~HD4k Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by tkpenalty, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Cheetahs. But they're SCSI, and you need to buy a good controller to see the true benefit from them. Tack on another $250+ for that, depending on the options you choose.
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,170 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Yup considering their warranty is the worst out of the major players, If i had option between a WD and Samsung Drive, id take the Samsung over the WD- Despite performance- its the warranty that counts the most on mechanical parts like HDs. Ive seen Drives not even last a few days ya know
     
  3. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    What? It is possible to get an RMA for WD HDD. As Wile E argued, the Raptors are for PERFORMANCE. NOT, for budget, thus why there is a point of purchasing them. However with samsung, they are aimed at lower cost consumers... I wouldn't mind getting a samsung at all as they are good drives overall. Yes on the frontier of performance they slightly suffer, but its a negligable difference overall.

    Tkpenalty's Secondary [2008]
    [​IMG]

    Please Enjoy.

    Better images of the X1950PRO in its new habitat, note i had to install those copper heatsinks on the rear of the card. I found out that the VRMs were running WAY too hot... thus why lowering airflow to them usually ended in the GPU crashing/blank screening. I wonder if I should try to push that E2160
     
  4. thegave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Even if the 1950s are over-volt locked a hardware voltmod should work right?

    think I'll give the pencil mod another go since bios overvolting doesn't seem to have changed anything.

    I'm reluctant to upgrade because I'd feel very bad about letting go of my Corsair, bearing in mind I paid like almost $400 for them way back in the day and never really had a chance to use them. Don't need a new PSU, the StealthXStream should be able to handle more or less anything...

    Have to put water-cooling on hold now because I got gyped with my motherboard... God damnit. If I can't find a replacement i875p I might just go down the full upgrade route.
     
  5. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    well, that's what I was getting at earlier - even if you defeat an over-volt lock (if the card has one) so that you can go about a hardware vmod, it won't necessarily work, either.

    It's worth a shot, though, but keep in mind that the 1950s will go thermonuclear with a vmod - make sure you've got an adequate cooling solution for the card.

    meh . . . due to the low storage capacity of a Raptor HDD, you'll never see it in server use.

    IIRC, most server HDDs are SCSI - and those types from any manufacturer are not cheap.

    Anyhow, I've been more than happy with my 7200 WD drives - personally, I prefer the Seagate Barracuda's, but when the wallet is tight, I'll go with WD.
     
  6. thegave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    <3seagate

    what's the stuff you use for pencil modding called? the stuff you use for car window defoggers?
     
  7. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    We meant change stuff like CPU, mobo, RAM, GPU, and thats it. Why would you need to upgrade the PSU? :confused:
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    "Better images of the X1950PRO in its new habitat"

    Its like watching wild kingdom :p
     
  9. thegave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Someone suggested I buy some new PSU.. =/

    um. Don't really want to spend money upgrading. So trying to squeeze everything out of the videocard. And I guess it doesn't make sense to go water. So. yeeah. A(nother) new mobo and I think I'll stop there...
     
  10. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    New mobo new RAM new CPU new GPU.

    Something like this:

    E6750
    2x1GB DDR800 (even generic will do)
    GA P35 DS3
    ASUS HD3850 512MB (with Company of heroes and non-reference cooler).

    The performance given by those parts would burn your current setup.
     
  11. Dangle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Reno
    TKPenalty, don't you think you might as well just change the name to the ATI clubhouse?
     
  12. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    This is probably the 10th time someone asked, no. Why can't I call it an ATi Clubhouse? Because I only support X1k~HD3k GPUs. I plan to discontinue support to the X1k~X1800 Series GPUs as nobody cares about them.

    New title will be X1950~HD3K Clubhouse
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2008
    Dangle says thanks.
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    No, you literally use a pencil.
     
  14. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    err wtf is X1950k..................... sorry but may you please change it to X1950....
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Ummmm, what?
     
  16. thegave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Read somewhere on a forum that using conductive pen is better. Plus it's really hard to get the graphite in the right pace without having it between resistors
     
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Conductive pen is not better for penciling a resistor. That's what this entails.

    You're thinking of painting traces on the board, to complete a different circut. You don't do that with this particular mod.
     
  18. thegave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
  19. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    not really, i have used pencil mods plenty of times on diffrent products, tip, you dont use a normal wooden pencil, get a .7mm machanical job and proper led and your set, you can even get led with diffrent resistance levels if you take a DMM with you, I once had 5 diffrent leds that each had diffrent levels of resistance, you will injoy the weird looks u will get at an art shop/craft store from ppl who see you using a DMM on pencil led :D
     
  20. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    3991vhtes says thanks.
  21. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    The rainbowiest of them all!!!!!




    [​IMG]
     
    Urbklr says thanks.
  22. Dangle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Reno
    Thanks! understood! I like how you keep up with teh times! WOOT!


    Btw, can you add me to your front page for user?
    Stock Asus 2900XT
    No OC... yet.
     
  23. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    ^previous posts past Dangle . . .


    :shadedshu :slap:

    In light of what is 'ere to come - Ima gonna steer clear of this thread for the next page or two
     
  24. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Spammers, please I want you to die.

    No I dont. But Please end this nonsense.............
     
  25. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Wanting people to die becuse they crapped your thread?

    ok i see you edited it, it sounds much less offensive
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page